We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice room, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

With the mixed reviews for this property, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room. We did hear the people above us dropping their luggage and walking around. The noise from above was much more than in other hotels I have stayed in. Plus, we were in the SE corner of the hotel, which is across an alleyway from a music venue, and even with the windows closed, it was pretty loud. The free parking was a nice bonus and it's walking distance to restaurants, the river and Michigan street, so fairly convenient. Our WIFI service came and went, but that could be due to the fact that we were far from the office.

Room Tip: SE corner is noisy from music venue nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiTahoe6223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the quality of the room and the free guest parking. We are the only hotel in downtown Chicago to offer this amenity! We do apologize about the noise and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    830
    305
    118
    70
See reviews for
785
553
74
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great hotel.We really like Best Western hotels, but the FREE parking was a great
bonus. We arrived early with no problem.We were told we could park and check in later.The man at the front desk (Mike) was fantastic,every front desk employee should be like him. he was friendly and helpful.Every time we entered the hotel,he greeted us as though we were his good friends.The room was very clean.We were on the sixth floor and had a good view.There is a restaurant on site,the breakfast was really good.We purchased a bus pass
($11.50 for 2 people for 24 hrs) It was a great value.When we return to Chicago-this is what
we would do again.it was a short walk to the stops,and we were able to go to Millenium Park,Grant Park,Navy Pier,Willis(Sears)tower,John Hancock Observatory and other attractions.We were able to walk to Gino's Pizza for lunch(great)and Ed Debovick's for dinner
We stayed in 8 hotels on a vacation and this was the best.(some of the others were great, also- but because of Mike and his warmness we rated it our best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

After alot of research we still did not know what to expect when we decided on this hotel. We didn't have to worry. From the minute we arrived Mike was there to greet us with a smile, friendly personality and wanted to help in any way he could. We sure had a few laughs with him throughout the weekend! Every time we entire this hotel we were greeted warmly by everyone from the front desk, parking attendantsto cleaning staff. The hotel was clean, shower was powerful and our king suite had plenty of room for the 4 of us. Our favorite part of this hotel was the deck! Our jaws dropped when we walked out of the pool onto the deck and saw the skyline! We spent plenty of time out there just enjoying the view of downtown Chicago and all of the city lights! It was close enough to walk to any place we wanted to go and had easy access to all the public transportation. The pizza at the restaurant was the best we've ever had. The bartender and wait staff were friendly, personable and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel and will stay again when we return to Chicago to enjoy all it has to offer! I only wish they had microwaves in the room to reheat leftovers from the night before.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetunianPorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We will share you comments with the staff, especially Mike! We are glad you enjoyed the great skyline from the pool area, it never gets old! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Have stayed here many times for business and with family. Love the "Parking included"! Always very friendly staff. Location is very handy, great dinning within walking or taxi. Rooms always clean, some are a bit small but not bad, comfortable beds. Restaurant on property is reasonable. Some hotel packages available through Chicago attractions--check on the web! This place makes going to Chicago on a budget very appealing--will return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConductorWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

After much hotel searching online, I felt this Best Western woudl be the "bang for our buck" I was not wrong!! From arrival to departure it was great. Free parking was added bonus. I have a handicap tag & my car was parked outside of the door leading to an elevator. Room was very clean & bright, nice decor. I was a bit disappointed because there is no hot tub & the pool water was a bit on the colder side for this time of year. Pizzeria Ora has good food, & room service was punctual. Would defineately stay here again when back in Chicago. Kudos to Michael & Anthony!
PS: I gave the sleep quality an average because I can't sleep well on harder beds with my bad back & hips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gram2trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel and staff. We sincerely appreciate your business. Our goal is to provide the best value and service, I am glad we succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here 4 nites this October and were well pleased with the room-we had a suite which provides
extra room and 2 tvs.The room was very clean and the king size bed quite comfortable.The staff we interacted with were very helpful -discovering a torn seam in a pair of trousers one nite before dinner we called the desk and in 5 minutes were delivered a sewing kit -problem solved! This hotel is well situated
for tourists-we were able to walk to Michigan Avenue and the Chicago River and beyond to Millenium Park.
There are many fine eating places within just a few blocks easy walk-Portiilos,Frontera Grill,Genos East,
Chicago Chop House,and more.Also the on site restaurant serves a very good breakfast.
We hope to return to Chicago some day and this will be our first choice to stay.

Room Tip: you may be offered a suite upgrade-take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent 6 nights here for our wedding. We upgraded to the king suite and it was well worth it (separate living area which made getting ready for the wedding easy). The room was very clean & comfortable. Everyone on staff was friendly. The pool exceeded expectations - plus it had a deck. I would absolutely stay here again, but would book earlier than we did b/c prices went pretty high over the weekend (my guess is more weddings, bears game, film fest). Still a good deal though esp with the free parking. My only complaint was that streets & san was working on Ohio ave starting at midnight, not the hotels fault but readers should know to bring ear plugs just in case of construction or more 5 alarm fires. (typical city noise) heard from a low-mid rise building.

Room Tip: Higher floor will help with street noise. Ohio ave side has a nice view of hancock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annyong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Hi and thank for the positive comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The street construction should be complete very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing