We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the parking charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a nice quiet hotel across from the Four Seasons. The location is perfect for me because I love bloomingdale's and Water Tower place. There are good gyms nearby too for when you've over celebrated your purchases. The two on-site restaurants are solid choices for a snack and breakfast.

The one negative thing is that they will charge you 57.00 a day for parking. PARKING! When I asked at check out could we come to another agreement, I was shut down.

So, it's a solid choice but don't bring your car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

DanaH40: Thank you for staying with us, the location is super for shopping and just about everything Chicago. Sorry for the parking charge, we have tried to keep our parking fees at the low end of downtown Chicago rates and offer unlimited in/out privileges but have to live with landlords, real estate costs and of course taxes. Best wishes for a great 2014. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I apologize that I'm using this site for a question. I just booked this room through Hotwire at a rate that's comparable to your's. My concern is that since I booked through Hotwire will I get a room that isn't as great as some of your nicer rooms? This has happened to me at other hotels I'm hoping that this won't be the case. My husband has Parkinson's disease and has a Dr's apt at Northwestern plus we're celebrating 39 years of marriage so I'm having high hopes for a wonderful stay at your Hotel. I was very impressed with the great reviews so I'm sure it's going to be a good stay.
Thanks so much for your time. .
Debbie Bogdonas Rockford IL

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Debzdancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Debzdancin: I welcome your questions here and thank you for selecting the Whitehall through the Hotwire Channel for your upcoming stay in Chicago. We are a small, intimate, boutique hotel and we shall take wonderful care of you and your husband on this serious but also celebratory trip. We host many Northwestern Memorial clients as well as visiting staff and are in constant awe of what they are doing at that hospital. Also, congratulations on your 39th wedding anniversary, a wonderful partnership, we shall help you celebrate! Safe travels, see you in a couple of weeks. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in Chicago on the coldest days in the past two decades. But The Whitehall was gracious, accommodating, clean, conveniently located and friendly. Courteous service and a comfortable room, in addition to location, were the keys to our enjoyable stay. And the rate was very reasonable for downtown Chicago. We stayed four nights for what it might have cost for two elsewhere. Plus the Whitehall teddy bear made a nice gift for returning home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umcsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

umcsteve: thank you for the review of your stay with us and that we were able to check all of the good experience boxes for you. You are right about this winter, very cold, stay warm. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you want a quiet, really cool place to stay in downtown Chicago this is the hotel for you.
Great staff, always friendly and helpful. Hotel just went through a refurbishment, but still has a comfortable old school feel to it. Can't beat the location.....half a block away from Michigan ave.
Priced right too. Good for business travelers that don't want the hustle of a big hotel.
Highly recommend !

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face Michigan ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Radio P: Sounds like your business trip to Chicago was a success, which is our mission, to help you accomplish your goals wherever and whenever we can. New complimentary internet is installed now and everyone, including our service staff, is very happy. Thank you for the review. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Ended up with the Whitehall through a Hotwire booking, which means I got it on the cheap and can't speak to the value of the full price. But it was a nice place. A bit of a boutique feel (older building with narrow hallways, elevators, etc.) but all the amenities are there. Very comfortable bedding and friendly staff. Right off of Michigan Ave. near the Hancock tower, so quite convenient. There's no reason you'd rave about this hotel in particular, but it was perfectly nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hello Jessie R: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a bit understated in our approach mixing the historical with the new. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed here a few times for business and have enjoyed each stay. All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. It's a small boutique hotel and feels like a home away from home. The location is excellent. Rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Helen D: Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and staff. It is wonderful to know that we can make you feel at home when you are so far from home. Will share your message with the team. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Staying in snowy and cooooool Chicago , so enjoyed my lovely stay at the Whitehall. Warmed me from the inside out. What a find, luxury yet amazing rates. If you want a great hotel with amazing food, service and unbelievable beds. ( I have now cxled my chiropractor appt) than this is the hotel for you. Hard to believe in this world of trends changing there is still a hotel where style never goes out of fashion. I will be saying every monthly trip to Chicago. Ps order the duck rolls..u will dream about them.

Room Tip: Ask for 01 great packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell A, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Toni Marie H: Thank you for sharing your experience and menu suggestions at the hotel. We appreciate and value the patronage of our guests and strive to earn that loyalty on each and every trip. We look forward to welcoming you upon your return. Best regards, Russ Abell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#100 of 191 in Chicago
1,708 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 191 in Chicago
1,154 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 191 in Chicago
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,109 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 191 in Chicago
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: 105 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $82 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whitehall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehall Hotel, Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, is a luxury property with impeccable service situated in the heart of the Gold Coast, steps from the Magnificent Mile, iconic attractions and designer shopping. You will feel the modern warmth, relaxed grace and welcoming ambiance of The Whitehall. Our guests experience unparalleled personal service from the moment they are welcomed, during their stay, and remembered upon a return trip. Designed for both the leisure and corporate traveler, our luxuriously appointed rooms and suites reflect the classic character and sophisticated charm of The Whitehall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing