We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Ranked #60 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hemlock, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had an excellent stay at MileNorth! There were 9 in our party (myself, 6 children, and my aging parents) and we arrived prior to check-in. The manager (Tamika) gave us 5 star service. She was so kind and accommodating. The rooms were very nice and the prices were fair. I had the opportunity to enjoy a cocktail on the (newly opened) rooftop bar. The drinks and the staff were top notch! Located next to Gino's East, this is win win!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Julie W,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    947
    284
    107
    68
See reviews for
608
1,047
209
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in this hotel and found it totally excellent. The rooms are very well decorated, really comfortable and spotless clean. Each day the room is cleaned to a very high standard. The location could not be better. All the main attractions are all within walking distance. The area is nice and quiet and had a really safe feeling even when walking about at night.
The only negative I have is on our arrival the room safe was broken and the maintenance man came immediately to look at it. He said it would be repaired as soon as possible. I asked 3 times when it would be fixed but got no straight answer at which time I gave up. After our 6 night stay it still wasn't fixed and nobody decided to tell us if would not be fixed during our stay. On check out I told the desk staff of our disappointment on which they deducted $29 from our bill. This was a service charge that I had not expected to pay anyway and when I asked it was for I was told it was for wifi. On my booking it stated wifi was free.
Overall this is an excellent hotel and we would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandDatOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello JandDatOCD,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and room accommodations. On a separate note, I sincerely apologize that your maintenance experience was less than stellar. Your feedback is very important to us and we are addressing your concerns. I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.

Thank you,
Steven Ellingsen
General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been in this hotel in July 2014. The Hotel is not very big but the hall and the reception are quite confortable and nice. The personnel is very polite and the procedures for check in very fast. The room was excellent: large, clean and with good air conditioning. The bed was very confortable and the toilette had a large shower. Free wifi both in the room and in the hall. The gym was not a big one, but equipped enough for a good workout. I didn't have the occasion to try the restaurant and the roof bar. Avoid the bar in the reception: very expensive. The position of the hotel is spectacular: 5 minutes walking from the magnificent mile and the water tower. In addition it is absolutely close to Northwestern University and several Hospitals of the same University. The ratio between quality and price considering services and position in dowtown Chicago is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello RobyRamone,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I LOVE the Mile North Hotel! The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and Gino's East pizza right next door. It is convenient to shopping and major transportation. Wish all hotels could be like this one...I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Daisy,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The first room they put us in had a broken AC. It took 4 phone calls for them to come look at it. Maintenance "fixed" it for 20 minutes and it went out again. They would not move us so we sweated in bed on Night #1 in Chicago. The 2nd day we were moved to another room which also had AC problems. We sweated on Night #2 in Chicago. They "fixed" it on Day #3. Nights #3 &4 were fine. They insulted us by trying to "make-up" with drink coupons. We have kids and did not drink. They then tried to charge us an extra $20 Hotel Service Fee upon checkout which I did not pay. I asked to speak to the Manager on Duty, he was busy. I asked them to have him call me, which he did not do. He also did not return my e-mails. We will not be staying at MileNorth Chicago again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a working AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Brad C,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your experience with our staff and lack of response was less than stellar. Your feedback is very important to us and we are addressing your concerns. I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.

Thank you,
Steven Ellingsen
General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am in Chicago at least once a month for the past 8 years and love most of it's hotels. But I needed a place last minute, so I stayed here for one night. While the hotel is clean with large rooms, my experience with their staff was horrific.

As usual, I prepaid for my room and upon check-in left a card for incidentals. To my dismay, they charged my card for a large amount, which caused an overdraft. It took me 5 calls to get the charge reversed and they did not cover the $35 overdraft fee for my card.

I mean, it's only $35, but this is just outright petty and laziness.

It is my hope that this was an isolated incident, but they did nothing to rectify a simple request. So the damage is done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello KMKC08,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your experience with our staff was less than stellar. Your feedback is very important to us and we are addressing your concerns. I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.

Thank you,
Steven Ellingsen
General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The good: Gorgeous rooftop bar with tasty appetizers. The hotel has an amazing location, just off Michigan Ave. Great views from the 16th floor! Mostly friendly staff.

The bad: We got a great deal on Jetsetter and were excited to be so close to Michigan Ave however, we were put up in a room on the 3rd floor that was horrible. The room was spacious, but the outside fan from 2 stories down was so loud, that when I was in bed, not only could I not sleep, but I couldn't even carry on a conversation with my boyfriend. The fan sound was around 45 decibels from the bed, it was even louder then the TV!! I can not believe that anyone would want to stay in that room. To make it worse, there was a view of the alley where deliveries arrived and a huge open trash container.

We called the front desk to ask for another room and they said they were sold out for the night and offered us "earplugs". I know they were just trying to be accommodating, but the way it was presented to us was not kind or well worded.

In our other interactions with people behind the desk, everyone was very friendly but not very knowledgeable about the city. My boyfriend and I asked for a way to see more of the Chicago (besides touristy stuff) and I was surprised that I was told to download an app because no one behind the desk could answer my question?!? I am all for crowd-sourcing, but someone working behind the desk should know about more then just Michigan Ave. and the most popular tourist destinations.

We got a new room (on the 16th floor) the next day and even though it had a nice view and was much quieter, it felt like a downgraded room. It was much smaller and the bathroom was not as nice. In addition, 1 of the 2 phones was broken, the safe was broken, the refrigerator wasn't working, there was not any soap in the shower dispenser, and no tea is provided in the room. It just wasn't well maintained. However, anything was better then the fan sound, so we didn't say anything.

I am rarely upset about a hotel room and I have never been upset with a room and as a result been downgraded. Even though the manager called while we were out, she did not follow up and the staff didn't apologize or offer anything to make our stay better. I know we got a deal on the room, but it just didn't feel like good customer service. I don't think I would go back.

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the first 7 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djnekokittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole R, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello djnekokittie,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the drinks, food and view at our new rooftop, 52EIGHTY Lounge. On a separate note, I sincerely apologize that your room and our staff experience was less than stellar. Your feedback is very important to us and we are addressing your concerns. I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.

Thank you,
Steven Ellingsen
General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#112 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
The James Chicago
#36 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#65 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#86 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Property: MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit MileNorth and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walkable to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, ETB, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing