We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #72 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the Magnificent Mile where there are many shopping and dining options nearby. It's about 15 minutes walk from the subway station (I emailed the hotel prior to arrival and promptly received a very detailed email giving me directions from the station), and the neighbourhood was quite safe.

The hotel must have had a recent update as the lobby and rooms were very modern, both very clean. The check-in staff was very friendly and check-in process was very quick without any hassles. The room was quite spacious for big city hotels, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only downsides where that ice machine was only available at certain floors, and the wifi signal in my room was quite poor, possibly due to the room location.

Overall I had a great stay at the MileNorth, and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Chicago. Make sure you also check out Nordstrom Rack for some incredible bargains!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Chicago and find good enough hotel whether for business for holiday, Mile North will do.

It's located just round the corner of Michigan ave. Just behind Disney Store and 1 block away from Apple stores. Hershey store, Ghiralldeli, Cheese factory, John Hancock building just 5-10 min walk away..

However the room is relatively small and no breakfast, eventhough there's Starbuck counter downstair.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank deekarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregStaley, Director of Sales at Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello,

I wanted to apologize that your stay with us was not ideal. I am sorry that our breakfast options were not more clear, as our restaurant, Ferris & Jack, is open daily for Breakfast starting at 7am. We do offer our Barista bar with Starbucks and "grab & go" breakfast options. Please visit our website to see more Ferris & Jack offerings (http://www.milenorthhotel.com/dining/downtown-chicago-restaurants). I hope you visit us again soon and would like to offer you a $25 gift card to use at Ferris & Jack upon your return. Please let me know when your next stay is and I will be happy to arrange this.

Warm Regards,

Greg Staley | Director of Sales & Marketing
MileNorth Hotel | 166 East Superior | Chicago, IL 60611
Office 312-523-0909 | Email: gstaley@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mile North for the first time. We had a nice quiet, spacious room on the 22nd floor street side. The hotel was clean and very accommodating staff. Everyone was friendly.
They have a restaurant in the hotel, as well as a lobby bar...we didn't get a chance to eat there.
The location of the hotel is 1 block off of Michigan and we took the subway in from O'Hare...the red line is a short walk which was very convenient. I would recommend this hotel due to the cleanliness, employees, and the location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent a girls weekend here. Everything was great but the standout was the service. From the maids when we asked for extra towels to the Manager helping us find fitness classes and massages, every person we encountered went the distance. I would go back in a second!

Room Tip: We got a loft suite. It was not huge but was super comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Booked 3 nights. They had attractive rates, and we liked the location. Here's the good things first:

Excellent location, in the middle of Magnificient Mile. We were able to walk everywhere, all the way down to the loop and back, no problem.

The loft suite we got was great, good size, nice layout.
We got a high floor, but it didn't matter much, as there are taller buildings all around so not much of a view.

All the staff we met were marvelous. From bell hop, to check in, to check out.

Here's the not-so-good:
The cleanliness of the washroom was just short. First day there was a slight 'smell', like maybe the mop they used wasn't very clean. Not a major problem, so we didn't reported it, and certainly didn't want to change rooms once we unpacked. It got better on the 2nd and 3rd night.

Also, the cleaners let the toilet paper run low and didn't change the roll nor provide an extra roll. By the 3rd day we were out! Had to use the facial tissue, or else would have had to call for help! I've never seen such carelessness in all the hotels I've stayed at.

The bed was terrible, it sank in the middle. We had a terrible sleep on the 1st night, and got used to it gradually the following nights. We figured this was one thing they didn't upgrade in their renovations, so again just decided to live with it. Wasn't until we moved to the next hotel, the Hyatt Place in Naperville, that we realized how bad the bed here was (Yes, the Hyatt House was EXCELLENT. See my review).

Lots of good things going for this hotel, and I would recommend it, especially if you find a good rate. The cleaning staff, well, You go to the next floor and it may be a differnet experience, so not a big deal. But the bed is a high priority item in my book, and because they didn't do well in that, I could only give it a 3 star. I don't believe the Expedia rating of 4 stars for this hotel is quite right either. Perhaps a 3.5 in my opinion.

Room Tip: High Floor not very important. The Queen Suite Loft is good size and good layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel from top to bottom. Service, rooms, and amenities were all great. The location is perfect for any shopping trips being so close to the Mag Mile and the Water Tower. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be downtown close to the shopping.

Room Tip: Go for a room up high to reduce downtown street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioFundaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed there on business and like the place alot. Comfortable room and an excellent location one half block off of Miracle Mile with great shopping .Rooms were clean and good size, the Wi-Fi worked fine.Safe are and friendly staff. A good experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWB422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $109 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing