We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #76 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our time at the hotel. We were located on 20th floor and stayed in a King suite with a city view. The room was spacious and clean and the amenities were excellent. The bathroom was a good size with lots of counter space and had a separate counter with a stool away from the sink. Only negative is that the bath was very small.
Also, there was quite a lot of noise that woke us each morning from the corridor which was a shame.
The location is great and very ideal for visiting all the downtown attractions. There's a small cafe/bar in the lobby which serves a fairly decent menu, which is good as there is no complimentary breakfast (which would make staying here excellent 5/5). Check-in was friendly and the staff were very helpful. They helped by ringing an airport transfer as our cell had run out of credit.
We visited the rooftop bar, but didn't stay for a drink as there were no available tables outside.
Lots of good restaurants nearby, and in great walking distance. Next door to the hotel is a great Italian!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahunter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,065
    341
    128
    74
See reviews for
718
1,152
230
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Upon our arrival in our fun little convertible, it was discovered that we had forgotten our bags (yes, you guessed it - each of us thought the other put it in the trunk. So while checking in we mentioned this to the young lady at the desk. She immediately offered a toothbrush and paste, which were sent to our room about 30 seconds after we got there. The room was small but multileveled to make it appear more spacious with the bathroom, closet and coffe stand and refridgerator up and the bed area 2 steps down. I loved that the closet lIghts were on a motion sensor so when I got up in the middle of the night I did not have to fumble for a light and wake up my partner. AfTer settling in we immediately headed up to C-View I the rooftop bar which had just reopened. The wait stff were friendly and unpretentious and while the view is not the greatest in Chicago; it was great being out in the open air. I have been to the bar several times and have always been able to get a seat but this was the first time staying at the hotel. I would definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinigirlmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel exceeded expectations. It was in a great Chicago location next to some of the best shopping, and restaurants in the area. Room had a great view. Would return to this hotel, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at MileNorth Friday Aug 30 - celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. This was our third time staying at the hotel. The entire staff and experience could not have been better. We received a complimentary room upgrade which was wonderful and after returning to our room from dinner we were especially surprised to find a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries along with a note wishing us a happy anniversary! Room was big, clean - bathroom spotless and roomy. My only complaint was that i could not get wifi from the bed, only the opposite side of the room, but the couch. Fantastic location - one block east of Michigan Ave. Highly recommended and i would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you MileNorth for helping make our anniversary a special one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelline, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had been reading the previous reviews before my trip. There were reoccurring problems but these have been solved by the time we arrived. 8/25/2013 for 3 nights. Got a great price on Orbitz and of course the location is what everyone writes about. There are ice machines on the floors now, the room was super clean, and the staff was off the chain helpful and pleasant! A spiecal shout out to Joel the valet. He is so nice and must love his job, you just can't fake that! There were no problems at all but just a heads up...they charge $50 a day to your credit card for incidentials. They take it off afterwards (haven't checked my card yet but I hear this is a procedure that a lot of motels are doing. One I hate!) The beds were super comfy too, slept great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsiwetsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Over 5 days, the staff provided consistently great service! Congratulations and thanks!
This is a moderately priced hotel in the heart of the Magnificent Mile shopping district. Half a block to Michigan Avenue and deluxe shopping; Walking distance to the Art Institute of Chicago; the Navy Pier (great views of the city in the evening); and The Loop Area downtown. 3 blocks to the Metro-Red Line.

The facility is modern, clean, well looked after. The staff give it a relaxed feel but were very helpful and always looking to please us and meet our needs!

We had breakfast at the Terry and Jack restaurant downstairs, good quality moderately priced food - a very good value. They offered full breakfast; cereal; yogurt, etc. and Starbucks coffee selections - Starbucks restaurant in the lobby. The rooftop bar had an open-air area and served a reasonable assortment of bar foods; we enjoyed the cold-cuts selection to nibble on with our drinks; more substantive was the mini-burgers which were served with sweet-potato fries (they looked good).

The room was comfortable and quiet, excellent maid service kept our room always looking first rate.

Overall, a great stay. We will recommend to all our friends and we will absolutely return there.

Room Tip: We paid three dollars extra per day for "city view" room (note the hotel has no lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGL-025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time in Chicago and we loved MileNorth except for the weak and sometimes non-existent wifi. The wifi signal was poor in our room, the lobby, and the rooftop patio. Hopefully, this is temporary. Otherwise, the service was great. When we arrived (very late in the day), we were told that there was a flood and we were put in another (very close) hotel (Crowne Plaza) and were not charged for that night at all (saturday night!) We were also give breakfast vouchers for a free breakfast. The next day we were provided with an amazing and very comfortable room (king, city view, like a suite). Room had two steps from the entrance to the living/bedroom so not very accessible. Breakfast menu prerty good and not expensive ($6 parfait, $10 two egg breakfast). View is down one of the streets and is pretty good. Michigan Ave can be seen from the window. Location in the heart of the Magnificent mile with lots of shops and very safe. Walgreens store nearby open 24 hr - super convenient. Pizzerias nearby serving deep dish pizzas and lots of restaurant. Hancock tower nearby with cheesecake factory. River about 10 min away. Stayed 3 nights (2 at MileNorth). Loved it! (Please get better wifi, MileNorth).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 189 in Chicago
1,611 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
3,328 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing