We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very good hotel that could be a great hotel in the future.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #67 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel that could be a great hotel in the future.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at MileNorth. (We stayed two nights over Valentine's Day.)

Excellent:
1) Service: the staff at this hotel could NOT be nicer. They were quite possibly the friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I've ever met.
2) Location: could not be better. Right off Michigan Ave by Water Tower Place. (The old Affinia Hotel.)
3) Room: The room was HUGE, and the spa shower was wonderful.
4) The special rate we got, especially staying on Valentine's night, was excellent.

Less than perfect:
1) The hotel is under renovation, something I didn't know when I booked. (They were painting the main hallway when we got there.) The restaurant isn't open yet, except for breakfast. Not a dealbreaker, but unexpected.
2) The decor is a bit bland and dated for a fairly new boutique hotel. The simplicity is good, but better lamps and a few pops of color and texture would help.
3) The overnight parking rate ($52) is atrocious. (We parked a few blocks away on Rush street for $32 for 24-hour valet service.)

Room Tip: We were in 307 which was on an alley and a little loud in the morning. Luckily I have a white noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB_Mke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    1,031
    327
    125
    71
See reviews for
696
1,129
222
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight Valentines day. The are under construction a little bit but our room already had sound proof windows. We literally could not hear anything from outside. We had a city view king suite that we got upgraded to when we arrived due to our reserved room not being clean yet. Very friendly staff! Clean and very good food for room service breakfast. Their is a Geno's East literally right next door. Girodano's is a couple blocks down as is Water Tower place mall and Ghirardelli's Ice Cream Shop. We had a great time! Thanks for a wonderful Valentines stay MileNorth! Would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonS671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this room on a whim cause I needed a hotel fast for my husband's 30th birthday surprise... boy am I glad I found this place!

Not only is it a fantastic location (close to many bars, restaurants, shopping, etc), booking during the Christmas season was very easy. We did park at a different location cause I had read that valet overnight was really expensive. Once we got to the location we were greeted with open arms and one of the most friendly staff I have ever encountered. When we briefly mentioned that it was my husband's birthday they upgraded us to a suite! Whenever we were walking around somebody was always asking if we needed anything (cab, help with luggage, directions, etc).

In my opinion, all hotels in Chicago should strive to have the class of MileNorth, I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our recent stay at MileNorth was awesome! Our room was super clean and our view of downtown Chicago at night was breathtaking! Everyone from the valet service to front desk were so friendly and attentive! This will be our hotel of choice for all our trips to Chicago. MileNorth is right in the heart of The Mag Mile. It was an awesome and memerable stay for me & my daughter's 21st Birthday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first time to Chicago and I did my research as to where to stay well in advance. The magnificent mile is the perfect location! This hotel is modern and clean and is literally steps off the mag mile. There's tonnes of plus' like having the Cheesecake Factory, Giordanos and a Walgreens all within walking distance. Chicago is a pretty small city it seems cause we were able to walk just about everywhere, including the Navy Pier and Millenium park. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to going back again very soon.

The only negative was the hospital being nearby....you hear abulances all the time, but you get used to it after a day and we were never in our room anyways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chica079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Travel_Chica079,

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The noise from the hospital can be a bit loud and we are in the midst of adding a second pane of glass to all the windows in the hotel to cut down on the street/hospital noise. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Conveniently located next to Neiman Marcus in the bustling area known as the Magnificent Mile, it felt like a secret oasis. We could escape the hustle and bustle but with a few steps rejoin the action. Sophisticated decor in a truly "snazzy" room... interior designer went wild and it was a delight to experience. Fantastic view of the Hancock Building and all for less than expected or as compared to other hotels located nearby. Parking garage just across the street, use that instead of valet and save major bucks. Breakfast can be purchased in the lobby restaurant and all items were delicious. NOTE: very, very slow elevators so be ready to wait to ride up or down.

Favorite find, the gummy bears are worth the $5-6 mini bar price because they come in a glass gummy bear shaped jar! Sweet!

Great find, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, even partial, of the Hancock Building. It is beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Chicago. Our lobby and restaurant renovation will be completed at the end of April 2013 and you will love the new decor! Come back and see us...

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NILES
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just stayed at the Milenorth, even though they are under construction, the stay was great. Noise was not an issue during the night time and we were out and about when some heaving drilling was being done. The room was very comfortable with a sitting room/desk area and sleeping area. Love the mirror in the bathroom. 1/2 block from Michigan Ave and shopping. Restaurants are in abundance as is entertainment. You will like it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#46 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing