We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well Up to Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Ranked #64 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well Up to Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recommended . A luxurious and spacious two-level room in a good location close to the John Hancock Tower and various good bars and restaurants. Only disappointment was that there were no prices displayed for the mini-bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    980
    302
    118
    68
See reviews for
647
1,073
216
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I purchased my one night stay from Living Social. I then wanted to extend my stay and added another night. Because of booking this way, I was instructed that I had to check out & check back in on my 2nd day. They must not communicate well, as we were sound asleep @ 9:00 am as our maid was A-Knockin! It then happened again the next morning!! Steve the manager was helpful, but as there are so many hotels to stay at in Chicago....we certainly will NOT be going back to this one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North end are probably quieter, as the hospital & ambulances are on the South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank QZEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for posting your review at TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that you were not happy with your stay at MileNorth. When you book a reservation through LivingSocial and then add on an additional night, you should not have had to check out and then back in so I will look into why the front desk instructed you to do so. With regard to the housekeeping staff knocking at 9am, they do begin rounds in the morning after 8am. If you wish to be disturbed, please use your Do Not Disturb door hanger. If you did use that and housekeeping still knocked on your door, please let me know so I can address it directly with our staff as that should not be the case...checking out that day or not. I'm happy to address your concerns further so please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so we can be sure to improve our processes moving forward.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Every employee here was very nice.. great service. The room was clean and pretty spacious for downtown.. i have stayed other places where the room was small. We went up to the bar which was nice, pricey drinks but i expected it from a hotel bar downtown. It had a really great view. It was a friday night and no one in the bar but us. We wanted a little more action, but it was nice and calming if thats what you like. Overall, great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessy2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Actually, I was under the weather and it was more like a whimper. Husband and I like to do a weekend in the city every now & then. Found a Groupon for MN hotel. Absolutely FANTASTIC location (just off Michigan at Superior). Cute room. Nice amenities. Would have liked a lighted make-up mirror (or better lighting in the bathroom) and a blow dryer. We experienced a tiny elevator snafu but nothing terrible. Cute restaurant in the lobby - we only had breakfast. The price was right for this fantastic location and I would definitely stay here again. We like to try different spots so next year wherever we get the best deal. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 15th floor and a few times had a lengthy wait for the elevator and as it was Christmas we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Suburbanite,

Thank you for taking time to post your response. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back to visit us again soon! We are about to do a major renovation of our lobby and restaurant area beginning later this month so come back in the summer and see what is new!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed three nights over New Year's 2013. The location is a block from the Magnificent Mile and all the shops, theatre and great restaurants are all within easy walking distance. The staff were exceptional and aimed to pleased. The rooms was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the fact that the hotel manager Steve promptly addressed our noise complaint about the family with the screaming kids located right next store. They offered to move us which was really nice but instead the parents got the kids under control which was fine too.The restaurant was a little disappointing. The breakfast buffet was minimal and closed down too early and the full time bartender needs some happy lessons. Although the price was good, the parking price was outrageous. 52 dollars per 24 hours but we found out that was actually a decent price for Chicago. But overall our stay was very memorable and we would happily

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at MileNorth. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the restaurant and would love to know what time of day you dined with us. Also, if you have a name of the bartender needing "happy lessons" I'll be more than happy to make sure there is a smile on their faces the next time you come and see us!

Feel free to contact me at the hotel with any more details so that I can address your concerns directly.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel experience in the heart of downtown Chicago. MileNorth features a great restaurant and a welcoming staff. Our bi-level room felt spacious and provided beautiful views of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHayes710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Mo
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 12/13 - 12/16 with Priceline rate. As others have said, the location was perfect, a block from Michigan, 2 blocks from L and Rush Street. The staff was very nice. I had heard the noise complaints and asked for a room high up and were put on the 20th floor. We could still hear sirens (especially during the day) from the hospital next door, but minimal noise from the neighbors on our floor. We were in a corner room, and had no complaints about the room itself. We did not eat in restaurant, it looked good but expensive. We did go to the small rooftop bar, which was very nice, but the $9 beer was a little more than was in our budget. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Look on Priceline and Hotwire, they have rooms on sale a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#110 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
The James Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#41 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,861 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Property: MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit MileNorth and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walkable to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing