We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #76 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis Mo
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Location and nice room”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 12/13 - 12/16 with Priceline rate. As others have said, the location was perfect, a block from Michigan, 2 blocks from L and Rush Street. The staff was very nice. I had heard the noise complaints and asked for a room high up and were put on the 20th floor. We could still hear sirens (especially during the day) from the hospital next door, but minimal noise from the neighbors on our floor. We were in a corner room, and had no complaints about the room itself. We did not eat in restaurant, it looked good but expensive. We did go to the small rooftop bar, which was very nice, but the $9 beer was a little more than was in our budget. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Look on Priceline and Hotwire, they have rooms on sale a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,065
    341
    128
    74
See reviews for
718
1,152
230
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed overnight for our anniversary, and when we mentioned this to the desk manager, he upgraded our room to a king suite! Fantastic room, quiet, luxurious, beautifully appointed and modern. We had a great time.

Room Tip: upper floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconutfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Coconutfan,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back to celebrate your anniverary with us again next year!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is GREAT! Walking distance within everything (that is if you dont mind walking 2 miles in some cases and its not winter!)...that is probably the best part about the hotel, but there are also several million more hotels in the same general location....
Our stay was fine, no problems- staff were fine, room was fine, just nothing was outright fantastic to review about...all marks satisfactory. Yes the window did leak severely, but they are improving the building, so they know about it and its in the works-cant write badly about something they are working on fixing! (read a lot of reviews criticizing this)
Parking is ridiculous...we got a fantastic rate on priceline.com and nearly paid as much as we did in parking fees as we did for our weekend stay. I did read in another review parking is $5 cheaper in the garage across the street for the hospital, but you do not have in and out privileges so it will be actually more expensive if you take your car somewhere and come back to park it because anything over like 4 hours is a flat rate of $47 and the rates below 4 hours are astronomical anyways, so if you do stay, cough up the extra $5 and use the hotel's valet parking!
No pool and no complimentary breakfast to review

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I like the location and decoration. But the room condition was pretty poor. It was really noisy during night, you can hear all kind of noise like fans, toilet flushing from next door, people talking in front of the elevator...and the tap was leaking. I could not sleep at all. The room supposed to be new, however it lost several spots of paint. It looked very cheap.

The worst experience was the next day. One of the elevator was broken during the night, it was broken before 10pm. However they could not fixed until later next day. I had an appointment at 10 am. I waited 30 minutes to get in the elevator. I was with my baby and his stroller, and my room was on 12 floor. It was totally impossible for us to climb down 12 floors by using steps. The elevator stopped 4 times, up and down, all full. And I missed my appointment.

I called the front desk. The lady was pretty rude. She apologized first of course, then told me to wait.

I have to say I am very disappointed. I know I cannot blame any person or staff for the broken elevator. But the room, and the poor effort they should have make to fix the elevator disappointed me. I don't believe it has to take them over 12 hours to fix the elevator, and I felt I was mistreated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Rain G:

On behalf of our staff here at MileNorth, please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you had during your recent stay with us. I would appreciate the opportunity to personally speak with at your convenience.
Please contact me here at the hotel or let me know the best way to contact you.

Best regards,

Frank Leone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for sight seeing, shopping and is close to the many restaurants in Rush St. The staff were all very friendly, the reception staff were so helpful they offered advice on places to visit and were able to give us a discount when booking a bus sight seeing tour. We always got welcomed back to the hotel every evening which I thought was a nice touch.

We had a double room which was very spacious and had everything you'd need - tea/coffe machine, cable TV, in room safe that holds a lap top and a mini bar. The bathroom was huge with a lovely big shower and big mirror that was perfect for us girls and our make up, there was also a number of lighting options in the bathroom from dimmer switches to bright lights, and lights around the mirror. I have to say the beds are so comfy .... so comfy I wanted the bed home.

Ginos East pizzeria is beside the hotel and is definately worth a visit, don't be put off if there is a line waiting to get in as reception staff can give you fast passes to skip the line. A deep pan pizza is a must and well worth the 45 min cooking time ... yummy!! Would also recommend the Cheesecake factory in the Handcock Centre and the Big Bowl chinese on Rush St.

Will definately come back to the MileNorth when I return to Chicago, and will recommend it to family & friends if they were heading to the windy city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy New Year, Suzy H

Thank you for taking time to post your review and I'm thrilled that you had such a great experience with us here at MileNorth. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Dora and Steve were part of the helpful and responsive staff. Great location. Spacious and nicely arranged room. Right off Michigan Avenue and within a comfortable walk of many fine shops and dining options.

Room Tip: Our room was an upgrade (for an additional fee), but was spacious and had a separate working area. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not sure how our suite compared to a standard room from the description in the brochure but it was nicely appointed and spacious. Eleveator service was fast (not always the case in many boutique hotels.
Front desk, Housekeeping staff and concerierge were very friendly and helpful.

I'm not sure if the side of the hotel your room is on makes a difference but the hotel's location next to the Children's Hospital ensured a significant amount of noise from sirens and middle of the night truck deliveries. Staying in downtown Chicago sirens are basically an expectation!

Next visit to downtown Chicago this hotel will be strongly considered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KibbleGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 189 in Chicago
1,601 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#30 of 189 in Chicago
3,323 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing