We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice room, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice room, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not sure how our suite compared to a standard room from the description in the brochure but it was nicely appointed and spacious. Eleveator service was fast (not always the case in many boutique hotels.
Front desk, Housekeeping staff and concerierge were very friendly and helpful.

I'm not sure if the side of the hotel your room is on makes a difference but the hotel's location next to the Children's Hospital ensured a significant amount of noise from sirens and middle of the night truck deliveries. Staying in downtown Chicago sirens are basically an expectation!

Next visit to downtown Chicago this hotel will be strongly considered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KibbleGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    1,031
    327
    125
    71
See reviews for
696
1,129
222
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The overall location of this hotel is great but the noise level from my 3rd floor room kept me awake all night. The room overlooked an alley where trucks were loading and unloading metal dumpsters throughout the entire night into early morning. I appreciate that the hotel will be renovating and upgrading the single pane windows in 2013, but until then, the lower level rooms overlooking that loading area should be avoided.

I wanted to share my feedback about the room, so went to check out in person at the front desk. I was disappointed that we were never asked, what should be standard at every checkout, "how was your stay?"

I have stayed at numerous other hotels in Chicago (including the Hyatt, which is a couple blocks over, also next to the hospital), and this is the first time the noise of the city has ever prevented me from sleeping. With all that the city has to offer, I do not find the various amenities of a hotel very important. For the money spent though, the least I was expecting was a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellbar0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiEdinger, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning, Kellbar

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep with us. We are working hard to get our window project completed so that we will cut down on the noise factor significantly. You are correct, the front desk agent you spoke to absolutely should have asked how your stay was. If you have a name of the desk clerk you were dealing with, please do let me know so that we can make sure our guests are being taken care of properly at check-in, during their stay and at check-out. I hope you will give us another change to make your experience at MileNorth a great one. I'm happy to discuss your comments further if you like. In the meantime, Happy New Year!!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great experience - nice rooms, very spacious and great view. We stayed two nights. I would return to this hotel again without hesitation. Location was perfect for shopping and eating - rooms and lobby very clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our trip to the city. We got a great deal on Priceline and took Metra down (valet parking is very expensive). The location is excellent and the room was very nice as well. It was very clean and somewhat modern. We did not eat at the hotel. Gino's East is right next door and it is highly recommended. We did check out the C-View Lounge and that is ridiculously overpriced. We basically walked in, looked at a menu, and walked right on out. There is a great pub called Castle and Elephant Pub right across the street. We were able to walk to Navy Pier as well. It is about a 15-20 minute walk. We would stay at the hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myboys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo grove
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

stayed there two nights.(room 15xx) great price on LivingSocial. beautiful hotel, furnishings, fixtures etc. very comfy room with all the amenities I needed. wife wasn't entirely thrilled (no vanity mirror, hairdryer) but I had everything I needed. My legs are not in great shape so I wasn't thrilled that there were two steps down inside after you walked in so had to be really careful. also the double bolt lock that locks from the inside didn't work and I told 3 different front desk employees about this and each one said they would have the engineer fix it. they DID NOT fix it and I felt very unsafe when we were in the room and couldn't dead bolt the door (especially sleeping). had a little issue with the elevators not working properly. at breakfast in the adorable restaurant attached. wonderful food and service. all in all though a good experience at a fair price. great location. we would probably stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I purchased this room via Priceline at a great rate. My wife, daughter and I arrived to the hotel arrived around 11:00 am and we were promptly greeted by the bellman and front desk staff. We were able to check in and obtain a room right away.

This was our second stay at the property although the first time it was under previous ownership. The lobby was decorated nicely for the holidays. Our room was large and comfortable enough for the three if us. We had an "alley view" room and the building next to us limited the amount of daylight into the room. There were many lamps but we still found it a little to dark. The windows seemed to be drafty on the cold Chicago weekend.

The bathroom was large and modern. We did think the shower was a little short on the Hot water. It wasn't cold but it wasn't hot either.

Having spent many nights in the area, I'm aware of the sounds in the city and area with hospital close by. I understand the property is going through an upgrade and will be blocking more of the noise. We didn't experience any noise issues from the ambulances passing by.

I would recommend this hotel based on price and location. It is within easy walking distance from anywhere on Michigan Ave and the Loop area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear DerekHoffer,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your return visit with us. We are well into our window project and are adding a second pane of glass to help with both noise and drafts in our guestrooms. The difference in our guest experience once the entire project is completed should be significant. I hope you will come back to see us again soon and have a very Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location, steps off Michigan Ave. Gino's pizza next door. Hotel staff was over and beyond expections. The room was incredible, the shower was the best part. The view was the C-View was beautiful, the city sparkled with the christmas lights. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#39 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#46 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing