We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service, room a little small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Ranked #8 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, room a little small”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Service, quality and amenities are uniformly excellent at Four Seasons Hotels and the Chicago property was no exception. We had a room on a high floor with a view of the lake and some of Chicago's best architecture. Service, especially the concierges, was ll we could have asked for. The room was lovely but somewhat small for the price we paid--not even room for an armchair--but the bathroom was beautifully appointed and well supplied. Taking advantage of a "stay two nights, get the third night free" deal made a six day stay a very good bargain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank over70_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    259
    100
    35
    19
See reviews for
700
705
91
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the moment we walked into the lobby at this wonderful hotel we knew we were in for a great experience. The decor was very beautiful and all of the staff were genuinely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were top notch as was the service we had from room service. Sometimes it can be a bit pricey, but we wanted to splurge for a weekend, and we are glad that we did. Definitely reccommend this property if you are in the area!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38506
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We (Wife & 9-year old daughter) had an EXTREMELY wonderful stay at FS in early August. For starters, my initial concern, based on past reviews, was that it might be a little "stuffy" when it came to dress code, etc. This couldn't be further from the truth. You can wear anything from jeans to a suit and blend in. Regardless of where we stay, we never dress up - jeans all the way. We stayed in a one bedroom suite w/lake and city view. It had two bathrooms which is a plus. I suppose the message I would like to send to anyone considering a stay there is that it's very luxurious and comfortable in EVERY way. If you're going to run around the city every waking moment, FS might not be your best option from a cost perspective. Last thoughts: *great location to include easy access to shopping if you need anything, *room service is good but overpriced - not excellent - if you want to trim the budget a little, do so in this area and eat out - sorry FS, *pool is great, *staff was kind and accommodating at all times. BOTTOM LINE: We needed a break from work and to spend time as a family. Thank you FS for accommodating our MOST WONDERFUL getaway. WE LOVED IT !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saksak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It had been years since I’d stayed at a Four Seasons, but this summer I wanted to treat the family to a higher caliber of service and accommodations on our yearly trip to Chicago.

Having lived in Chicago, I knew Four Seasons was one of the top spots in terms of location. It’s high over a luxe mall, across the street from a second mall (Water Tower Place) and steps from the beach, Borders Bookstore and American Girl. It’s also close to some pretty great restaurants, including Spiaggia and Gibson’s.

The rooms are elegant, but not over-the-top in terms of style or design and the central focus is the amazing view out the window. The bathrooms are quite stylish, though and I did like the Occitane soap. The beds were extremely comfortable. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever slept in a better one.

Amenities are fine. The pool is area is clean and fairly large and there were always one or two other families swimming. The lobby area was nice too. I noticed some other reviews noted how small it was and I don’t quite get that. While the check-in area is tiny, there’s a huge lobby off to the side with plenty of couches for waiting, gathering, talking or working quietly on a lap top. It wasn’t a “scene” to be sure, but that’s what I liked about it.

Staff were excellent, concierge knew everything and was easy to access (we never had to wait in line) and room service was friendly and quick. We only ordered breakfast since it is quite expensive, but based on how good it was I’d probably budget for room service and do it again! Still, I did miss having a coffee pot in the room.

As for how The Four Seasons treats kids, I’m quite sure my almost-9 year old daughter wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else after this visit. Not only did they greet her by name, every time we returned to our room they’d left her a little treat – a toy, some sweets, popcorn, special bath items, and near the end of our stay they left her a dessert from the restaurant with a Happy Birthday greeting. She appreciated it so much. When we arrived back home, she said she was a little disappointed there weren’t any surprised waiting for her.

So all in all, this was an amazing hotel. I didn’t use the spa services because that’s not my thing, but I’m quite sure they’d be fabulous yet non-pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an excellent hotel right in the middle of everything in downtown Chicago. The rooms are very nice and quiet, great beds, luxurious bathrooms and outstanding service. The breakfast in the pleasant restaurant was very good with the best egg white omelette we have ever had. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

No location in Chicago is any better. Rooms are very nice, could be 15% glitzier, like with a bigger big screen TV, but hey, when the rooms start at the 30th floor and Michigan Ave is at your doorstep why nit pick. They simply get just about everything perfect. The views are spectacular.

The service just can't get any better. We threw question after question, reservation requests for dinner, transportation, emergency medical care, you name it, at the concierge staff. They were available, and so responsive that it made the execution of a multi family, multi generational vacation work. Nowhere has a better concierge staff. Period the end. They will save your life or make your day and act as if it is nothing with a genuinely eager "Is there anything else I can help with" attitude.

As with many hotels this hotel has the annoying vending machines in the room that masquerade as a refrigerator. Move something and it appears on your bill. Naturally they very happily and professionally remove it at check out but it creates "cognitive dissonance." It is, in a way, an unfriendly machine, Something akin to a panhandler at an intersection with a long red light. Not really there to serve you with whatever you wish to keep cold but to ask for money should you make a false move and disturb its contents.
The MBA that dreamed up this "efficiency" may have gotten in on manufacturing equally bogus financial products.

All that said, the 5 star quality of the experience at this hotel is very consistent and better than other venues of similar rating. Stay there if you can.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I travel to Chicago every year for business at least once a year. I also will stay in Chicago at other times if business takes me there. I always stay at the Four Seasons. It is the best of the best. From the door man who remembers your name to the bell men who is very attentive, to the front desk, to the housekeepers. The Hotel is first class in every way.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
2,186 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
1,398 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
2,204 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Chicago

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Address: 120 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, IL 60611-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, always a landmark of refined comfort, with unrivaled Lake Michigan and city views, steps from chic North Michigan Avenue shops and minutes from Chicago's business and financial centres. The Hotel offers a fresh, contemporary ambience that remains as inviting as ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Chicago
4 Seasons Hotel Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing