We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Ranked #4 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

To be fair, the service at the hotel was good for the most part and I accept that the hotel gets many excellent reviews.

We were on the 40th floor so had a good view. The room was a good size but it had no tea/coffee making facilities which was disappointing. There was no complimentary water provided - odd for a hotel of this level.

Housekeeping seems to be a weak link in the chain. On arriving after a very long flight at around midnight we had no toiletries and so had to wait for them to be brought upstairs before we could shower. The guy who did so then stood as if waiting on a tip. I did have to laugh...

We had the "do not disturb" on the door on two occassions but were once called to check if we wanted turndown and once to see if we wanted the room made up - which woke us up! If they can see the DND and don't knock, they shouldn't call either. The cleaning staff would also shout down the halls to each other and once asked me hurriedly which room I was leaving only to then run down the hall towards it. I assume they are on a time budget.

The Internet is ok. There is complimentary wifi provided, and higher speed for streaming etc at $10 per day.

The bathroom was a little disappointing for a hotel like this. Although large, they haven't used the space well. There's only one sink, and no separate shower - you have to shower over the bath and this leaks all over the bathroom floor.

On our last night we got to bed about 12 and had to be up at 5am for our flight. Across the hall someone was having a room party and there was a lot of coming and going. We called security who, instead of asking the extra guests to leave, asked them to "keep the noise down". The party went on all night after this and the hall was littered with food and packaging. I felt like the hotel didn't want to have to deal with a problem guest which meant others had to suffer.

All in all, the location is decent and the staff mostly good. But for the price there will be better options. I wouldn't stay here again - I'd probably pay more to go back to the Trump.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twogwailos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations. Please be assured we've followed up with the appropriate departments regarding your concerns. We truly value this feedback as an opportunity to improve our hotel. We would love to welcome you back in the future to prove our value to you as a guest. Please contact me directly for any future reservations or to discuss your concerns further at denise.flanders@fourseasons.com.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,364
    293
    115
    34
    21
See reviews for
797
787
101
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
flighthouse point
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Four Seasons remains my favorite hotel in Chicago. Staff is the best you could ask for. Just the right balance of professional and friendly. Extremely knowledgeable. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Chicago Four Seasons located atop the luxury mall '900 North Michigan Shops', did not disappoint in any area. The customer service was attentive without being overbearing. The rooms were very comfortable. Room service was prompt and the food was excellent. The Sports Club and Spa were top of the line.

Our room had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan.

My only suggestion: create a lap pool. The swimming pool is beautiful, but not as functional as most swimmers would like.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, WI
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Four Seasons Chicago continues to offer luxury right on Michigan avenue. Recently stayed ina Premier Room which is essentially a small suite with a great lake view. Service was top notch. Pool , gym and spa facilities are well maintained. Lobby is much quieter than its sister property the Ritz Carlton. Room service (breakfast) is always excellent and prompt. There is also a small convenience store in the mall just below the hotel for snacks and drinks if you do not wish to hit the mini bar. Love this place and it continues to deliver a 5 star experience year after year.

Room Tip: Primier room is same on each floor and guarantees a good view of the lake. Some executive suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaupacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons for a second time, recently, and it's still up to par. The room had a terrific view, good service from staff, room service was prompt!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BbytthDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons on a recent trip to Chicago. The hotel is conveniently located near the Magnificent Mile and many other attractions (e.g. John Hancock Observatory, the 900 shopping center).

The check-in process was flawless and everyone at the hotel was friendly and genuinely interested in making the stay comfortable. Note that the reception of the hotel is located on the 7th floor of the complex. Our room was on the 42 floor and offered a wonderful view of western Chicago. Because we were this high up the wind did create a 'creaking' noise in the room and the hotel recognized this and provided ear plugs for those who may need them for sleeping. I did not need them.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Four Seasons to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a north or east facing room (on a higher floor) to get a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_OKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Superb service with a smile,Concierge is quite superb.We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,486 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
2,321 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Chicago

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Address: 120 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, IL 60611-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, always a landmark of refined comfort, with unrivaled Lake Michigan and city views, steps from chic North Michigan Avenue shops and minutes from Chicago's business and financial centres. The Hotel offers a fresh, contemporary ambience that remains as inviting as ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Chicago
4 Seasons Hotel Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing