We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hostelling International Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

What do you want from Hostel lodging? Safe, clean, friendly, convenient location? This place hits on them all.

Note: the free wi-fi works fine, but Apps done work until you open the browser and accept the agreement.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobFromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 805 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

didn't expect much due to the price I paid $30 per night. But I love the place. I felt safe, It was busy a lot of people coming in and out which I love because I got to meet people from different countries. Location perfect close to everything I was there two night didn't need to use public transport. coffee shop next door. free wifi. free lockers but you need to buy your own lock. The room was not a problem, bunk beds so if don't feel comfortable sleeping on top you might want to call ahead. Only prob when I arrived my bed wasn't clean so I have to wait a while but other than that no big issue. Next time I might want to pay a little extra and book their ensuite too many girls in one room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I Was travelling around Asia having any kind of hostal experiences. And I was done with that, but I was blessed, booking 2 nights at these hostel. Front desk people are helpful, friendly, free food, awesome wifi, etc. after check in I went to my room, everything was neat, my bed was clean, toilette was clean also. Everything was awesome. Believe me if you wanna stay low budget option but good service. Next to anything in Chicago stay here

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank lotrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hostel is super...big with super clean room, toilet, lounge...everywhere is clean. Great location near bus stop, train, subway and shoping area. Besides, there are many colleges, parks, and fantastic buildings around here. I love it. 這間青年旅館有著不可思議的巨大空間,房間很大、浴廁很大、每層樓都有廚房與起居間、公用場所很多也很大....基本上頗有大飯店的架式,而且非常的乾淨,出入有感應卡,全天候供應免費咖啡,交通方便,本身應該也算芝加哥有名建築物之一,隔壁街就是state st 與密西根大道,好吃好逛的都在附近。我很喜歡這個旅館,也很喜歡芝加哥。

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TianaHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here this past June while in Chicago for the American Library Association conference. Didn't feel like paying $200+ per night to stay in the conference hotels and you can't beat the price and location of the hostel. The facility was very clean, the location was prime, and the price--even for a private room--was incredible. That's not to say there weren't SOME problems, though.

Despite the fact that I booked the room in JANUARY (almost 6 months in advance), there was an error in the booking system that meant that I had to check out of one room after the first night, then check in again the next day to stay in a different room the following 2 nights. This was mainly an issue because that meant that my friend and I had to remove all of our luggage and store it in the lockers provided, and we COULD NOT check in before 3 pm--and not even then, because they were still cleaning our rooms. We waited until 3:30 to go up to the new room and were passive-aggressively scolded by the maid who apparently hadn't vacuumed our room yet and was upset that we had started moving in.

The next issue came when checking out on the final day. I had misplaced or thrown away my receipt from the first night (because of the room mix-up, I had to complete my reservation in 2 separate transactions), and when I asked the lady at the desk for a copy, she was unable to print one because it was under "history." What?? That said, when I emailed the manager the next day to get the receipt, she replied promptly and apologized profusely for the inconvenience. I was also given a discount on the rooms because of the trouble.

Overall, a good stay and you can't beat the price for the location. Be aware though--once you get above about the 4th floor, the free wi-fi doesn't work. It keeps asking you for a password/promo code, even though it should just let you log in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby_soulsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

One of the best experiences I've had, the workers, the volunteers(especially the volunteers), the other travelers all combined with a pleasant environment, great place for reading, coffee all day to make this such a memorable and wonderful/happy experience. I would recommend Hostelling International to anyone (and have to some), and expect is it probably the same in other cities.

Room Tip: no tip, there is private and dorm, both good
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are times when I go back to my hometown that I just want to stay right in the heart of the city. Drawback is that Chicago has gotten so amazingly cool that all the great hotels step right out of my budget during the best months - SUMMER! Well, look no further, Hostelling International Chicago offers a great place to stay for $34/night (at least this is what I paid for in June 2013). Since I was making friends/family stay downtown late, I decided to book a room (3 bunks/6 beds to a room). I must say, this was by far the nicest, cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable hostel I've EVER stayed in! Breakfast had LOTs of yummy options (more than just corn flakes, toast, coffee and tea which is typical). They even gave you towels! I will go back in a heartbeat, even on my own! What a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: They have lockers in the rooms as well, so if you are traveling solo or in smaller groups, your thin...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 191 in Chicago
1,976 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Chicago

Address: 24 East Congress Parkway, South Loop, Chicago, IL 60605-1226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: $42 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Chicago 1.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostelling International Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Chicago Summer Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing