We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, affordable, basic needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“clean, affordable, basic needs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel, while exploring Chicago for the first time. Location was perfect, in walking distance to all major atractions and with plenty of restaurants nearby ( + one in hotel).
Our double/double room was clean, internetservice worked perfectly and staff was friendly and helpfull.
We where a little nervous after reading about waiting times on check in and out, but it worked fine for us. We did see however that some people had a long waiting time getting their room and there was some angry guests in the lobby.
The breakfast buffet is much to expensive ( 15$ ), choose coffee and a croissant if you aren´t that hungry or go to one of the many nearby restaurants for a much cheaper option.
All in all this hotel worked perfect for us and is suitable for
anyone who needs a clean, affordable place to stay in Chicago.

  • Liked — rooms where clean, location perfect, affordable, internetservice
  • Disliked — hotel restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank permatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    353
    328
    158
    117
See reviews for
310
277
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
green bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

We went to chicago for a couple of days and stayed in this hotel.. For the money 145.00 a night it was not bad.. We were walking distants for the musumes. There is a free trolly that picks you up not to far from the hotel either.. We tried the taste of chicago that was ok, but alot of people.. over all the room was ok for the money. the bed was kind of hard, but I would stay there again in the furture..

  • Liked — the loctions
  • Disliked — beds were hard
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank verhbar_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I booked this hotel on short notice, and selected it only because of the rate. I wasn't expecting much, but figured it would at least be clean and serve its purpose. From the very beginning, I had trouble. There were two people working the check-in desk. I was fortunate enough to have the decent clerk. The other woman checking people in was rude to all customers and acted extremely put out that she had to help people. Once I got to my room, it appeared to be right on target with what I expected, a standard room with one queen bed. Just to be sure, I decided to check the bed for any stains or questionables. I was horrified when I lifted the sheet. The mattress pad was completely covered in pubic hairs. The bedspread also had questionable stains all over it. The housekeeping service was very apologetic and got new linens for the bed. (They were the few employees that seemed to care about how guests felt.)

The walls are paper thin. You can hear everything anyone in the hall or next room is saying. The doors to the rooms can only be shut by pulling very hard on them. So any time someone comes or goes from a room, you can hear the doors slamming which is just about constant in a hotel. The trash service to the alley below comes early on Sunday mornings. Expect to be awoken to several dumpsters being picked up and dropped for about 30 minutes.

Contacting the front desk is also difficult. I had to make several phone calls down until someone picked up. When I finally got through, the clerk was extremely rude and didn't want to answer a simple question about how to check out. She finally just hung up on me without answering my question as to whether or not I could just leave the keys in my room as I had prepaid.

As I mentioned, I was not expecting much with this hotel. You would expect though from a hotel chain, that they could at least provide clean beds and friendly service. I would strongly encourage anyone considering this hotel to look elsewhere.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The service/cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

St. Louis, MO.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

We arrived in Chicago and took the Orange El train to Roosevelt. We walked only 2 blocks to our hotel. Our check-in went smooth and fairly quickly. We had prepaid through Expedia and had no problem checking in. We were on the 7th floor facing the North. It was close to the El trains. At times we did hear them, but they were not as bad as some viewers said. If we had been facing them directly then I could see where it might have been a problem. The rooms were of average size and Clean. The staff always greeted us as we were coming and going. The pool was not yet open but we were never at the hotel long enough to use it anyway. We picked this hotel because it was close to the Museums. We walked to the Museum campus and took The CTA buses and trains everywhere else. We had no problems with transportation and my son loved using our visitor passes whenever we went anywhere. Chicago is a huge city and we saw alot of it. This was my second trip to Chicago and I will definitly be back. And by the way, our Check-out went just as smoothly as our Check-in. Thanks to Chicago for a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Friendly and Helpful Staff!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalouhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and paid $149/night. Not bad for downtown Chicago, but as they say, you get what you pay for.

It's conveniently located in the south loop area and is close to Grant Park, several of Chicago's fantastic museums, and the Roosevelt station.

My biggest complaint was noise. The hotel's walls are thin, and the windows are single paned. My room was on the west side of the building, and I could hear the "L" trains rushing by every ten minutes or so. Ask for a room that faces Michigan Ave.

The rooms are small and generally clean, with a few exceptions. The housekeeping staff left a rag in the bathroom, and the ice bucket was visibly dirty.

  • Liked — Location. Free Internet
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

Great location, but noisy inside and out since the train runs over the street one block away. The beds and linens need updating. If you want anything more than basic, try getting a special on a hotel downtown near Michigan Ave (magnificent mile). Sights like Millennium Park and the Art Institute are walkable from either location.

Note: This area is made for walking, taxis are everywhere, shuttles go to/from the airports, and the train is easy to use, so skip the car!

Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank takeahike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

This is a small nine story hotel located directly across from Grant Park on Michigan Avenue. You will be 1/4 mile (5 minute walk) from the Roosevelt Subway Stop (Orange, Red, and Green Lines)... From there you can get to many different areas of the city. Train Ride to the Downtown Loop is only 10 minutes max.

Upon arrival our check-in was pretty standard... Usual check of our credit card and reservation. They actually asked for my AAA card.. (No one hardly does!) Anyways... Upon entering our room, the wife immediately complained of a urine smell coming from the bathroom. I was hoping maybe someone just didn't flush the toilet, but upon inspection, it appears that it was coming from the base of the toilet... We just threw a towel on the floor and shut the door... Fixed the problem without having to go through the trouble of asking for another room.

The room walls are thin as you can hear your neighbors shower, alarm, etc... You can also hear the occasional subway car and the traffic cop blowing his/her whistle...

No one was in the lobby at 4:50am when we went to check out which I thought was odd and no one would answer a phone... so we just left the keys in the drop with a note...

If you plan to spend 8 hours a day in your room (just enough to sleep and/or whatever), then this is a good cost-effective place to stay. $92/night. If you like hanging in your room, don't stay here.

Anyways... Check out the restaurant next to the hotel named Yolk... Good breakfast and kind of art/deco!

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TnNiteFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Address: 1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing