We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, adequate accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, adequate accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

There's nothing special about the Best Western Grant Park, except for it's location on Michigan Avenue. That location is worth the stay, though! Right on Michigan Avenue, it's a short ride on the #3 bus (stops right outside) to the center of the city. Or take a long stroll down the street and enjoy the park, cafes, and museum campus on your way.

The hotel itself is outdated, but the public areas and rooms are quite clean and comfortable enough (the bed was great, bathroom was a little small). The staff were friendly and helpful, and valet parking with in and out privileges is available for $38/night. The front desk staff also recommended some nearby parking options which were a little cheaper if you didn't need access to your car.

I booked online and got a great rate - $75/night. I'm not sure how much more I'd spend to stay here, but at that price it was an amazing deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    353
    328
    158
    117
See reviews for
310
277
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff at this hotel is outstanding; very friendly and helpful. The hotel could use some updating but the location is ideal for tourists and everything was very clean. There are Divvy bikes across the street in Grant Park. Perfect for getting around the shoreline and the Planetarium, Shedd, Art Institute etc. The Roosevelt train station is just around the corner and over 1 short block. No car or taxis needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Centrally located. Must probably will return. "L" train nearby with access to Downtown Loop, baseball parks, airports and other places to go. And dozens of places to eat. Just accross Grant Park. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel was in a decent location, close to subway and right across from Grant Park. We enjoyed our stay but wish the bathrooms were a little cleaner. Oh, and we had to run our fan all night because of outside street noise. But the customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a 3 star hotel but it has all the amnesties,the rooms are nice and clean, it has a gym on the 3rd floor, it has a restaurant , we only had one bfast but it was limited .it is conveniently located , as the bus stop is outside the door it's only about 10min drive to the magnificent mile. The price was very reasonable when you consider the location, the staff treated us very well.

Room Tip: The hotel was fully booked so we took what was available, the room was great, the view was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend wanted to get away for a couple of days for his birthday so we packed our bags and headed off to explore Chicago.
Check in was fast and easy. Our room was ready and clean. We had a lake view room on the 7th floor and could see a lot of the park and down Michigan Ave a little ways. The hotel is old (we actually got stuck in the elevator for several minutes) but it is clean and friendly and is in a GREAT location. The hotel will stow your luggage for free after you check out.
I'd stay again :)

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are corner rooms. Lots of windows. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This dated property needs updating; however, it was the right location for the right price. Don't expect anything fancy; truly the decorating is early '90s at best.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

The valet parking is $38 (w/out tip) for 24 hours - a big plus. Also, we were able to stow our bags after checkout for pickup when we retrieved our vehicle.

We did not use the restaurant nor pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksgbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Address: 1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing