We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #126 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Best Western in Grant Park in Chicago, Illinois is overpriced and overrated. Basically, you pay for the location. The rooms are tiny, they are outdated, nothing works right and it pales in comparison to other hotels at the same rate. Do yourself a favor and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I didn't think this would be a good place to stay, I was wrong, I would use this hotel again the staff was great, and the rooms were clean and comfortable, staff knew their jobs. The food was good although a little expensive for kids, and it would be great if they had a breakfast menu for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute so other hotels downtown were fairly expensive, but I wish we would've splurged to stay somewhere else. The 'L' stop right by the hotel can be a little sketchy, especially at night, and we did not feel safe walking from the stop to our hotel after 10pm. When we arrived, the front desk staff was condescending and did not seem willing to help us. The front desk staff checking out though was very friendly so it's hit or miss with service here. Also, most of the lights in our room didn't work and our sink and bathtub did not drain which was gross. Luckily the bed was comfy and the only time we were at the hotel was to sleep (mostly in part to not wanting to spend time at the hotel). Overall, I would advise researching some other options before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is not the mosr luxorious hotel in Chicago. It is a great value,though, especially for the area. The rooms are comfortable. The check/in and check/out process was efficient. The staff was friendly. I would recommend this [roperty though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We attended a concert at Northerly Island and wanted a hotel close to the museum campus. THe hotel rooms are not updated, a little dingy, but the location is perfect. The staff is exteremly helpful. If you need a place to crash, this would be the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

People at the front desk (PM Shifts) need to be more serviceable. They were very unaccomadating and seemed to be upset when you asked them a question. Had an issue with a noice complaint from 11:30-4:30AM and it was avoided like the plague. Not happy!! Nice location but thats about all I'd give it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hi, we stayed at this hotel for four nights last week. The hotel is kinda small and clean. It looks old, but it is nice, clean, and perfect for someone who doesn't stay much at the hotel, and doesn't want to pay too much. The location is very good.It's close to the train station, and It's on the corner of Michigan Ave, which is a very very long street, and basically the main street for tourists. You still need to take taxi to the other side of this street, or to the Navy Pier, but it's not too bad. From one side of Michigan Ave, all the way to the other side, costs about $11- $13, so if you are 3 people or more, it's better than the train. The rooms are small and clean. The beds are comfortable. The stuff was very friendly, great customer service. Over all, it was very good, but don't expect too much, it is not 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,062 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,338 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#94 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $74 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing