We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #124 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is a little rough around the edges and the room didn't smell too great, but all in all it is in a great location for all the sights of Chicago. A 2 night stay before leaving to drive Route 66 was fine, hopefully the hotel will be renovated soon and this will make it a real sort after place, because the location and friendliness of the staff is brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here as first point of call before commencing route 66 road trip. Hotel location superb and good place to explore local area. Hotel is jaded in lOok and feel but all facilities ok. Staff were helpful and they have a bar/restaurant attached. For beakfast we used the much praised Yolks next door and were very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My hotel room smelled horrible when I walked in after being told that I had to stay in a smoking room when I requested a non-smoking one. I did not appreciate the customer service at the front desk after being told I had to stay in a smoking room. The girl had a very flat affect and didn't seem to care about my unhappiness with the situation. Top that off, my sheets had holes in them. I felt like I was at a dump. I am not having any luck with Best Western. I stayed at another one recently that had bed bugs. I am done with them after this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msnitmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The BW Grant Park is a tourist class hotel located in the South Loop. It is very shabby/depressing but the property is clean and the rooms have nice beds with good linens. The A/C was excellent during this hot/humid period. The staff is very professional and attentive. It was just too expensive for what it is. Unfortunately, there was a convention in town and the rates where exorbitant throughout the city. I gave it a poor review because I paid $300 a night and this is not a $300 a night property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was okay, but the AC was weak and the wireless internet was slow. It felt like dial up. I hate to say the stuff was rude, but they were definitely apathetic at best. Maybe it's because they are constantly being asked to reset the internet. Maybe they're just miserable. I dreaded talking to them.

We also blew a breaker when using the microwave and the tv. That's just silly. Overall, I give it a middle rating because it was reasonably priced. Also, when we booked it mentioned breakfast but somehow our reservation wasn't "marked" as getting complimentary breakfast. That was annoying as all hell.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flippityjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room 9th floor overlooked Navy Pier and we went to sleep to fireworks at Navy Pier and woke up to a great sunrise. We were in town to go to the field museum so the location was perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. On the downside we reserved a room that was supposed to have a sofa bed, but there was just a love seat in the room. They discounted our room by $40 for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_147_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The exterior of this hotel needs some serious help. Even a paint job would give it a boost. The lobby is drab and the hallways on the floors are depressing. But surprisingly the rooms are pretty nice. Value for the money. The hotel is pretty reasonable and has an excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bixatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,070 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#100 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 192 in Chicago
2,021 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $67 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing