We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #135 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Not bad but not great”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was okay, but the AC was weak and the wireless internet was slow. It felt like dial up. I hate to say the stuff was rude, but they were definitely apathetic at best. Maybe it's because they are constantly being asked to reset the internet. Maybe they're just miserable. I dreaded talking to them.

We also blew a breaker when using the microwave and the tv. That's just silly. Overall, I give it a middle rating because it was reasonably priced. Also, when we booked it mentioned breakfast but somehow our reservation wasn't "marked" as getting complimentary breakfast. That was annoying as all hell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flippityjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    368
    336
    161
    119
See reviews for
323
283
92
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room 9th floor overlooked Navy Pier and we went to sleep to fireworks at Navy Pier and woke up to a great sunrise. We were in town to go to the field museum so the location was perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. On the downside we reserved a room that was supposed to have a sofa bed, but there was just a love seat in the room. They discounted our room by $40 for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_147_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The exterior of this hotel needs some serious help. Even a paint job would give it a boost. The lobby is drab and the hallways on the floors are depressing. But surprisingly the rooms are pretty nice. Value for the money. The hotel is pretty reasonable and has an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bixatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed her on a short 4 days trip to Chicago to attend a convention at Mc Cormick Place. Hotel is good rooms spacious and location quite convenient. Rooms are a bot tired and could do with some renovation but still in fair condition. Front desk staff are helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabidally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed only one night, during our trip to China, and wanted to stay close to the Loop, in order to take a walk around during the night. The hotel is conveniently located, we were able to see the most important attractions of the area, and to ahve a good night of sleep before leaving the next morning.

The hotel is old, needs a little care, but for our purposes it was just fine, we just needed a comfortable place to spend one night and to be able to have a little touristic walk during our short visit to town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We decided to book here just to have a good place to stay, not far from the Loop, at an affordable price. Expectation were met, nothing disappointed us; needless to say that we weren't expecting a top class hotel.
One thing: Wi-Fi never worked during our two-days stay...hope was an unlucky circumstance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our room had a nice view of Grant Park and a couple of skyscrapers. I enjoyed looking out at the lights from the bed at night. The rooms were very nice and the beds felt luxurious. Staff was helpful and we enjoyed the location. Downtown is very walkable and there are a number of restaurants close by. The exterior of the building does not do justice to the interior and the rooms. It was however, the first Best Western that I have ever stayed in that did not offer some sort of breakfast so keep in mind that you will likely be buying breakfast at one of the adjoining restaurants. We had breakfast at Yolks just around the corner and it was quite good and appeared to be where the locals were going and was also very reasonable, so not a problem. We enjoyed having dinner at a Nepalese restaurant that was close by.

Room Tip: We liked our room on a high floor that looked out actually away from downtown Chicago. We liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving your opinion on our hotel after your recent stay here on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is vital to our business and we’re extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, bed, and our staff and location so much. Your satisfaction is our number one priority so we’re glad that you had such a great experience. Be sure to book with us again for your next trip to Chicago!
Thanks,
Alex Pulido
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,955 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing