We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-night stay for an interview”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed December 28, 2012

There were 3 major things wrong with my stay:
1) The wifi didn't work all evening (despite troubleshooting. It came back in the morning, luckily)
2) There was a spider in my bathtub. Spiders are carnivores. I wonder what it was eating?
3) This is the worst: I NEVER GOT MY Wakeup Call! I needed to wake up at 5 am for my interview. Luckily, I woke up on my own at 4:55, and sat in bed staring at the phone til 5:15, when I finally got up. When I complained about this downstairs, they insisted I must have missed it- well, if I did, that means it was at least 15 minutes late, 'cause I was in the shower by then. They denied all wrongdoing on this most critical error. (even 15 minutes could be crucial).

Other little cons: Parking was valet only, and costed $30 a night! I didn't find that on their website, so it came as an unpleasant surprise.
I forgot my comb, so they provided one for me- but I had to go down myself in my pjs.
When I told all this to the concierge, she wrote down my complaints (except for the missing wakeup call) and my phone number and told me her manager would call me to sort it all out. It has been 2 weeks and I still havent gotten that call. I dont think I ever will.

Pros: I slept very well. The room was cozy and nice (for the price), the bed was clean and comfy. It was in a great location. They did provide a comb.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were thrilled with the great price for our one night shopping getaway to the city. We found the front desk reception very nice and our room was more than satisfactory, clean, comfy bed,coffee maker. The roosevelt CTA which can connect you to anywhere in the city is a short walk away, as are several restaurants and clubs. i think the red velvet pancakes I had at the Bongo Room nearby was the best breakfast I've had in a long time.
The big problem and not one easily fixed is the noise.
My husband noticed a breeze under the aluminum surrounding our streetside window, so maybe a little caulk would help. but paper thin walls would be a much bigger fix. I am very sound sleeper, but even I was awoken numerous times by the sound of people below, the el roaring nearby and construction of scaffolding across the street at Columbia University at 6 am .Even with a good set of ear plugs, I wouldn't return. I'd spend a little more and get a place where an occasional siren is all you hear. Here, you hear everything and I do mean everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy/baits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We are glad to hear you were thrilled with our location, friendly staff and breakfast. We apologize for any outside construction noise you may have experienced. We encourage all guests to bring any issues to the attention of the staff so that we can see about relocating your room. We try to accommodate all guest requests and hope you will visit us again with the great amenities we offer. Let us know beforehand of your experience and we can try a different room location for you.
Sincerely,
Alex Pulido
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BRIAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MZhangOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We needed an affordable, clean and decent place to stay for a business trip, and chose Best Western Grant Park due to close proximity to McCormick Place, price and great location. When we checked in, we were relegated to a smoke infused floor with layers of smoke oozing out of the every fiber of the carpet, 60s drapes and walls. I told the staff at check in that I'm both allergic to cigarette smoke and pregnant but there was nothing to be done, this was the best available (which I believe to be true, which makes it even worse). The towels are threadbare, shredded on the edges as well as stained. Every bit of metal has rust wear from vents to temperature control. The bed fell off its rail when I sat down. The view is of a construction site. You can hear conversations through the walls. Every floor in the entire hotel was sold out of water.

I vomited on arrival and am leaving with a body rash, burning eyes and headache. You would never know that this hotel is on Michigan Ave. I could not be paid to stay here again. I sincerely hope I can get my money back for the rest of the reservation.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here, bring slippers and ask for a non smoking room. Or better yet pay the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
We received your feedback from our customer care department and will be reaching out to you directly. We do offer smoking rooms and encourage guests to book in advance if possible to secure the desired accommodations. We offer many amenities and services, including changing guests’ rooms if unsatisfactory. If we were sold out that night, the availability options can be limited but can assure you our staff is fully trained and experienced in doing everything possible to make our guests’ stay enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Alex Pulido
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is in a very good central location for just about anything you want to do in Chicago. The parking is in a fenced and locked facility next door and is handled valet style, so your vehicle is secure.The rooms are clean and a good value compared to the $300-$400 a night standards in Chicago, so don't be put off by halls, which could do with an upgrade. The elevators are older and slow, but the staff is friendly and helpful and there is a great restaurant right next door which stays open until 10pm if you happen to arrive late as there is not much else close without taking your car or a taxi. I was there on business and it was a short drive - less than 10 minutes to my conference center at the other end of Michigan Ave. The hotel is across the street from Grant Park, but it is a walk to the Museums.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevators and not near the L
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us during your recent business trip to Chicago and for your feedback from your stay. We’re happy to hear that you experienced our friendly staff, restaurant and location. We can’t wait to host you again the next time you visit Chicago!
Thanks,
Alex Pulido
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was our first stop on Route 66. The location was excellent for exploring Chicago town. We had a hire car and the car park was hard to find. Our room was on the top floor near the lift and facing the road. The lift was very noisy and we could hear the mechanism during the night. Once The Loop started running in the morning, you could also hear this. Overall though you won't get better for your money for a central stay in Chicago

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that we helped kick off your Route 66 trip! Our location is a great benefit to booking our hotel and we’re happy that you enjoyed that amenity. We hope you enjoy the rest of your Route 66 trip and look forward to having you again soon.
Sincerely,
Alex Pulido
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,056 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#93 of 192 in Chicago
588 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,308 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $74 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing