We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Went to Chicago for the Blues Festival and stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great location, close to many of the city attractions and within walking distance to the festival. Lots of restaurants close by. Our lake view room was basic but clean with nice linens, microwave and mini-fridge. It was cleaned daily and the maid must have noticed we were drinking the coffee each day and started leaving extra coffee and cups for us. A small but appreciated gesture. The front desk staff was helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and calling taxi’s for us as required.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Considering the price and location we’d stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyforavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Grant Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

I went on a business trip, unfortunately is during a citywide convention, instead of paying $500 per night at a 4 stars hotel, I decide to save some money stay here.

Sadly to share with you all, bad mistake

Even though I hardly spend much time in the hotel room, I would still like to have a nice and clean room

Upon my arrival, is approx 10am in the morning, I know most of the hotels check in time is 3pm or 4pm, but usually the front desk will tried to help and get the early arrival into their room because they been flying or driving for the last few hours

I went to the front desk, told them my name, the front desk agent checked and she replied, no room is available yet for me
I asked: When do you think you will have one soon?
She replied: 3PM

I'm thinking uh...that's the check in time, I did not say anything, I walked away and checked in my baggage's to the bellman room

I been up since 4am in the morning and took the early flight at 7am, so I'm very tired, I went out and had breakfast, walked around the park, now is almost 1:30pm, I went back to the front desk and checked, still nothing is available

Now please allow me to point something out to you all

I know the check out time is at 12pm at your hotel, so you are telling me they're no one check out between 12 and 1:30pm at the Lake View Room? Not 1?
Impossible, that's a lied

Okay, let say someone did checked, but you need someone to clean the room, 1 1/2 hour, is not enough time for your house keeping to clean 1 room?

Once again, I do understand hotel check in policy is at 3pm, however when you have guest arriving early and just waiting at the lobby, you need to do whatever to speed things up, that's customer service.

I waited till 3:15pm, finally my room is ready, which is passed my check in time by the way.

I got into my room, I open the drawer, guess what?
Dirty candy papers, went into the bathroom, no shampoo, no condition, I have to go back down stairs and get it.
I even give them credit thinking, maybe they're busy, and forgot about leaving the shampoo and condition in my bathroom, I stay there for 4 days, the house keeping never once leave me any shampoo or conditional, not acceptable

Location, when you google map and by looking the hotel address, might look and sound pretty good "1100 South Michigan Avenue" On Michigan Ave!!

Oh...wait the minute, please don't miss out the 'SOUTH'

Luckily I have a car service, or else, I have no idea how to get around, is nothing near by, I never see any taxi waited outside the hotel like most hotels located in the central of Chicago

Front desk, I give them 3 stars, one guy (I forgot his name) is nice, he remember my name, when I'm there, he always asked how are you doing today, but the bad thing is he refer me as my first name, which is okay I guess, but I usually staying at 4 and 5 stars hotels, and all of them always called me by my last name Mr. which is more respectful

Nothing around this hotel, next door to the hotel have a small restaurant, good for breakfast only, close very early, I think maybe 8pm

Overall, I'm giving it 2 stars, poor.
If you have a budget and still like to travel to Chicago, this maybe the place for you, but if is for me, I rather pay a little bit more staying more to the central location

My advise to the hotel, all staffs need to be re-train
Hotel in and outside, top to the bottom needed to be renovate badly

Room Tip: Check out Sheraton, Embassy Suite or Hyatt, google map hotels close to the central location, I won...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangkc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location, reasonable price, clean, no frills. Polite hotel staff. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was functional but really outdated. If you are looking for a budget hotel with a great location this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriTucAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

For being a hotel in the downtown Chicago area, and given the cost of the room, this hotel had extremely low quality. The only good thing I could say about this hotel was that it had newer linens and that it was downtown. I chose this hotel because I felt the Best Western brand was an indicator of quality. I likely won't make that mistake again.

The high speed internet worked for about 5 minutes at a time, would lose signal, and then would have to connect to a different access point. The TV remote came in a "sanitized for your protection bag", which seems nice, but when you removed it there was a layer of dirt between the buttons that appears to have been there for quite some time. Front desk couldn't make change for the vending machines at 8pm as they had "cashed out" for the night. It was nearly impossible to sit in the desk chair to get some work done at night because there wasn't enough room between the desk and the bed to move the chair out. The TV also had issues - several channels were mostly static.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Alex Pulido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location with a great view over Grant Park (if you are lucky enough to get a room at the front) and the transport links nearby are great. The bed was very comfortable and the staff helpful. The downside was that the hotel allows smoking in the rooms and you can certainly smell it. The rooms are also in need of updating, especially the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susankt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The beds were awesome! I actually just ordered two of the pillows bc they were so comfortable. The bathrooms were outdated and need work, but just close the door if you don't want to look at it.
The location is good, but it was a little shady with some "questionable" people that were hanging out across the street. There were 5 girls dressed like prostitutes taking pictures, but what do I know?
I highly recommend the restaurant next to the Best Western-Mei Kitchen, because it had great food at an excellent price.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor because we stayed in room 502 which was to have a lake view, but we were...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we apologize you were not able to have a comfortable stay and will use your feedback to ensure future guests do not have the same experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alex Pulido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

1. Arrived two hours early and asked for early check in. My mom had been sick (hospital the night before) and had to lay down. All other parties were accomodated except us. We were not able to check in until 3 despite my mother's medical condition.
2. When I registered the rate was much higher than my confirmation amount on the email I received from Best Western. After 15 minutes of back and forth, the manager finally "agreed" to give me the rate I had. I corrected him and said this is the rate Best Western confirmed and again showed him the email from Best Western
3. We returned to our hotel the second night at 8:30 pm to find our room had not been cleaned-- no towels, soap, etc. Trash filled in the can. The manager was not around. We spoke to the manager the next day. He told us he would look into it. He left us a voicemail later in the day. He said that we lied and told the maid we did not want our room clean.
4. We saw the maid and asked her to clean our room earlier in the day. It was partially cleaned. The counters and tabletop were dirty, the carpet was partially cleaned and the bathroom floor was not cleaned.
5. The room itself was in disrepair- broken towel bar, torn pillows, torn wallpaper.
6. I called customer service for Best Western and they could not contact the hotel and would not resolve the issues-- after I spend 45 minutes on the phone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Best Western Grant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Grant Park, I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests, the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and value your feedback and should you return to Chicago, please contact me directly and I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and positive experience.

Sincerely,

Alex Pulido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#140 of 191 in Chicago
2,014 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 191 in Chicago
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $80 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing