We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but terrible elevator system”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #60 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel but terrible elevator system”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel but it has a strange computerized elevator system. There was often a crowd of waiting people at the lobby elevators. The computer assigned you to an elevator but there was one "old fashioned elevator" which people would grap when it came. Then the computerized elevators going up would still stop at each floor that someone had been assigned to. It is a way to get conversation going in an elevator - everyone was annoyed by the system! Although we enjoyed the hotel, I would not return because of the elevators.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,893
    1,191
    424
    197
    122
See reviews for
690
978
177
1,398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Took my niece downtown for college graduation & holiday shopping. Beautiful hotel, awesome room with a view of the lake & the river. Very accommodating staff, upon arrival through past check out! Purchased holiday shopping package and gift card had expired. Staff was quick to try to find a solution, ultimately crediting my account the difference so my stay was a a very good deal! We felt like we were on a special trip from the moment we arrived. Accommodations were clean, warm & inviting. I will definitely stay at the Swissotel again on my next trip to the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the view. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Arrived late evening on December 31, 2010. The hotel was full of energy and excitement with many guests coming and going. The staff was welcoming and very friendly. I mentioned to the evening manager that my wife and I were newlyweds and that this was the last evening of our honeymoon. Shortly after getting to our room, room service arrived with a complimentary bottle of champagne. " Thank You Alex & Staff " We had a wonderful evening dining and celebrating in the downtown area. The hotel was extremely clean and modern - a real pleasure and wonderful experience!! We'll be back again when it gets a bit warmer to take in the rest of the city sights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9yrsmarriedatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Congratulations on your marriage!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year’s holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel is right on the river and because of the triangular shape of the building corner rooms have a great panoramic view from the Wrigley building to Navy pier.

I didn't experience the slow elevators or the bad TV reception noted in other reviews. Thanks to some of those same reviews I didn't touch the minibar so no undue charges appeared on my bill. I do share the complaint of others that charging for an internet connection in this day and age is enough to make me seek alternative lodging options the next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our corner king room. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at the Swissotel from 30 Dec 10---03 Jan11 and stayed in the lake view room. The room was very spacious and it had the best view of the lake and Navy Pier. It was very nice waking every morning with the sun and seeing how the lights from Navy Pier with the ferris wheel and Lake Shore Drive come alive. You couldn't ask for a better view of the fireworks to ring in the New Year with the floor to ceiling windows. Everyone from the hostess at check in to housekeeping were very friendly. The room was very spacious, the bed was very comfortable but the pillows were a little to soft for our taste. The bathroom had a seperate shower and a soaking tub for those wonderful bubble baths. I was very disapointed that the internet and the gym were not free (which we didn't use because of it). I felt for the price and upscale of the hotel, those things should be free. If you don't mind doing a little walking, you can find just about anything to eat and things to do. If walking isn't your cup of tea, cabs are right outside and there is a bus line a block away. We love our city and can't wait until the summer to go back and play tourist again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPD004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Publc Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the view. I have reviewed your feedback about the health club and internet with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were quite pleased with this hotel. Great location, very comfortable, friendly, clean. My family and I arrived the day before New Year's Eve and it was very quiet. Of course on NYE people started pouring in. We were worried that they'd be overwhelmed but they seemed to have it all under control. We had no problems with the elevators or with checking out. The workout rooms and the equipment were very nice. The pool just ok. But overall very nice and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollywallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Promotions and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay over New Year’s Eve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at the Swissotel Chicago on Christmas day, and they upgraded us, for free, to one of their suites... and everything about the suite was fantastic! The customer service at checkin was great... they let us check in early along with the free upgrade. I will be staying again at the Swissotel Chicago when I return! Along with recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild4ChicagoHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
6,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4,837 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing