We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet hotel”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wycowboy
1 review
“Clean and quiet hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel was in a nice clean and quiet location for us. We were not right smack in the middle of the hustle and bustle which was o.k. for us. We had about a 20 minute walk to Navy Pier and Millenium Park. We had several meals at Fox Obel which is over the River and down about 2 blocks on your right. Their meals were fresh and delicious. The Hotel staff were professional, but the fornt desk was somewhat slow at check in. The Lobby bar does not serve food very late at night and we couldn't find any vending machines for soda or snacks, so stop at a nearby market before going in for the night. We did not even crack open the mini bar because the prices were outragous. We had a view of lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. We upgraded to a suite so the room was spacious. We did not hear much traffic from the street below. We booked this room through hotwire and got a good price. Park at one of the pay to park areas on the street or one of the public parking lots as the hotel parking is $ 52/day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wycowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

Your feedback is valuable as it allows us to continuously improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    1,263
    453
    210
    135
See reviews for
748
1,072
191
1,533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This hotel is a bit off the beaten track. It's on Wacker Dive between Columbus and Lake Shore Drive. My daughter and I stayed on the 16th floor. It was the July fourth weekend so the hotel was packed. The wait time for the elevators was a bit lengthy. We also had to wait about ten minutes for the baggage clerk to return from wherever it is he was. While we heard nothing from the people in the next room, we heard the elevators constanly until about midnight. It was quiet until about 5:00 A.M, but then the elevators began again in earnest. We did pay for an upgraded room so we had a spectacular view of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River, and Navy Pier. The hotel is within walking distance of Navy Pier but we took a cab to get to the John Hancock building. Also, the 42nd floor has some unexpected autographed jerseys and photos of some famous Chicago athletes. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, and so were the feather pillows and down comforters. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very spacious and well stocked with toilletrees. The concierge was friendly and helpful. We ordered room service for breakfast and were not disappointed. Though it was pretty costly, it was definitely worth it. We had the best scrambled eggs ever, some outstanding bacon, and they actually brought us a toaster so that we could toast our bread in our room. The OJ was freshly squeezed. The potatoes were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chudwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

Your feedback is valuable as it allows us to continuously improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2009

After reading some of the reviews, I will say that I am grateful my father and I did not share some of the horror stories some people had. My father and I were in town for four days from Los Angeles to catch a game at Wrigley Stadium, and the front desk and bar staff were all very friendly and accommodating, providing recommendations to us about the attractions, and transportation services. While we had to dispute some charges on the last day (they charged us for a meal that should have been complimentary and for moving items in the mini-refrigerator to store our own water), they were more than happy to remove the charges and apologized for the inconvenience. The hotel is across the street from the Chicago River and various boat tours, and is about a 15minute walk from Navy Pier. All of the trains, buses, shopping areas, bars, etc. are within walking distance from the hotel or a very short taxi ride away. Also, Giordano's Pizza is five minutes away from the hotel. HIGHLY recommend this fantastic pizza!!

Some of the drawbacks were the thin walls and not being able to rest comfortably when others were using the shower in your room or in another room, a very slippery shower after it was cleaned and no vending machines. Also, there were limited television channels and the charges for internet were ridiculous(I stood at a dingy hotel in NY and they had wireless internet service), but one should not go on vacation to surf the net or watch television anyway.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Can't beat the price and convenience!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseballGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My college roommate and I try to meet up once or twice a year for a trip and decided to hit Chicago over the July 4th weekend. I found a $99 rate at the Swissotel through Travelzoo so that made booking accomodations an easy choice. The location was super convenient for us...a quick walk to Grant Park for Taste of Chicago and the fireworks, the Art Institute, and nearby L stations to get us everywhere else as we were without a car (for which I was grateful based on the hotel's parking fees). Our room had two full beds which were very comfortable and we liked that we had a shower stall separate from the bath. Everything was very clean in our room...housekeeping took good care of us. The hotel was packed and we did hear quite a bit of noise from other guests but only when they were passing through the hallways...no big deal. What was a problem was the crazy wait time for the elevators. People were lined up halfway through the lobby a few times when we were passing through...luckily we were always on our way out when the lines were that bad so we didn't have to wait too long. Overall, I think the Swissotel is a perfectly nice facility and I feel like we got a good deal but I would never consider paying full price to stay there as you can get the same amenities and service at lower rates elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Loved this hotel, great view from the pool on the roof, and looked like the fitness centre was well looked after.
Breakfast was amazing, good location with good views looking over Navy Pier.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerplus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

When we checked in we were offered an upgrade for a room with a view. Since it cost more we declined and had a room on the 16th floor on the side facing away from the river. Our view was just wonderful. It overlooked a park and the new Aqua building. We could also see the marina and the Natural History Museum.

The room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the single-serving coffee/tea appliance. We were charged for mini-bar items even though we had only opened the refrigerator to put our own water bottles in to be chilled, so be sure to check your bill before checking out if you do this. The hotel took the false charges off immediately when we mentioned it.

The Geneva restaurant had delicious breakfasts.

Location was convenient for picking up bus and boat tours and walking to the Navy Pier and the Mag Mile.

We were disappointed that the internet service was not free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at the Swissotel from July 1 – 5, 2009. We got a superb rate by taking advantage of the hotel’s price match/beat policy and a rate found on Orbitz.com . Our four night stay ended up costing $320 US including taxes.

Check-in was smooth. I had called ahead to request a high floor and a view of Grant Park. I had hoped that we could see some of the fireworks on July 3rd from our room (30th floor). I asked the check-in clerk if this would be possible and he said that even from the high floors, there would be obstructed views.

The room itself was nice but not spotless. There was garbage under the desk, the capsule in the coffee maker from the previous user was still in the coffee maker, and our bed sheet had a hole in it (about 1” long). Oddly, we weren’t given any shampoo either – just conditioner. There was a container on the bathroom counter meant for cotton balls, swabs, etc. and it was empty for the duration of our stay. Not a huge deal since we use our own toiletries but I expected more for a hotel of this calibre.

Surprisingly, we saw the July 3rd fireworks quite clearly from our room – beats having to fight the crowds on street level. And we were able to watch the fireworks over Navy Pier on both Wednesday and Saturday from the window right outside the elevators on our floor.

HD TV is a nice touch but analog channels was a bit odd. I needed ice every night to store some drinks we bought at the CVS next door; the hotel ice machines are not on all floors. And no machine had ice on July 4th! Apparently, the hotel was charging $5 for in-room ice delivery that night. (PULEEZE!)

From a location perspective, the hotel wasn’t all that centrally located to the Loop or Mag Mile or the train stations. We took the bus (#6 – right @ the corner of Wacker and Columbus) a lot since this was very efficient. There are very little amenities near the hotel – except for the newly opened CVS next door and the Bockwinkels near the Fairmont (on Stetson). It was frustrating to spend a day shopping on Mag Mile, then come back to the hotel to dump off bags, have a shower, and then head back out again to Mag Mile for dinner.

The concierge and service line were both just okay. No greeting when you called them (Westin, Hilton, Marriott all greet you by your name when you call) and the service was fine but indifferent. No maps/tourist booklets were readily available.

I would give another Swissotel a try in another location but if I returned to Chicago, I would stay elsewhere as location is really important for us. But, for the price we paid, there is very little to complain about!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,689 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
5,017 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,090 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing