We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location, beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beach Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed with my husband and daughter on July 4th. Walking distance to Navy Pier where we spent the day. Perfect location to Riverwalk. We didn't want to fight the crowds for fireworks. Paid for the king corner upgrade. Totally worth it! Perfect view of navy pier, fireworks, the river. Beautiful! The Geneva was a pricey breakfast but convenient. I do like that kids were free, go off the menu. Cheaper than the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sldalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're so glad you visited this past weekend! Thanks for your kind words on the view, as well as the location. Looking forward to having you back the next time you're in town!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,757
    1,155
    410
    196
    118
See reviews for
652
933
169
1,318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked through priceline for a king size bed, arrived at the hotel, and were told that we were "upgraded" to a hospitality suite. Their hospitality suite is actually more like a conference room with a pull out bed available and was a downgrade, not an upgrade. We asked to switch rooms to what we had originally booked and were told that the hotel had was completely booked except for one room available, so we were given a room with 2 full size beds (no queen sizes, only full size double rooms).

The room we were given smelled overwhelmingly like garlic. We were then switched (despite being told earlier that the hotel had no other available rooms) to the room next door, which still smelled like garlic, albeit slightly better than the first. At this point, the hotel offered 2 drink tickets as compensation, but we informed them that we did not drink and would rather have the ticket value applied towards our valet parking.

In the morning, I received the folio which contained the full amount for the valet parking, despite what we had discussed the previous evening. There was no record in their computer system of having given us any credit towards parking, which they then claimed was managed by a 3rd party and so could not help us.

All in all, an extremely disappointing experience in what should be a luxury hotel, but instead was a lying, untrustworthy management (from front desk to their managerial level, there was deception and incompetence all the way). We will never stay in this hotel ever again, nor in any of its other locations and we hope other travelers will take heed of our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenningsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I'm very sorry that you felt misled during your stay with us. I want to assure you that every guest's needs are our top priority, and I apologize if you didn't get that impression. Please feel free to give me a call if you have any additional feedback or questions. Would love to help make things right!

Sincerely,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was a GREAT hotel!!! They had everything we needed all in one place and only 3 blocks from Michigan Ave. We were close to eveything and the view was amazing!! Will dstay here again on our annual Girls weekend trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Veydra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your fun girls weekend trip, Veydra! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to having you back next year.

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We travelled with a group booking which should have made check in easier but it was not. First no room found, than finally straightened out after 15 minutes. Billing process went wrong as well so it took me afterwards several emails to sort it out (which happened in the end).
My expectation on Swissotel was higher I have to admit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about the difficulty you experienced when checking in. Thanks for reaching out about your experience, and I'll definitely look into ways to avoid this kind of thing in the future. I hope the rest of your trip went well, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your visit to Chicago.

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice hotel, staff were friendly, rooms and views were great. The workout room, pool and spa are fantastic! I did not like the fact that the onsite restaurant prices were no where to be found so I avoided them, this typically means HIGH prices. I was happy to participate in their "Green" program where you do not have the maid come in and you are supposed to get a $5 a day credit. Where the credit can be used is as clear as mud, so I did not get to use mine. :( The in room hotel information needs some work it lacked basic information on a lot of things, but I like to know the details like prices and how programs work. Good location right by the lake!

Room Tip: All rooms had a good view no need to upgrade to a corner room as far as I could tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, Lori! I really appreciate your kind words on the rooms and service, and I wish you'd gotten the chance to use your dining credit. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and I look forward to having you back again soon!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Swissotel is a beautiful hotel with great staff and beautiful comfortable rooms. Location makes it easy to get to many venues in Chicago. Concierge and doormen went out of their way to help us as first time visitors to this great city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words, Gary! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to your next visit. Wishing you the best in the meantime!

Safe travels,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend because my niece was getting married. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel, especially if you wanted to be walking distance from Navy Pier. Great views!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your recommendation! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us while visiting for such a special occasion. Hope you'll be back soon!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,082 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#62 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#82 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,803 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing