We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Chicago
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$282
$206
Sofitel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$263
$231
Hilton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$189
Hilton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$428
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,787)
Filter reviews
4,787 results
Traveler rating
2,487
1,396
510
232
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,487
1,396
510
232
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnavy pierthe rivercorner roommillennium parklobby barmichigan avefitness centerper daybusiness tripbeautiful hotelthe magnificent mileking bedvalet parkingthe loopmag milekeenan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,671 - 2,676 of 4,787 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The rooms have a A/C system that shuts off when you leave the room and or goes to a warmer setting automatically. Also the system has a motion sensor that shuts the unit off when you are sleeping as there is no movement in the room. So I had a very warm room and several bad nights of sleep due to it. I had to wake up several times just to get the blower working so at least to get it to work for a few minutes. I don't understand if your paying for the room and you cant adjust the room comfort level to your liking. I think they have taken energy saving to a level that is determent to the guest. So if your going to be staying in the very warm months in the summer I would avoid staying at this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank JanathD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

I'm so sorry to hear that this happened on your visit, Janath, and I hope you brought this up with our staff. We want every guest to feel very comfortable while staying with us, and we're sorry that you didn't get the best night's sleep. Please feel free to call me at the number below if you'd like to discuss your experience any further. Thanks for staying with us, and we wish you safe travels.

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great Staff. Great room with a nice view of the Navy Pier. Good bed. Nice bathroom.
The food in the restaurants Amuse and Geneva was good albeit pricey and the wait staff was pleasant but not very prompt.
If we were to want to stay in the loop again we would stay here again.
We did not try the pool or exercise room.

Room Tip: Park in the Coast Parking garage just East of the Hotel. It was $37 versus $65 for the valet parking.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thanks for staying with us while in town, Indy! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, as well as the rooms. Can't wait to have you back the next time you're wanting to stay in the Loop!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My sister lives in chicago so I have been to about every hotel up and down michigan avenue. There are many nice hotels but the service at swissotel just takes the experience to a new level. It is pricey but worth it for complete relaxation. You contact the front desk for assistance and it happens, period. Every employee on the property is knowledgable and helpful. The view of the chicago river and the lake are great and you are right in downtown for all michigan avenue shopping and pier/lake fun. It has a steakhouse in the lobby that is fine, but the finest restaurants in the city are within easy cab reach. We always get one of the larger suites so I can't comment about the other rooms, but they are super clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentuckyken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

It means so much to hear that you've been impressed with our service! Thanks for the kind review after staying with us when visiting your sister. Can't wait to have you back to take in the spectacular views from one of our rooms in the future!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although this hotel is a little pricey, the views and rooms are beyond expectations! Our room was exceptional! You can see the Navy Pier and river walk.
The hotel staff is impeccable! Everyone was helpful and concerned with our stay!


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Vegasblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the compliments on the staff, as well as your room. Can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ok hotel, was nice, but nothing outstanding.
However, could improve to provide free wifi!!!
The Geneva restaurant was expensive too!
The positives: friendly staff, very comfortable bed, convenient location in the Loop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank JYtripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

I wish we could've wowed you on your visit, but I appreciate your feedback on everything from the staff to the location. Thanks for leaving your feedback, and I hope you'll consider returning to stay with us again!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews