We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
1 review
“Staycation”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I won a discounted stay on Twitter and am from Chicago. The hotel has a prime view of Chicago and is nestled by the riverfront and Millennium Park. Mariano's, a grocery store, is also close by. We parked in a parking garage because valet was 40 dollars more. Best things: Big cozy bed, modern decor, good sound barrier (there were kids next door), nice hotel lounge downstairs, friendly staff, easy checkout. Needs improvement: 15 bucks for WiFi, come on really? Crappy service for our phones.WiFi should be free!!!!

Overall though, great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, Kathlyn! I'm so glad to hear you found your room so cozy and comfortable. As for our WiFi, please know that it's free when you sign up for our free rewards program, Swissôtel Circle. It's also free for any guest in our lobby. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you're planning a staycation!

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    1,243
    446
    207
    133
See reviews for
722
1,048
187
1,516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The rooms were very clean, and the hotel was nice. It's a great location, but the front desk staff was not very helpful. My wife made the reservation, so when I tried to check in, they almost wouldn't let me! The charged me a $200 deposit so I could get in the room, citing "safety". They explained my wife may be cheating on me, and she would need to check in later to confirm its ok to let me in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you found your room clean and comfortable and appreciated our central location. As far as our front desk service, unfortunately for legal reasons we can only allow guests to check in where the name matches the reservation exactly. We institute this policy with our guests' safety and personal belongings in mind. I hope you understand. I'd be happy to discuss this with you in more detail at the number below.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited the property on Christmas Day. Had an excellent time using the pool and gym. The bed was absolutely amazing and couldn't complain about the view.

Had issues with cleanliness of the hotel. The ice machine on the 40th floor was out of service so I had to travel to the 37th floor. Once I got back to the room and prepared a drink, I noticed there was black mold on all of the ice cubes. Definately a health violation that the ice machines weren't being properly cleaned. Had to go outside of the hotel to buy ice for our drinks.

The pool/ gym area was fantasic except for the men's locker room. The floor was covered in used towels and the sauna room had garbage littered around the wood floors. The showers had mold on the floor tile and walls. Doesn't seem like anyone was attending the locker rooms the day we stayed.

Overall, it was a nice visit but I'm not sure if I would stay again due to some of the issues I described above.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Anthony,

Thank you for letting me know about your experience. While I'm delighted to hear you found your bed so comfortable and appreciated the view from your room, I sincerely apologize for the ice machines. We listen to our guests, which is why we've already made plans to replace all our ice machines. We hope to complete this project by the end of the month. As for our gym, I'll be sure to address your feedback with the staff to make sure the common space is more properly maintained. If you have any other suggestions for us to improve, please feel free to contact me at the number below.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our experience staying at the Swissotel was great. The service was great and our rooms were lovely. We had a great stay. It is just a few block walk away from Millennium park and shopping as well as the Navy Pier (we had a great view from our hotel room).
But, if I was to visit again, I recommend staying closer to the Magnificent Mile. Lots more shops and restaurants in the North End. We spent most of our time taking the train away from the loop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I'm happy to hear you had a great stay! It's our goal to offer our guests exceptional service, so I'm glad that's what you experienced. As you mentioned, we're located right by the Chicago River and Millenium Park, two of Chicago's most famous attractions. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you're in town.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The front desk was formal but friendly. We were checking in a 4 am do to a very late arrival do to weather. We got a very nice king room facing the lake. The room was good sized with a nice setting chair and a good sized desk for working on. Nice bathroom with separate tub and shower. The noon check out time worked well for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Brian,

Thanks so much for recommending us on Yelp. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our central location. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago!

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol2442
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A++++ customer service. Clean room, good pillows, firm bedding, great view, excellent location!! Loved the separate shower and tub. They greet you from the time you "approach" front door. Food was delicious! Elevators are trendy and super fast. It was a great experience, Loved it!!! Great job Swissotel!! I'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much, Carol! I'm thrilled to hear you experienced A++++ customer service from the moment you arrived. I'll be sure to pass along your kind message to the staff. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best wishes,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

id read great reviews on this place prior to booking, and it was also the choice of my guest. so i was pretty excited to check the place it out. its def a unique shaped builiding. checking in was a breeze. i booked my reservation thru bookit.com almost 6 weeks in advance with the special request of a certain view (since i had the panoramic view room) id asked the rep if id gotten that prior to going to my room and she'd said yes. i never went to my room after checking in, i pretty much just stopped in to check in. i didnt return until almost two in the morning to realize id gotten the complete oppisite view i requested lol. at that point i just felt it was too late to complain. so i didnt really bother. the other issue i had was my washroom blinds were wide open and when i decided to shower i also noticed my blinds were broken so i couldnt close em. the place was nice. the people were friendly and of course location is golden. but i probably wouldnt return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank JessiCakes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Considering you were so excited to stay with us, I'm disheartened to hear you just had an average experience. I sincerely apologize you didn't get the view you wanted, especially since you requested it so far in advance. I'll be sure to investigate the issue to find out why your request slipped through the cracks. If you'd like to discuss your concerns directly with me, please call me at the number below.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,615 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,975 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,038 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing