We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Had a Problem Here???”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #60 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never Had a Problem Here???”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I don't understand the bad reviews??? I've been staying at this hotel for years while attending an annual conference in Chicago and have never had a bad experience. I didn't find it noisy (although, I did grow up in NYC) and if you join the Swiss Club (at no charge) you get free WiFi and use of the health club. My room was clean and the bed was comfy. I did notice this time that they removed the mini-bars from the room but did leave the refridgerators (which I prefer to have for my own purchased beverages) and now offer a small convenience store in the lobby which was not "over the top" expensive. I did upgrade to a corner suite for $60/night and had an amazing view of both the city and the lake (Navy Pier). The staff is always pleasant (as I'm sure you'd have to be with the many pushy European guests) and the only complaint I had was my hair dryer wasn't very hot but they brought me another one. This hotel is in walking distance to Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier and many restaurants (as long as the weather cooperates!). The Palm Restaurant on the premises is fabulous...and the health club is pretty decent for a hotel.

Just not sure why so many negative reviews on Trip Advisor???

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Alexama,

Thank you so much for supporting us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us whenever you're in town. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciate their friendly and attentive service. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    1,198
    424
    198
    124
See reviews for
695
988
180
1,429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waldron
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. We felt a little out of place, it seemed more for the business person than for the average family. Great location. Staff was very friendly. Room service was a little too pricey.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, John. We want all our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed, whether they're here for a business trip or a family vacation. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago!

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wow. What a joke. I felt like there was an employee lurking around every corner trying to reach in your pocket. The only time I used the phone in the room was to call the hotel itself. I was charged $1.50 to call the front desk each time. At $293.00 a night, this is ridiculous. They don't give you free in room wifi. The free stuff is only in the lobby. $15 per day for in room wifi. $24 per day if you want high speed. It's $15 per day to use the pool. I thought hotel pools were included in stays? What a joke. My wife made an appointment at the spa, for an over inflated price but the spa called back and had to reschedule for an hour later because the person who was going to be doing the service was running late. An hour later, she goes up to the spa and no one is even there. After waiting 15 minutes. She left. They did refund the gift certificate but ultimately, my wife wanted to be pampered on vacation. They didn't try to go out of there way to make things right either. Just blamed it on the people who work at the spa. $8.00 for a bottle of water in room. I'm surprised they didn't charge me for the K Cups in the room. Their 24/Seven convenience shop is convenient if you don't mind paying $5.00 for a bottle of water that costs less than two normally.

I will never stay at a Swissotel again. I couldn't believe what I was being charged for every step of the way. At almost $300 a night, this is ridiculous. The view wasn't worth the price. What a joke.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w_joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Joshua,

I'm deeply troubled by your review. The last thing I want is for our guests to feel like we're nickeling and diming them. We price certain amenities separately in order to keep our base rates competitive. That way, guests only pay for services they actually use.

I also apologize for your wife's spa appointment. I agree that it's unprofessional to run that late. Do you mind letting me know when you stayed with us? I want to discuss your experience with Wincy City Spa to find out what went wrong. I'd also like to personally make things right with you.

Hope to hear back from you soon,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The sound insulation in my room was poor and I could hear the elevator as well as my neighbors. Make sure you don't get a room next to the elevator shaft. Also, I could hear every noise from the neighboring room, even when they were running the AC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Felix,

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy a comfortable and restful stay with us. Do you mind letting me know which room you stayed in? I want to personally investigate how noisy it is in that room. And please note that we always try to relocate guests who are uncomfortable, pending that we have rooms available.

Hope to hear back from you soon,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed four nights at the hotel. A few things really annoyed me. The cost of WiFi is a minimum of $14.95 per day. When asked if we wanted to upgrade to a bigger room and have the WiFi fee waived, we agreed. For about $50.00 extra per night we ended up with a room with really no view - we looked right into an office building and a condo block. If you stood at the edge of a window, you could see the river and, on the other side, the lake. It was necessary to close all the drapes to have privacy at night.

I discovered a black dirty travel sock at the back of the closet. I just left it there and hope that someone cleans the room and removes it. There was dirt on the carpet - a piece of black fluff - that was there the first day and still there when we left. I guess the vacuum didn't work. There was mould in the bathroom. It looked like water damage from the room above so the ceiling was starting to grow mould. The glass topped end tables were not cleaned with a spray as I had put a greasy hand on the table, left my finger prints, and they were still there two days later. We had trouble getting the coffee maker to work - it was really simple once you understood that the blinking blue light meant you had to press the button - right away. Maybe some more instructions. The clock radio was the same issue - we could not figure a way to set the clock to the right time. I guess a previous guest had had the same issue. We had to ask on the first day and the second day for someone to set the clock properly. Although the first lobby service person took a note of our room, he must have tossed the paper as soon as we left the building. To figure out the time we had to deduct 1 hour and 12 minutes from what was on display. ARG!!!

On the positive side - most of the staff were very friendly (beside the guy at the Bell Service desk), (the young woman with long straight brown hair is the one to find at the lobby desk - she was terrific) the location was great for getting around and the WiFi worked all the time. I would not upgrade without seeing the room first. You might end up in the back corner and look into offices and condos. The bed, for me was wonderful and for my husband too soft. I was happy to note that you could really change the temperature in the room. At night we like it very cool and we got the room to below 70 with no problem.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade without seeing the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevieveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Genevieve,

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Had we known you wanted a view of the river or lake, we would've done our best to upgrade you to a room with a better view. I'm also alarmed to hear that you saw mold in your bathroom. We clean every room very thoroughly. Do you mind calling me to let me know which room you stayed in? I want to address your experience directly with the housekeeping staff.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. The room and view of Navy Pier was excellent. Bed was absolutely a dream to sleep on. The bar in the lobby was very nice, service was a little slow, but a great atmosphere! Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks Lindsey! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed such a restful night's sleep. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our 1st time in Chicago and even though it felt like a business hotel, we enjoyed our stay! The hotel was clean, staff friendly, food was good & the gym/pool area was an added bonus! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Debbie,

I'm happy to hear your first time visiting Chicago was a great experience! I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly service. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#68 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,876 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing