We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great views ”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday. I booked through Hotwire so I wasn't sure where I was staying until after it was booked. I was pleased when I found out where is was. It is in an excellent location. It was within walking distances of most attractions, if not it was just a short can ride away. I have stayed in the city several times and this is my favorite place to date. I will return on my next adventure to the city.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Hali1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for celebrating the occasion with us. I'm honored to know we're your favorite hotel in Chicago. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,862 - 2,868 of 4,620 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

They raised the cost for one of their standard rooms twice in the same conversation. Yes, they quoted me a price; I said yes; they then would not honor that price. This happened twice! Not an honest way to do business.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank surfjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

I'm sincerely sorry for the confusion regarding our room rates. It was absolutely not our intention to raise our prices unfairly. Do you mind letting me know what happened in more detail? I want to discuss your experience with the staff and make things right with you. Please call me whenever you get a chance.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We would definitely stay again if/when we return to Chicago.
We stayed at this particular hotel due to a deal we got through Porter airlines, and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a lake-view room, from which we could see the river and the Navy Pier, too. The room was lovely, with a very good quality bed and mattress. Because what is the #1 reason we stay at a hotel? - to sleep!
And the location was perfect, just a block or 2 up from Michigan Avenue, on the south side of the river. It's close to restaurants, shopping, and tourist sights.
The only (slight) negative was that the free wifi was only in the lobby, and very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you Carol! We want all our guests to be pleasantly surprised by our exceptional service and quality rooms. As you mentioned, it's so important for our guests to enjoy a restful night's sleep in our rooms.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was very impressed with the rooms and how quiet they were. Plus the views with wall to wall, floor to ceiling windows on multiple sides of the room! Bathroom was spacious and robe was comfy. Wish I could have stayed longer! Only complaint was they had non-dairy creamer in the room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank AdrienneAnnArbor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you! I'm thrilled to hear you were so impressed. Knowing that you wished you could've stayed longer is the best compliment. I hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for business, and would definitely return. The hotel is located on the Chicago River, so make sure to bring a jacket, because it gets windy! It's an easy walk to Michigan Avenue, or any of the downtown/loop restaurants/shops, but a cheap cab ride may be preferable in light of the wind/cold.

The hotel itself is very nice and luxurious. The lobby is spacious, and it's got a great lobby bar where people easily assemble at high tables or comfy oversized chairs.

My room was very spacious, modern, and clean, with big windows overlooking the river and Lake Michigan. The front desk staff were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for recommending us! I'm delighted to hear you thought our hotel was spacious, modern and luxurious. That's exactly the experience we want to offer to all our guests. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I would not hesitate to stay there again if business takes me to Chicago. The hotel is in a great downtown location right next to the river. My room was large, quiet, clean and cool (which was my choice). The bed was great and I had a nice workspace with fast in room WIFI. It also had an in room safe and a complementary umbrella which was nice since it rained really heavy on one of the days I was there for a conference.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I purchased our stay at the Swissotel on a deal site as a mystery hotel. I was nervous about it up until we pulled up to the beautiful tower that faces the Chicago River just steps away from Michigan Avenue. The moment we arrived we were treated like we were the most important guests there. This isn't always the case when you purchase your rooms on deal sites some hotels treat you differently. Swissotel was a beauty inside and out. We were able to check in at one in the afternoon which was great! Our luggage was taken straight from our car to our room. We were able to upgrade to a corner King (again something that a lot of hotels won't offer if you purchased the room via third party) and the views were spectacular! It was our first trip to Chicago and Swissotel went out of our way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The room service while pricey was amazing and prompt. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The concierge Angela was so helpful and friendly. The only complaint we had was the disappointing meal we had at one of the hotel restaurants. Steer clear of the Palm restaurant and you should be fine! This hotel was true luxury and we will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Corner Kings offer most of the amenities that most suites would. The higher the floor the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,134 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#77 of 192 in Chicago
5,163 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,258 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing