We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gimme an "H"!”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gimme an "H"!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was staying in Chicago for 3 nights for Riot Fest. We elected the Swissotel because it was lauded for its location and view. The location was not quick walking distance to anything but a Hullihans or whatever that chain restaurant was on that block (did not serve food past 12 on a weekend). The closest place for a drink and late night bite was about 15-20 minutes walking distance. The Otel staff was great, really friendly. The room was adequate. **Note: The way the river cuts through and the bridge location seams to handcuff the Hotel away from range. Also be weary of the different street levels if driving to it. A GPS will mislead because of the double decker streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you just had an average experience with us. While we can't change our location, we're open to any suggestions you have for us to improve. If you'd like to share your feedback with me, please don't hesitate to call me at the number below.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,044
    1,235
    442
    207
    131
See reviews for
717
1,040
186
1,509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunlap
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel pictures portray what describes this hotel: somewhere stuck in the past. Do not be taken in by the brilliant lobby and common area pictures. The beds in my room had massive dips in their centers and I kept waking up from rolling back to the center of the dip. The fridge had no freezer, room service wanted roughly $30 for a cheese pizza, and parking was twice the price (about $64) than the Embassy Suites just two blocks over. View from window on the 23rd floor was of empty office suites in the neighboring tower. Very poor value and very poor sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
John,

I'm truly sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We outfit all our rooms with high quality beds and modern, convenient amenities. In fact, our bedding is so often raved about, we opened a Swissotel Home store so people could purchase the sheets, pillows, etc. for their homes. Do you mind letting me know what room you stayed in? When you get a chance, please call me at the number below. I look forward to hearing your feedback directly.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Swissotel was clean and all employees were very friendly. The location is great and the view from my room was excellent. Room was very nicely appointed, although not all TV channels were offered in HD. Chicken club from room service was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Jamie! From the chicken club sandwich to our friendly service, I'm happy to hear your overall experience was pleasant. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is stunning from the outside & is in a great location. BUT it is very expensive & the rooms are small. Location, Location, Location....they have it right. I did have a great view of the river from my room as well. It's a good hotel but not a great one like they promote it to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Beth,

It's nice to know you appreciate our central and convenient location. From our modern rooms to our attentive service, we try to offer our guests the best Chicago has to offer. If you have any suggestions for us to improve, please don't hesitate to reach me at the number below.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is steps away from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile and the Chicago River tour stops. Helpful and friendly service. Clean and one that we would visit again. The views of the river and Michigan Ave are great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Joseph,

I'm glad you had a wonderful stay with us! I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their helpful and friendly service. Hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful hotel, but the room was awesome. Had the king corner room, what a view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier along with the river and the city. Great bed, very clean room, nice bathroom and shower, had a great experience and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Charles! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view of Lake Michigan from your room. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at Swissotel recently because my nearby conference hotel was booked. While I chose Swissotel primarily because of proximity and price, it turned out to be one of my better hotel experiences, and I would choose it again over that particular conference hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, the lobby was pleasant and lively, and there were plenty of elevators. My room was well appointed, particularly with modern electrical outlets for laptop and phone and large working area, and the bed and linens were top quality and very comfortable. I like using public transit and the location is a bit of a walk from the CTA loop, but it has good access for cabs and offers a lovely view of the river and lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Katherine,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Knowing that you would choose to stay with us again is the best compliment. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and efficient service. Considering you appreciated our high quality linens, please know that we offer them for sale on our online store.

Hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
4,963 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing