We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggested choice for a very good stay”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Suggested choice for a very good stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've been for three days and we loved this place. The most amazing thing is that is very difficult to have a bad view from your room. The location is great, the structure even better. The service was very good. Our room was big, comfortable, and clean. I totally suggest you to stay in this hotel. Why not the maximum rating? Just because there is not free internet in the room (sorry, but in a big hotel in a big city in the 2013...I want free internet in the room) and we didn't have the breakfast included....but the rest was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to know that on the whole, you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and comfortable. Just to note: there is complimentary WiFi in the lobby (no password needed) while we look into revamping our in-room Internet options. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,242
    444
    207
    133
See reviews for
721
1,046
187
1,514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved the hotel, it was in a excellent location with a great view of the city on the 37Th floor. The rooms were clean and very up to date. I will be staying here next time and I highly recommend Swissotel Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Kody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for recommending us, Kody! I'm glad to know you had a great experience, and I look forward to your next stay.

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First, I would like to state that I am usually a budget hotel traveler and usually do not stay in this high star of a hotel. I thought everything was very nice and service was great. However, there is absolutely nothing included in the price other than the room. You have to pay $15 extra to use the pool and exercise room, the water bottle in the room is $8 and so on and so on. So if you are like me and expect to have some extras included be prepared to pay extra or just go without. The location is about central for all the activities we want to do(Mag. Mile, Navy Pier, Millennium Park).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. While I'm glad you appreciated our central location and experienced helpful service, I'm sorry you were put off by the cost of several of our amenities. Rather than raising our rates for everyone, we allow our guests to decide whether or not they want to pay for specific amenities. We believe this is the most fair approach. If you have any alternative ideas or suggestions, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenstein-ernstthal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great Hotel with good facilities, situated in the heart of Chicago viewing the Chicago River & Michigan Sea. If you use the spa or the gym, you will have an amazing view througt a big front of glass! Thank you also the whole Team of the Hotel, who has done a very good Job! .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Carsten,

Thank you for your kind recommendation. It was our pleasure making sure you had a wonderful stay. Hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon!

Take care,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel was so-so at best. I take that back... The view was wonderful (overlooking the river and Navy Pier). Everything else was... "meh." The hotel is definitely showing its age, it's time for renovations to the rooms (carpet worn, rust stain around shower drain). Service was polite but not warm or accommodating. They had rooms available for upgrade but weren't willing to do it without a $90 charge (originally quoted me $130 for the upgrade, then came down to $90), despite the fact that we had paid full-price (an exorbitant $370!) for our room. The bathroom was quite dirty (hair kept showing up in corner after corner! in the drain, next to the toilet, under the sink). The kids enjoyed the pool because it was so shallow, but the water was very cold. The concierge recommended a pizza place for delivery, but the pizza was terrible. We typically stay around the corner at the Radisson Blu Aqua, which is a MUCH better experience (they were booked for the week we were in town). We have stayed in many Chicago hotels over the years (Radisson Blue Aqua, Palomar, Blackstone Renaissance, Sofitel, among others) and this was our least favorite hotel by far. Not recommended unless you get some amazing deal, certainly not for $300+.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and Navy Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichTravelerKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. While I'm glad you appreciated your room's picturesque view, I'm sorry you were underwhelmed by the rest of your experience. Had we known about the issues experienced during your stay, we certainly would have addressed the concerns right away. Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and will use it to better serve our guests going forward. If you'd like to let us know more about your stay, please call me at: 312-268-8100

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the very moment we arrived by cab from the airport, we were greeted with smiles and professional service providers.. Erica at the front desk immediately made my wife and I feel so welcome.. She provided us with a wonderful room ... This place exceeded our expectations of a nice, upscale hotel..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi William,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to know you experienced friendly and professional service from the moment you walked through our doors. It's our goal to make all our guests feel just as welcomed as you. I'll be sure to pass along your message to Erica. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon.

Best wishes,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We sayed here in Feburary and although it was FREEZING outside, this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. Very accomodating staff when we had to leave unexpectedly and cancel one night. Our room had beautiful views of Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. We loved the pool and work out area as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all4hockey54r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Considering you stayed with us in February, I'm pleased to know you still have such fond memories. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Chicago - perhaps for a warmer weather summer trip!

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,604 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,973 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,029 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing