We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so-so, definitely not a luxury hotel”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel was so-so at best. I take that back... The view was wonderful (overlooking the river and Navy Pier). Everything else was... "meh." The hotel is definitely showing its age, it's time for renovations to the rooms (carpet worn, rust stain around shower drain). Service was polite but not warm or accommodating. They had rooms available for upgrade but weren't willing to do it without a $90 charge (originally quoted me $130 for the upgrade, then came down to $90), despite the fact that we had paid full-price (an exorbitant $370!) for our room. The bathroom was quite dirty (hair kept showing up in corner after corner! in the drain, next to the toilet, under the sink). The kids enjoyed the pool because it was so shallow, but the water was very cold. The concierge recommended a pizza place for delivery, but the pizza was terrible. We typically stay around the corner at the Radisson Blu Aqua, which is a MUCH better experience (they were booked for the week we were in town). We have stayed in many Chicago hotels over the years (Radisson Blue Aqua, Palomar, Blackstone Renaissance, Sofitel, among others) and this was our least favorite hotel by far. Not recommended unless you get some amazing deal, certainly not for $300+.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and Navy Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichTravelerKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. While I'm glad you appreciated your room's picturesque view, I'm sorry you were underwhelmed by the rest of your experience. Had we known about the issues experienced during your stay, we certainly would have addressed the concerns right away. Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and will use it to better serve our guests going forward. If you'd like to let us know more about your stay, please call me at: 312-268-8100

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,161 - 3,167 of 4,625 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the very moment we arrived by cab from the airport, we were greeted with smiles and professional service providers.. Erica at the front desk immediately made my wife and I feel so welcome.. She provided us with a wonderful room ... This place exceeded our expectations of a nice, upscale hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi William,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to know you experienced friendly and professional service from the moment you walked through our doors. It's our goal to make all our guests feel just as welcomed as you. I'll be sure to pass along your message to Erica. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon.

Best wishes,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We sayed here in Feburary and although it was FREEZING outside, this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. Very accomodating staff when we had to leave unexpectedly and cancel one night. Our room had beautiful views of Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. We loved the pool and work out area as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank all4hockey54r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Considering you stayed with us in February, I'm pleased to know you still have such fond memories. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Chicago - perhaps for a warmer weather summer trip!

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here with co-workers while attending a conference. The hotel is comfortable and is close to other large hotels so you can choose a different place to have breakfast each day. It faces the Chicago river which is also nice and had a bus service towards the conference which was convenient. Good stay if you are traveling on business.

Room Tip: High up, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiana2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review Christiana. I'm happy to know you found your room comfortable and appreciated our convenient location. Please be sure to keep us in mind the next time you're in town, we would love to offer you a social media discount.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Service was average HD was out so we had limited channels. I have stayed at this hotel many times and have yet to receive recognition. When we asked for a good dining choice we were sent to a very over priced mediocre place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Brooks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Brooks,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Considering you've stayed with us several times, I'm disheartened to hear you've found our service unhelpful. The last thing we want is for our guests to feel like they're not recognized or appreciated. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve, please let me know. You can email me directly at marc.wawrin@swissotel.com.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel, in a perfect location overlooking the canal. Spacious rooms and very clean. Location permits an easy walk to the entire city. Very enjoyable stay. Helpful staff. Easy check-in and check-out. Only knock is that they charge a ton to park your car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you, Paul! I'm delighted to know you found our hotel convenient, clean and spacious. It was our pleasure hosting you, and I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago.

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Definitely worth the money. Friendly staff, comfortable bed, and delicious flavored water in the lobby. Room was clean and the elevators were pretty cool. Close to downtown. Wonderful stay all around!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you, Brian! We work hard to make sure all our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay. That's why we pay attention to all the small details, like our complimentary flavored water and our efficiency elevators. It's nice to know you appreciate them.

The next time you visit Chicago, be sure to keep us in mind and we'll keep the water cold.

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 191 in Chicago
5,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 191 in Chicago
7,145 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#77 of 191 in Chicago
5,165 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 191 in Chicago
2,260 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $117 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing