We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in room 3401 on Friday April 12- Sun April 14 after getting a super deal on Hotwire.com. Our room had a wonderful view of Navy Pier. Couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. One thing that is really nice is there is an empty refrigerator so you can buy sodas etc at the gift shop or bring your own in. The hotel is beautiful with great service at the front desk as well as valet and concierge. We had lunch and evening drinks at Amuse and had great service from Marianna. Also our housekeeper, who has worked there for 19 years was nice and did a great job. The pool is large for a hotel pool and the workout area is very large. Great location and service and amazing views!!!!! Would go back in a heartbeat!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillsmail1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Jillsmail1208,

It is our pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room during your visit. Also thank you very much for kind compliments regarding our services. We are excited to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,105 - 3,111 of 4,479 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Swissotel made our family vacation to Chicago very special. Wonderful suite with the best views in town. Bernard, the concierge, provided us with exceptional service. The entire staff makes this hotel worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pros: Good service (despite the front desk folks being somewhat inexperienced)
Fast (but expensive) room service
Great bed and linens
Cons: No minibar in rooms - have to buy sodas and snacks at the lobby gift shop
No shaving mirror or towel bars in the bathroom
The only restaurant in the hotel is the Palm Steakhouse. There is a bar in the lobby where you can get light food, but it comes out marked on your bill as a liquor purchase.

Room Tip: A high, lakeview room gives you a partially obstructed view of the Navy pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabandrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Sabandrusty,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments about your recent visit to Swissôtel Chicago. Our apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced and we will surely consider your opinion and plan for improvement in the future on the areas you have kindly highlighted.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in a king room for five nights for a conference. The hotel was superb. The conference was next door at the Hyatt, and staying at the Swiss provided a respite from the other 4000+ attendees! Bar service was quite attentive (music too loud, but that's normal).

The hotel has pedway (undergroud) access over to the Hyatt's conference facilities, which is a really nice touch when it's raining.

I arrived at around 10 in the morning, and they checked me in right away. Very courteous.

The room was clean and well designed. Nothing exceptional, but very, very well maintained.

I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: I was in a room with a partial river view, but it was really quite nice - good view of navy pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose Swissotel Chicago for the view-we were on the 33rd floor in 2 corner suites with a panoramic view of the Chicago Downtown area and Lake Michigan/Navy Pier. STUNNING! The children (who are not easily impressed) were amazed. The accommodations were clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. We had a king suite with pull-out sofa bed & a crib and an adjoining 2 double-bed room. All of the staff we encountered were helpful, kind and very patient with our young children.
The location of the hotel was difficult to find-our GPS couldn't locate it or recognize that there are 2 levels of the same street. Hotel staff was helpful in navigating us to the hotel.
We would definitely stay here again (and would have if our return trip had allowed for it!)
The room prices are significantly less pricy than equivalent nearby hotels-this caused us to hesitate in booking here. So happy we decided to try this hotel-we were more than satisfied. An impressive hotel, staff and unbeatable view!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank nysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Swissotel with a couple of friends at the end of March. I stayed one night and had a great time. I ended up winning the room in a Priceline bid looking for a four star hotel in the city center, so the price was great! We drove in and used the Millennium Park Parking Garage, as parking at the hotel was very expensive. It was probably a 10 minute walk to the hotel. The location is great, right on the river, a couple blocks off of Michigan Avenue. The check in process was simple and the lobby area is very chic looking. We had a normal double room on the 32nd floor. The room was pretty spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also good size with a shower and tub. Definitely ask for a lake view if possible, Navy Pier is a clean shot to the northeast. The only staff I had interactions with was at check in and out, but they were both very nice. We were out and about most of the time, but I have no complaints about the hotel and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room on a higher floor, beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I attended a business conference and was extremely impressed especially with the meal/banquet staff. They went out of their way to be helpful. They were efficient, quiet and unobtrusive. The room was lovely. Very comfortable bed. Clean, quiet, just what you need when traveling three time zones away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,910 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,120 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing