We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Salem
1 review
“Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a very nice upscale hotel with the BEST view of the city and lake we could ask for. Very good service and atmosphere. Like many hotels the couch bed was not comfortable, but overall and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,847
    1,183
    422
    197
    121
See reviews for
681
971
175
1,366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's the only one of the chain in the U.S. The others are in other countries. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly when I checked in. I am a tech geek so the elevators were like a new toy on Christmas for me. Push your floor number on the keypad and the LCD screen lights up with an arrow pointing to which elevator is going to your floor. Another display mounted in the door shows which floors it will stop on so all you do is get in and ride-no looking for your floor button becuase technology does the work. Door locks work with scanning technology. Just wave your card over the reader and the door unlocks. Have seen these before but not the smart elevator. Room was spacious, bed was soft, views were great, food was good and overall this is a great hotel. It is the only hotel I've ever stayed in where that had a personal Keurig coffee maker. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A view facing Navy Pier is great if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Swissotel Chicago like other Swissotel is comfortable with nice rooms and all desired amenities.
I only miss a kind of personal touch that please me in some hotels. I mean, despite the attendants and service are skilled and trained I could not feel anything special but only performing procedures. Nothing else.
For this kind of hotels overcome the usual service should be a target. This is not the case.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htc023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear htc023,

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room during your stay at Swissôtel Chicago. We surely understand your concern regarding the sincerity of service. Similar to your kind opinion; genuine and friendly service is what we always aim for as a part of our Swiss hospitality. Therefore we will further extend our training efforts to ensure heartfelt guest service.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was great and helpful.
Room was fine with a great view and very clean. The hotel itself is beautiful. located on the lakeside the walking is great in this section of chicago. Plenty of convenience to shopping, and other attractions in chicago.

Room Tip: Great view, ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magic323232323232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is certainly the best hotel I've been to in Chicago by far - great views of the pier, great location for sight-seeing and eating or catching the theatre. Hotel has a beautiful lobby, the rooms were comfy and clean. I did think that an extra cost to use the pool area was a bit much and I can't imagine parking at the hotel as the cost was outrageous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dulinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Swis Hotel in Chicago has very nice rooms, try to get a corner room. The location on the river is great, the staff is nice and it is a short taxi ride to all the good restaurants in the city. I try to stay here every time I visit. Conference services is well done also. Corner rooms are spacious

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucker
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

great bed, fell asleep quickly. sound proof room. good view. good bathroom. the only bad thing was that the room was too hot. we could not lower the temp. but then again we didn't think to ask the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear gingerc c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. Your comments are really helpful for the entire Swissôtel team and encourage us to improve our services.

It was a pleasure to learn that in general you have enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the technical shortfall and I wish we had the opportunity to resolve this matter to your satisfaction during your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Chicago and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist to ensure your next visit to be more comfortable and enjoying.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,086 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing