We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring in chicago”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cameron, Wisconsin
1 review
“spring in chicago”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was wonderful, the room was very large. Didn't know ahead of time there was a up charge to use the fitness center, pool area, was only $10..00/night but should be told ahead a time. We paid the charge went to use the hot tub and were not able to because there were 14 children in it ranging in age from 4yrs to 11yrs with only 2 adults. This was at 9:30 at night. Most hotel I've stayed in have at least one hour a day for adult us only which is great was surprised that was not the cast here.That's the only thing negative - the breakfast down stairs was very good. The very we had of navy pier was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mskim2013,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent visit and highlighting the need for better control on the usage of hot tub. Children are indeed not allowed to use the spa facility and we will ensure better control to avoid similar discomfort in the future. Looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,044
    1,235
    442
    207
    131
See reviews for
717
1,040
186
1,509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Newish and clean, there's little/nothing to complain about here. The staff are energetic and professional. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully done. It's near Millennium park and the navy pier so bring your sneakers!! Overall, very nice, it just doesn't wow you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxtox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The front desk staff is incredibly helpful (supplied bandaids at check-in as I had cut my hand at airport) and are very knowledgeable about the area providing wonderful recommendations and well as impeccable walking directions.

I had a corner room on a higher floor. The room was huge, very large bathroom with lots of natural light. Two walls of windows with views of Navy Pier and the lake on one side and the river and the city on the other. The layout made for a very quiet stay - the bedroom is situated away from the door. I didn't hear any hallway noise at all. Housekeeping staff was very friendly. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

Instead of a minibar they have a 24/7 'store' by the front desk. Not as convenient as having it in your room, but definitely a larger selection than any minibar could ever give and prices were also far more reasonable.

Highly recommend especially if you score a corner room!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA_3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TA_3163,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. It was a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our services and facilities. Your kind comments concerning the comfort of your room are very much appreciated. We will surely take the liberty to pass your nice compliments to related team members.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great property with a great location. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The fitness facility and swimming pool on the top floor are top notch, open 24 hours. The rooms are spacious, if rather ordinary in their decor. The television kept pixelating and blanking out, which was irritating. The elevators have a strange quirk: you punch in the floor you want on a panel outside the doors before boarding. However, they work very efficiently. The main ballroom provided an excellent venue for the conference that I was attending. Location 2 blocks east of North Michigan Avenue is very convenient. The lobby bar is a pleasant place for a pre-prandial.The guest floor geometry is confusing and disorienting till you get used to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Orso52,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments and we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed the fine services of our team. I regret to learn about the technical shortfall with TV and wish we were able to resolve this during your stay. Looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here and were very pleased with this hotel. The reception and valet parking staff were helpful and friendly. The room had a good sized desk, easy chair with a footstool, and a very comfortable bed. But the most impressive thing was the great view of the city from our room.

I booked using the hotel internet site and was prepared to pay for parking, but when I called the Chicago reservation desk for clarification on the rate (not the general Swissotel number) they said that they had a special package with the parking for free. On check in, the receptionist confirmed the parking was free, but warned that if it shows on the bill, just mention it at check out and they will make it right. That is just what happened. The receptionist was also very accommodating in picking a room for us that was just what we wanted.

There were a couple minor issues, hardly worth complaining about. First, you must pay extra for a wireless internet connection in the room. Second, a small amount of water leaked out of the shower stall and trickled across the bathroom floor to a drain. This was easily taken care of by putting the floormat on the water, but it detracted slightly from the otherwise very nice room. We would certainly stay here again, and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you appreciate a view, ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the city and river. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arctictis_binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Arctictis_binturong,

Our pleasure to learn that you appreciate our services and facilities and we are looking forward to your return. Meanwhile we are getting immediate action on the tehnical issue you have mentioned to avoid similar situations in the future.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I loved everything about the Swissotel. We had a great view, the staff was amazing and the location is great. The only complaint I have is our room was near the elevator and every time the elevator stopped on our floor, it sounded like someone was kicking in our door. It was startling at times. Being tourists, I didn't realize we had a concourse that went to other buildings and restaurants. I was finally able to get a copy of the concourse map from the front desk, which was difficult to read.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 01 on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Darc2005,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. It was a pleasure to learn that in general you have enjoyed your visit. I regret to learn about your discomfort with the noise. We indeed plan and organize elevator operations to avoid noise during night time and we will surely look into the matter further to eliminate similar discomfort.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wound up with Swissotel after a blind purchase on Hotwire and what luck it was! Absolutely beautiful room with views of the river, city and Lake Michigan. Apparently the hotel is designed where no rooms have bad views and this was evident in my room. Plush amenities, worthy staff and nice bar downstairs are a few other perks. The location is very convenient for walking/short cab rides and within minutes of leaving the hotel you are in the thick of Chicago's city life.I only stayed two nights and my only regret is that I'm not still there!

Room Tip: try and get a high corner room that overlooks both directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasons827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
4,962 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing