We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business - but expensive indeed”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this hotel very nice. We got a room on high floor (i don't remember which though, i think 23). It was always clean. Room service is excellent as well as the breakfast, but way too expensive. The location is perfect. 20 minutes walk from the city centre and just 5 minutes walk from the millenium park.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessAndri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,204 - 3,210 of 4,515 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the view of Navy Pier was great but by the end of my stay I felt like I was dealing with an airline! There was a daily fee for in-room internet, another daily fee for the gym, another fee for each outbound phone call and of course an upgrade fee for the partial view. On top of that, parking is $55/day.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They did waive the fee for the gym when I commented on all the fees.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and had a nice room with a comfortable bed and a view of the city skyline. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The onsite place to eat was average, but there are lots of great places nearby. The Swiss does have a good bar. Everything was pricy, but in line with downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolyn_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Swissotel. It was wonderful. The reception staff that greeted us was phenomenal. The room had an incredible view and it was impecable. Another plus is the location of the hotel - close to everything. We did not eat at The Palm (too pricey) but ordered room service for breakfast and they were timely and everything was delicious. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on business after I had been at the jw Marriott for the weekend. I told the registration gal I had a terrible room at the Marriott over the weekend and she gave me a terrific large room, great bed and bathroom with a view of Navy Pier. I was very happy. Service was very good until I noticed several substandard violations.

I came back to my room while the cleaning staff was there. The nice gal asked to see my room key which impressed me however when I entered the coffee pot, glasses and coffee mug were in the bathroom sink together with water running on them. clean glasses were not on the cart in the hall. No soap was visible either. Needless to say I did not have anything to drink in the room after that.

While I was in the meeting area the water glasses were being put in the tables from racks that had been preloaded with glasses, ice and water. The wait staff reached in the racks and pulled the glasses out one by one by the rim while extra ice trickled to the bottom of the remaining stack of racks with glasses.

This was so unusual I took videos of this procedure and send a letter to the manager of the hotel with the video. I discussed both issues in my coorespondance and while I received a response from the hotel I don't believe my complaints were taken seriously by the tone of the reply which is unfortunate.

If you stay at this hotel, don't drink the water.





  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel, great room, views, and cute doorbell. But it was more of a convention hotel. We were NOT comfy in public areas due to masses of nametag wearing loud maniacs. He breakfast buffet was awesome and fresh but 25$??? Very expense account-ish. The views are stunning and its by Eggys(yummy)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDW-BOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Swissotel in Chicago was a nice find. Plenty of good reviews on TA. Spent a 4 day weekend with my wife while visiting our son this past summer. The hotel has an excellent location and for a slight upgrade you can get a great room with a view of the river, the lake and the Navy Pier. The folks at the front desk were very nice and helpful with suggestions for any questions you may have. The hotel is very clean throughout and the rooms are comfortable ad well kept. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next stay at the Swissotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaboColonia_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 192 in Chicago
7,072 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#76 of 192 in Chicago
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,232 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $125 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing