We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #63 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Last time I stayed at the Swissotel in Chicago, the ambiance was European -- big fluffy quilts, bar scene, warm and woody, slightly formal, but very efficient and service oriented. Since then, the hotel has been revamped in a more modern vibe, with new furniture, younger staff (still very nice and helpful), an updated gym and pool and very fast new elevators. For my quick two night business trip it was fine. But since they were upgrading, I wish they had built coffee bar in the lobby and that the gym had some mats and free weights. And, while my bedding was fine, the mattress needs an upgrade. The bathroom is still huge and nicely laid out and my room was cleaned on time. The breakfast buffet is fast and the food is well prepared. (For a pricier meal, but terrific steak, go to The Palm, off the lobby) The concourse level meets up with the underground pedway, which allows you to walk indoors and avoid the Chicago cold and wind. So, all in all, a good place to stay in a convenient location, but without that special something that used to make this place a draw for me. In the future, I'll continue to book it, but if I can't get it, I'll move on without being disappointed.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,068 - 3,074 of 4,361 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss for business and extended the trip to Chicago for the weekend with the wife.The carage and valley service worked well and access by car was simple and easy.The hotel has a good location and great views. The staff was very helpfull, especcially when we lost our keycard.

Robert

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Four years ago we spent the night on New Years Eve. We had front row seats to the most spectacular fireworks directly outside our window, at the stroke of midnight. We came back this year to celebrate News Years Eve again. We booked with their reservation agent. We booked for a "fireworks view" room. We paid more for that room. A new apartment building had gone up, and at midnight, no fireworks! Needless to say, no refund either.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with a specific view, you will not get it, but you will pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ree12_12,

Thank you very much for kindly sharing your experience and I surely understand your concern regarding the view. We have a triangular building allowing upgraded corner rooms to see panoramic views as well as additional space.

However as a standard practice we are unable to confirm firework views from our rooms due to the nature of the activity. Fireworks may be moved to different locations and similarly this year due to security measures it was moved further south avoiding visibility from your room. I do hope for yor understanding due this matter not being under our control.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife had to be there on business so we all went with her, we got an upgrade to a suite which was very nice. The location is good, close to most interesting spots in Chicago. We even walked to the Field Museum, although a bit long it was through a park right on the lakefront which was nice. Garage is very European, spaces are not as wide as most North American garages, watch it if you're parking a large SUV. Front desk/pod staff was very friendly and gave good suggestions as to neighborhood restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCool18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear JoeCool18,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments and such a pleasure for us to learn you have enjoyed our fine services. Looking forward to welcome you again...

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything in the pictures is true! Beautifull hotel! Near michigan av. Great attention of the personel! No free wifi acces pool sauna bussiness center, expensive parking, bathtube big rooms . I definetly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine_jimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our granddaughters in November 2012 and had a fabulous suite -- on one of the corners of the 3-sided hotel. It was colossal! The kids room had stufferd animals; animal printed sheets --- even a kid-type soap dish in the bathroom. They loved it! And we thought the accomodations were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best views of Lake Michigan, the Navy Pier or downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November while attending the Illinois School Board Conference. Unfortunately it was held during the same time the holiday parade in downtown Chicago was. It was overcrowded. The room was pretty good and our view was great. We did however, get locked out of our room when the keypad died on our door. It took security and the manager over 30 minutes to help us into our room. Breakfast was okay. We waited for the valet to get our car for over an hour. If I stay here again, I will not be staying at the same time of the year. I did see the lighted parade from our room and that was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiVitaleMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear VickiVitaleMorse,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and I am happy to understand you have enjoyed the comfort and location of your room. However please accept my apologies for the technical issues and service delays you have experienced. We are continuously working on improvement for door locks and we are getting immediate action regarding parking organization. Please let me know whenever I can assist further.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,831 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
6,928 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 192 in Chicago
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $135 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing