We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but misleading!”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Four years ago we spent the night on New Years Eve. We had front row seats to the most spectacular fireworks directly outside our window, at the stroke of midnight. We came back this year to celebrate News Years Eve again. We booked with their reservation agent. We booked for a "fireworks view" room. We paid more for that room. A new apartment building had gone up, and at midnight, no fireworks! Needless to say, no refund either.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with a specific view, you will not get it, but you will pay for it
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ree12_12,

Thank you very much for kindly sharing your experience and I surely understand your concern regarding the view. We have a triangular building allowing upgraded corner rooms to see panoramic views as well as additional space.

However as a standard practice we are unable to confirm firework views from our rooms due to the nature of the activity. Fireworks may be moved to different locations and similarly this year due to security measures it was moved further south avoiding visibility from your room. I do hope for yor understanding due this matter not being under our control.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,257)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,970 - 2,976 of 4,257 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife had to be there on business so we all went with her, we got an upgrade to a suite which was very nice. The location is good, close to most interesting spots in Chicago. We even walked to the Field Museum, although a bit long it was through a park right on the lakefront which was nice. Garage is very European, spaces are not as wide as most North American garages, watch it if you're parking a large SUV. Front desk/pod staff was very friendly and gave good suggestions as to neighborhood restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCool18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear JoeCool18,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments and such a pleasure for us to learn you have enjoyed our fine services. Looking forward to welcome you again...

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything in the pictures is true! Beautifull hotel! Near michigan av. Great attention of the personel! No free wifi acces pool sauna bussiness center, expensive parking, bathtube big rooms . I definetly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine_jimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our granddaughters in November 2012 and had a fabulous suite -- on one of the corners of the 3-sided hotel. It was colossal! The kids room had stufferd animals; animal printed sheets --- even a kid-type soap dish in the bathroom. They loved it! And we thought the accomodations were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best views of Lake Michigan, the Navy Pier or downtown.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November while attending the Illinois School Board Conference. Unfortunately it was held during the same time the holiday parade in downtown Chicago was. It was overcrowded. The room was pretty good and our view was great. We did however, get locked out of our room when the keypad died on our door. It took security and the manager over 30 minutes to help us into our room. Breakfast was okay. We waited for the valet to get our car for over an hour. If I stay here again, I will not be staying at the same time of the year. I did see the lighted parade from our room and that was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiVitaleMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear VickiVitaleMorse,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and I am happy to understand you have enjoyed the comfort and location of your room. However please accept my apologies for the technical issues and service delays you have experienced. We are continuously working on improvement for door locks and we are getting immediate action regarding parking organization. Please let me know whenever I can assist further.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great hotel! VERY child friendly which we really appreciated. The kids got a book and crayons at check in, and by the time we left several of the staff knew us. We got a free upgrade to a Lakeside view, and it was beautiful! Great view of Navy Peir and Lake Michigan, the kids really loved being up on the 38th floor! They serve starbucks coffee at the bar, which was a plus for us. We didn't use the pool, but would have loved to have had the chance. Just a tip on parking, you can park a couple of blocks away for half the price of what the hotel charges! And, the staff were more than happy to keep our luggage at the hotel after we had checked out free of charge until we were ready to go back to our car.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backincincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Another try at another hotel in Chicago this past week.

I tried this one...I was interested in the title and from the website. I got an okay rate, so I booked.

The room view was awesome. The room itself was okay. Bed and linens were a scratchy and pillows were so fluffy I had a difficult time falling asleep. I ended up putting towel underneath the pillows for stability.

I was here three nights. I used their workout facility, which was okay. Nothing super spectacular at all, but was okay.

Noticed the pool and hot tub, but did not use.

Room service menu was ridiculously overpriced and that was not used.

The in house restaruant and bar, again, overpriced. On average the restaraunt was about $20-30 a dish. Not in my budget.

Had issues with the heating and cooling system. Put the room at 65 for the three nights and barely moved. Made mention to the staff about it and nothing was ever done. Kind of a disappointment.

If you are alone, as I was on this trip, it was okay. I won't bring my family there when we visit Chicago again.

Room Tip: Ask to get a view of the City.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABuikema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear ABuikema.

Thank you very much for sharing the detailsof your experience at our hotel and I am happy to understand that you have enjoyed many of our facilities and services.

I regret to learn that we were not able to resolve the inconvenience with air conditioning to your satisfaction during the stay. We are getting immediate action to correct any issues and to avoid similar situation in the future.

Thank you also for highlighting the menu prices and I would like to kindly ensure you that this is indeed the best value and price offer. We will stil consider your kind opinion during our future revisions.

Please do not hesitate to let me know if I can assist further.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 191 in Chicago
5,062 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,137 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $178 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing