We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband, booked through Priceline. We had a beautiful view of Navy Pier and the river/downtown area. Staff was nice, the beds were comfortable, the room was clean and you couldn't hear much street noise at all. The lobby bar was pricey- but the white cosmo was delicious!

A tip for parking- Millennium Park lot is about a 5-10 minute walk away and only $26 overnight. That's what we did instead of the $55 (but if you have a lot of luggage or staying many nights and not using your car everyday that night not work).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melonhead4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,198 - 3,204 of 4,474 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful 4 star hotel in beautiful, busy downtown Chicago; We took the "Priceline Gamble," and booked this hotel for $100/night for 2 nights, $78 less than it is advertised on Swissotel's website. Upon arrival, we were shocked to learn that wifi is $9.95/night, parking is $55/day, & if you've never been to Chicago, EVERYTHING you will do will cost an arm & a leg. We had 2 different maintenance issues 1. Our desk was equipped with a port strip with HDMI, Comp, & Computer Ports and these were non functional. We were told that the following day they would either replace the tv or provide me w/ a different dvd player with comp rather hdmi cables, upon calling the following day, I was told that this was not going to happen. No apology, no attempt to address the problem, just a No. This is not a deal breaker, just an annoyance. 2. We had lukewarm shower water. We complained about this our first night & the following morning we took lukewarm showers again, even though maintenance responded quickly the night before; We chalked it up to others using it all in the morning so we went and enjoyed the city. Our second night, after being in the cold all day, we returned to lukewarm water and again reported it. Maintenance Tech responded very quickly and spent approximately 1 hour to repair the issue & we were tired, however the issue was much better after he left. I too work in this industry and coordinate maintenance and customer relations & I would have been embarrassed at not being able to provide a working port or a solution for this issue. Not a deal breaker, just kind of "low class," and beneath their star rating. Overall, this was/is a great hotel, the employees were very professional, with the exception of the aforementioned issues, & for the price I paid (minus the parking) I came out on top. Michigan Ave aka The Magnificent Mile and "the bean" are within walking distance; Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Bear's stadium, The Musem, and many more attractions are just a short $20 cab ride from Swissotel. It was a great adventure, my family had a fantastic time and although most of our joy came from the location of the hotel, the amenities were very VERY nice. I typically exercise on every vacation, but this time I wasn't feeling well so we only enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub, which were awesome! You have to access them through the spa and fitness center entrance so I was able to see the facility, I wish I had felt better because this was one of the best fitness centers I have ever seen. I don't believe most travelers will be interested in spending a whole lot of time in the hotel, but you could in this one and have a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, it was only $35/night additional cost and had I not been so afraid of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jppdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear jppdiddy,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share the details of your experience at Swissotel Chicago. Although we are very happy to learn that in general you have enjoyed your stay, please accept our sincere apologies for the technical errors andthe shortfall of follow up during the resolution process. We will surely look into those issues to avoid similar situations in the future. Looking forward to your next visit and please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

the hotel is pretty modern. most happy with the clean up service who folded up all our clothes that was all over the room into stacks - a lot patience! the view from my room was awesome too, overlooking the river and lake michigan.
it was a bit far from magnificent mile from the fact that it is thanksgiving and chicago has the most chilly winds - but overall it is a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Jessica T,

Our pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good: Fast check-in, great views, friendly staff, super-comfortable bed, nice workstation/chair, awesome HD television, Keurig coffee, glass shower and separate bathtub,

Bad: Cheapest toilet on the planet. The handle was broken and the whole thing was a cheap, plastic construction. Why invest money in such beautiful guest bathrooms, with phones by the toilet, if the toilet itself is junk? My only other complaint: I was almost certain I had read somewhere the wifi was free. It was not. Paying so much for a room and then having to pay for wifi is such an inconvenience. Just tack the extra $10 bucks onto the cost of the room and tell me the wifi is free.

Room Tip: Consider paying the extra $40 bucks for a corner room with views on two sides of the building. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Ryan405,

Our pleasure to read your kind compliments about the quality of service and amenities you have enjoyed during your visit. Thank you for highlighting the need for better equipment in bathroom and we will surely consider your kind opinion during our future revisions.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My son and I spent a night here as a staycation and loved it. Rhonda who checked us in was the best. She was very helpful and kind. Yli at breakfast was such a nice, warm touch to a yummy breakfast. Everyone had a smile. Our room was very luxurious with a great view and surprisingly quiet.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Dsquared512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Dsquared512,

Thank you for your review and I will be happy to take the liberty to share your kind compliments with our team members that you have mentioned namely. Looking forward to welcome you again at Swissotel Chicago.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

On the river a short stroll from Navy Pier, Michigan Ave and Millennium Park; a walkable distance to he Wilis Tower Sky Deck, the location of this hotel is great. Our first room had a cigarette odor in this no smoking town so they switched us to a different one. The room was clean and very quiet. It had a big bathroom, refrigerator, plenty of room and great river view. The thick feather tick was luxurious but a bit too warm at night. The room did receive some street light at night despite room darkening curtains. The kids loved the 42nd floor pool and we liked the hot tub. Big fitness center that we watched others use. We paid $108 for a Friday night for a family of 4 and $55 for valet parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Bought the package of stay and park directly from the hotel's website, which made the crazy normal rate of $55/night for parking a bit more reasonable. They did make the mistake of charging us for parking, but when we called they were extremely apologetic and took it right off.
I'm not used to staying in fancy hotels, this is the nicest I've stayed in - there are even robes in the rooms!
The location is great - within walking distance to Mag Mile, Navy Pier, and the public transportation at the Loop.
The quality of the hotel and service from the staff made this one of thw best values in downtown Chicago for 109 a night. I would definitely stay here again. Plus the energy-efficient elevators are awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chechya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,909 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,118 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,204 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing