We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Elegant and Conveniently Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Elegant and Conveniently Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here recently for a conference and was very impressed with the beauty and elegance of this hotel. Perfectly situated overlooking the Chicago River and just a block from Michigan Ave. I was on the 25th floor and views were spectacular.

Aspects of my stay that really stood out for me are the quality of the beds, linens, and towels. Unbelievable soft and almost cuddly! You notice the difference the minute you touch them. The in-room coffee is Kuerig and it's really, really good. All the food served during my conference was terrific and sort of cool, e.g. making your own trail mix.

Things I didn't like so much were that everything is pretty expensive and not much is included. The organization I was with paid for Internet, but it was pricey if you had to pay for it yourself. That being said, the hotel is beautiful and elegant and ideally suited to young couples who are looking for a cool place/romantic place to stay.

Not recommended for people who are traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: I thought the view from the rooms facing the river were spectacular. Would definitely recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    1,092
    389
    181
    111
See reviews for
601
887
159
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great room (seems bigger than average); good bed/ pillows; nice bathroom/ shower lay out and great work surface for desk. "Manhatten view" room so it was fairly dark.

Penthouse pool - nice views - but very very cold! Wakes you up.

Breakfast buffet in Geneva restaruant - will make custom orders as part of the buffet (good) - but in the concourse level (basement) so it is dark and basement like.

Stayed during a conference. The elevator system (6 elevators) work on software that is meant to be efficient. People punch in the floor they wish to go to and the system indicates which elevator will serve you but on any floor except lobby, the indicator is fleeting so you have to remember. There is no indication, 12 minutes later, while you are still waiting, that the system has your request or which elevator it will be. There were very long waits at peak times - my longest was 12 minutes, which is the difference between being early and late for a meeting - but others mentioned 20 minutes. The hotel staff said this was because the hotel was full. If the system cannot work when the hotel is at capacity, they should not book to capacity or reprogram for capacity! It also had trouble if a group was going to a particular floor destination - elevator would be full so once the door is closed, you have to key in and start another long wait.

Convenient location. Friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJALSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear RJALSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team. We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We traveled to Chicago last week for our anniversary and were so pleased with the Swissotel Chicago. Upon check-in we were greeted with a friendly welcome and upgraded to a corner room due to the mention of our anniversary on the online reservation. When we first opened the door to our room, we were stunned by the incredible city view. Navy Pier, Mag Mile, and Lake Michigan felt like they were at our finger tips due to the over 25 feet of windows. Overall, the location, service, and luxury offered at the Swissotel made our anniversary trip so memorable. Would recommend this hotel to any Chitown visitor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear LandFam4,

Thank you for choosing Swissotel Chicago for your anniversary trip and taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the view of Lake Michigan. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Here for a conference and given Classic King room with partial view of lake and facing park, so break in buildings means great views. Rooms 2113-2118 (or higher floors) all facing right direction. Fridge, safe, upgraded fixtures all nice and pool on top floor, oh yeah.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbalarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Having travelled to Chicago for over 10 years I have stayed at many city hotels and the quality has been great. The Swissotel did not dissapoint and if I had not been able to compare with others then I would have rated it higher. My room was a good size and clean but rather dull. Internet was not free but if you get a good room rate then you can't complain. Breakfast was fine but very pricey so go and find a local cafe.

In conclusion a good hotel which looks wow from outside but doesn't quite give you the same response inside


  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear glented,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just spend another wonderful weekend at the Swissotel in downtown Chicago. This is truly a hidden gem among the hotels in Chicago. This is the 4th time I've stayed here and I have never had a bad experience. The hotel is built on an angle on Wacker Drive and you have a lovely view of the River and Navy Pier from every window. The rooms are very spacious and decor is very modern and comfortable. The hotel was sold out on Saturday night so it was a bit hectic in the lobby, but the staff still treated you well and were very professional. CVS is just around the corner if you forget anything.

Room Tip: High floor gives a better view and corner suites are beautiful and staff will upgrade you if they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patti0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Patti0,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm a HUGE hotel person!!! My husband took me to the Swissotel in Downtown Chicago for our one year anniversary and to just see all the attractions downtown. I lived in Chicago for about 5 years and loved it! But didn't make it DT too much. After the hubby taking me down there, it was amazing...we even met a German dude that we hung out with all night. Cool guy! There are something like 80 floors of rooms, non smoking in all. They put us RIGHT where we wanted to be, which was on the river, could see Navy Pier, walking distance from everything you want, including, but not limited to, shopping!! Yes ladies, I said shopping then FOOD! Sitting outside on the sidewalk eating lunch and taking all the people watching in. It's fun, it's cool, you must go! Oh AND MOST COMFY BEDS EVER!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you want a corner VIEW room so your room will be nothing but windows and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,705 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#55 of 184 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#93 of 184 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 5,176 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing