We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Time”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great time. Great Rooms, Great Food, everything was perfect. The beds were super comfy, the view amazing, the executive lounge was great. Nothing bad to say about my experience this time around. So different from the last time I stayed. Good work Swissotel Chicago.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Chris416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Chris416,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you decided to stay with us and especially that you found everything to be perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,606 - 3,612 of 4,525 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have never in my life heard of a hotel charging to use their fitness room or pool. Also, I know mini bar prices are outrageous, but this hotel wanted to charge $7.95 for a 12 oz aluminum bottle of coke. I know this because I moved the coke in the fridge to put in some medication and was charged for it (it runs on weight sensors). The hotel will take off the charge of course, but still, just the thought of somone making the decision to charge $8 for a coke makes me angry. Don't get me started on not offering free Wi-Fi either.... I would rather have have free Wi-Fi instead of a shoe horn, sewing kit, and shower cap.

On a happier note, the hotel is beautiful and the views are specacular. The elevator system is very efficient and if you can't figure out how to use it, that is no fault of the hotel. The room is very comfortable with a nicely updated bathroom. The staff was very friendly as well.

I disagree with others who say this is an excellent location, i thought it was a little out of the way actually. Good stay, but beware of the extra costs. Thankfully I didn't have a car to park!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denajennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Purchased on Priceline.com for a Labor day weekend trip. Unbelievable workout room and pool included in package. Other revies said we would be Nickle Dime... we did not find that to be the case. Self park available behind hotel at $30 a day.

The Workout room has all the fabulous equipment you could ever want.... Our room was on 14th floor with great views of the city and Chicago river. The Hotel is a short 15 minute walk from Nave Pier and just one block off Michigan ave. Beds were very comfortable. Digital TV had trouble with a signal at times but we were not there for the TV. Bath has both shower and tub and was well appointed. Overall great hotel and trip. Especially at the rate we got via Priceline.

Room Tip: Use the self park in rear saves $22 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heffkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Swissotel Chicago is fabulous - we would love to go back! We found a great deal on hotwire, and the hotel exceeded our expectations for the value. It is located just off the Magnificent Mile (~10min walk), and right in the same area as the Fairmont and Hyatt, just over the river from the Sheraton. The Swissotel is well appointed - triangular in shape so all rooms have great views. We got moved up to the 38th floor and had a nice view of the river / magnificent mile. The room was very large, with a very nice bathroom (separate shower w/ rain showerhead); The bath products are lovely - fresh and not overpowering. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room also has robes and a nice desk for working.I would highly recommend this hotel for people going to the city - it's a nice place to touch down, and a central location for exploring Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_TorontoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear HOOP_travel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissôtel Chicago.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found the bed comfortable and the bath products lovely. We are happy to hear that you would love to come back and do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissôtel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Yes, parking is expensive ($52 p.d.) and the fitness center/pool is expensive ($15 p.d.) but we knew that going in so we were not surprised. The room was very nice, the toiletries were first rate and the view of the river, the lake and the pier was spectacular. When we had to call several times to get our TV fixed (they finally replaced it), we were comped to a breakfast buffet, which was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Canuckinbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Canuckinbklyn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissôtel Chicago.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the inconvenience with the tv. It is great to hear that our team was able to assist during that time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindly,
Swissôtel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

we stayed at the swissotel downtown chicago the last weekend in August 2011.
Two adults and a three year old. we took the amrak from milwaukee to chicago. this was very easy to do. amtrak was running a special for kids to ride free. it was about $100.00 for the 3 of us to ride the train round trip. this was VERY easy. we were surprised how smooth everything went. when you get to union station you just ask a taxi driver to take you to your hotel. we were charged about $12 to get from union station to the swissotel. when we arrived at the hotel the doorman greeted us. we didnt need help with bags since we each had one small bag for an overnight stay. our hotel room was very nice. the view was good. from the hallway window on our floor we could see Navy Pier. the bathroom was nice. the shower was separate from the tub. i like that. but no fan. that seems to be very common in all the hotels we stay at, there is no bathroom fan. we are very active so it was not a hard for us to walk to Navy Pier. if you have a stroller or anything to carry i would recomment a taxi. its not a far walk if you are active, but there are stairs and roads to cross. we were soooo happy we did not bring a stroller. we took a taxi on the way to shedd aquarium but realized we could make the walk back and the weather was good. it was 20 min walk back. but we are very active, even with a 3yr old. we had to take a taxi to the science and industry. we were told it was 7 miles away. the swissotel was nice. but that is about all i can say - just nice. the breakfast buffet was $26 pp for adults. gulp. it was not worth it. it was in the basement of the hotel. and they tried to make it nice by dressing the waiters in wedding attire. i felt the breakfast buffet was worth no more than $10 pp. kids ate free under a certain age. so im glad we didnt pay anything for our son to have a piece of toast. we walked up to the gym to check it out. we did not expect to use it since we had a toddler, but just wanted to see what this gym looked like since we read it was $15 pp per day. i liked the equiptment in this small gym.
i would have used it if we were traveling without a child. but it shouldnt cost money to use the gym. we did see a woman on the treadmill in a wet bathing suit with no shoes on. and a few kids on the machines. one thing i really liked about the hotel is there is fresh lemon and orange water when you enter the hotel. that is nice. i dont think the staff was overly helpful or polite. it was average service and a nice hotel. the bedding in our room was actually very nice .

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank 3meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear 3meyers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissôtel Chicago.

I have reviewed your feedback about Geneva restaurant along with the internet and fitness center fees with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.

Kindly,
Swissôtel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

A friend and I spent a recent Friday, Saturday and half of Sunday at this hotel. Not sure what all the fuss about the elevators is about....they could not be easier to use. This location was close to Michigan Avenue and State Street and tons of restaurants. It was a short cab ride to Navy Pier and to Union Station. As for the concierge, she was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Gift shop (with newspapers, bottled water, etc.) is on the lower floor of the hotel. Open 10 am to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelle62844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,080 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#78 of 192 in Chicago
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,235 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing