We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great Room. Excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #34 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Great stay. Great Room. Excellent staff.”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

In Chicago for business. Selected this hotel because it was close to my business. The staff was professional and accommodating. I ate at the restaurant downstairs. It too was excellent. The room was great. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    691
    186
    73
    49
See reviews for
368
645
138
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have stayed at the Blake several times and it is one of the best Hotels and Staff in the world. Staff is always very helpful especially Michael and Juana. If possible get one of the corner rooms. They cost a little more but well woth the cost. Hotel has good location close but not to close to everything. Cannot say enough good things about this Hotel. Rooms are clean and decorated in a very refreashing manner. This is a Hotel you will add to your must return to list.
Eugene Krueger

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugenekiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We're so happy that you've enjoyed your stays with us so far! I will make sure your compliments are passed on to the staff. We're proud to be on your must-return list, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Comfortable room. The bathroom was great. The concierge "Showtime" was great, he was funny and had lot of good info about the city, especially about using public transportation instead of driving.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elcid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Blake -- I will be sure your compliments are passed on to Showtime. We hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel is in a great location. Convenient to the "El" blue line for the airport and red line for commuting through downtown Chicago. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The cleaning staff did a good job, as the hotel was clean, but they took a while to get around to all the rooms. The hotel offers continental breakfast which is a nice feature, but it's doughnuts and pastries, as well as some bruised fruit. They struggled to keep the items restocked during the busy times. The room was nice with a comfortable bed, a good sized bathroom, but our room did not have a view, except for a brick wall - get a room on the front of the hotel. Overall, it was a good place for location and cleanliness, but not a luxury.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATCCSCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We're so glad you found Hotel Blake's location in historic Printer's Row so convenient! We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again very soon.

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Our 4 night stay at the Hotel Blake was just okay. Housekeeping did not show up until late afternoon usually. The hotel looked like it had been nicer in previous times (i.e. a plate in the bureau for a fridge/mini bar but no fridge at all) but had fallen downhill. One morning there was no hot water for over an hour - ridiculous for a hotel! Maintenance finally came and fixed it. If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place to go. Bed was comfortable and the room suited our needs for the moment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseHPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We loved the hotel - it was everything we were told it would be and then some; wonderfully fun people, great service, excellent location, nice rooms and the value for the money is the best we've had staying in Chicago.

We had a couple small problems and they were corrected immediately to our satisfaction. Overall we're VERY satisfied. Our only problem was that the standard rooms are placed in a location where you hear alot of noise - sirens were going off most of the night and they are VERY loud. But the beds were good and we slept pretty well.

No hot tub or pool so its a good place especially for business and adults, and families with older kids who won't spend much time in the hotel. Not a place for families with small children looking to camp out.

The only suggestion for improvement is that the breakfast eating area is too small to accommodate the bigger crowds (Sunday). The breakfast is average, but that they have it at all is a plus for sure. But they were not prepared for the big Sunday crowd and could not keep food and drinks replenished. That was a mess. But overall its a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horntraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We're so glad that your stay at Hotel Blake lived up to your expectations! We really appreciate your feedback and we're honored that you consider us the best value in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

the hotel blake was great. it was one street away from the train. 2 streets away from grant park. great location. fantastic staff. Gregg "showtime" was amazing. He took care of our suit cases immediately. He even walked us to the subway and made sure we got on. WOW what service. I will definetely be back in CHI town and back to the Hotel Blake. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Blake! I'll make sure that your compliments are passed on to Showtime. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you're in Chicago!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#87 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing