We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed August 3, 2006

My stay started off pleasantly enough, but at 6:30am on Saturday morning I was awoken by loud construction that did not abate. The staff at the hotel was not only unapologetic but they refused to do anything to alleviate the situation -- this includes moving me to another room, offering me a discounted rate, etc. What proceeded was a run-around by the management that dampened my stay.

While I was excited by the fact that the hotel was new and a small boutique establishment rather than a chain, I quickly realized the lack competence and integrity. There are plenty of better places to stay in Chicago where you can be assured that the management will safeguard your need for a good night's sleep.

  • Liked — Design of the room
  • Disliked — Was not able to sleep with all of the noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Come for a drink but don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    683
    184
    73
    49
See reviews for
359
634
137
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I stayed at the Blake from July 15-19 and was a little wary due to the reviews on this website. Most of the negative reviews are based on the fact that the hotel has been undergoing renovations over the past year. Well, the renovations were complete in the lobby and on my floor, and the hotel is beautiful! My room (616--a standard king) was very spacious (over 400 s.f.) and had a great view of the Chicago public library. Note: I highly recommend getting an even-numbered room, since the odd-numbered rooms face a rather unattractive white wall. The bed was large and comfortable, the flat-screen TV was great, and the spacious bathroom was finished in stylish marble and had a large vanity with two sinks--perfect for myself and my partner. My favorite part of the room was the new carpet--great style and great texture (I usually don't notice carpet, but this was wonderful)! The lobby was rather small and unremarkable, but attractive. I agree with others who have posted about the Orange restaurant around the corner--great for breakfast! And young Patrick the doorman was very helpful. The location is only one block south of the loop and within easy walking distance (5-10 minutes) to anything in the downtown area. I would stay here again! (I had to move to the Hotel Burnham--#1 in Chicago according to Tripadvisor--in the middle of the week due to a Priceline reservation, but I thought the rooms at the Blake were much nicer). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Wonderful stay at the Blake. The hotel staff. from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, went above and beyond to meet our every need. The accomodations are beautiful, and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Special recognition should go to Patrick, for directing us to some of the best nightlife available in Chicago. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Blake and were VERY pleased with our stay. The room was above average and very clean with a lovely bath and king sized bed. The location couldn't have been better. You had the choice of walking to many areas or taking the subway (which was a block and half away) or bus (across the street). We recommend buying a CTA visitors card for as many days as you plan to stay. We didn't eat in the hotel but for breakfast the Orange Juice Co. around the corner was excellent. Meals are large (we shared our breakfasts). Tourists visiting there on Saturdays should try the free "EL" tour that leaves from the Visitor's Center at the Cultural Center. The Chicago Trolley/Double Decker tour was excellent as well as the the river/lake boat tours (we used Wendella near the Wrigley Bldg.). All in all hotel and area made for a very enjoyable long weekend!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Mac103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#126 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing