We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel in decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #34 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid hotel in decent location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our room was up-to-date and clean. The staff were very pleasant. We liked that the hotel was pet-friendly (for a fee), as we brought our dog. The Blake was conveniently located for a wedding that we were attending at the Harold Washington Library. However, the south-loop location is not terribly central. For a tourist visit I would recommend something closer to Lake Michigan and the museums, shopping, etc. Nonetheless, this hotel is not far from the L, so it is easy to get around. And it was not too hard to get a cab from there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer6418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property with our clean rooms and accomodating pet friendly policy. While you are correct that we may be a bit south of the action on the Magnificent Mile, we are within walking distance to Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Grant Park, and the ever expanding shopping options on State Street. I am pleased to hear that you were able to find our location convenient to transportation to take you other attractions throughout the city. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    675
    183
    72
    49
See reviews for
353
625
136
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Whyndham Blake in Chicago is a smallish, comfortable place; almost a botique hotel. Courteous and efficient staff, and pleasant rooms. The restaurant, which was not particularly outstanding a year ago, is fresh, bright, and has new and enthusiastic staff and good menus. It boasts new decor, new attitude, and an optimistic outlook. I saw many non-hotel guest come from the area to dine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to hear that you liked our new restaurant, Meli Cafe, during your experience. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff was friendly and very helpful. This was our first trip to Chicago, and they helped make our visit warm and memorable. We loved the location, as well. Easy access to the trains helped since we didn't have a car. We would certainly choose Wyndham Blake again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing a wonderful stay with us at our hotel! Our staff is thrilled to learn that they were a memorable aspect of your first trip to Chicago. We are pleased that you found our location convenient in the city as well. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Wyndham Blake provided a comfortable and affordable stay in Chicago. The room was quiet, clean, and had very comfortable bedding. I only wish the parking fees had been spelled out more clearly so that I could anticipate the fees associated with parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at our hotel. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our property in regards to our comfortable rooms and competitive rates. On your next visit, I would suggest booking our Park and Play Package which includes valet parking with in and out privileges. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My stay was good. I only had one issue, my room stayed cool. I am not sure if the heat(er) was working properly as i did not report the issue to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do apologize for the issues with the heating system in your room. An engineer would have been happy to assist with the issue. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
1,929 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#125 of 187 in Chicago
179 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing