We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #37 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I picked this hotel on the internet and was not sure what I was getting. We were also trying to keep the cost down and the Wyndham was at least 20.00 a day less than all the competition. We were very satisfied with the spacious, very clean,like new appearance. We spent 6 days and it was always a pleasure to come back to the warm and friendly staff . All in all , could not have been a better experience for our time in Chicago. We will come again...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am pleased to hear that we could be a pleasant surprise on your trip to Chicago with our spacious rooms and friendly staff. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

At the Blake the people at the counter are so polite and knowledgeable. The staff is so welcoming and they will help you with whatever you need. The rooms are always very clean and they are very spacious. If you ever need anything in your room they will come up right away and give it to you. At the Blake you will feel very relaxed and you will feel like a very valued customer. The Blake must have most superb management and training.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with our accommodating staff and spacious rooms. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your business and look forward to your next stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight past week. We took the CTA from Midway and the hotel is only a couple of short blocks from the Orange line. The lobby is small and not that impressive, but it is clean and nicely appointed. Our room was quite large and the bathroom was huge with 2 sinks and a big walk-in shower. Furnishings were nice, bed comfy, and the TV, heat, everything worked well. The location is great - also super close to the Blue line, and walk to State Street for shopping, Milllenium Park, etc...

There is no restaurant on site so we asked the front desk for recommendations. We ended up walking about 2 blocks east at Hackneys pub. Beer was great, food so-so. We asked a number of questions over the 24 hours we were there - directions, late check out, baggage storage, restaurant recommendations, etc... and were always treated cordially and everyone was helpful.

My only negative criticism was that when we entered the hotel upon check-in the front desk and bar staff were having kinds of a raucous exchange - the lobby was empty and they were probably bored and trying to pass the time. However it took them a few minutes to settle down to check us in, and frankly it didn't seem very dignified for a hotel of this caliber. But in the grand scheme of everything it is a small complaint! The hotel deserves it's high 4 rating in every other respect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay due to our spacious rooms and location within close proximity to transportation. While you are correct that we currently do not have a restaurant on site, we are proud to announce a new restaurant in the works which we hope to be open by April. We are very excited for the new menu and hope you come back again to give it a chance. Your comments in regards to your arrival have been passed along to our General Manager and will be taken into consideration for future training. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Cindi V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was great to stay in. Two blocks from the subway (La Salle on the Blue line) that will take you to and from the airport. Room was clean and had everything I needed. View was a building across the street, but I wasn't there to spend my time staring. Staff was friendly and there was always someone at the front door to help with bags or hailing a cab. It really was a great deal for the price. I would stay here again.


DO NOT PAY FOR THE BREAKFAST. It is not worth the $9 for bagels, fruit, and muffins. Nothing hot. There is a starbucks across the street, or a Panera two blocks down on Congress. I recommend just going to the Panera for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, accommodating staff, and location within close proximity to transportation. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast, but glad that you were able to find other options in the area. We are proud to announce a new restaurant in the works which we hope to be open by April. We are very excited for the new menu and hope you come back again to give it a chance. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the moment we checked in and Whitney smiled at us I knew that this hotel was different. The bellman Greg (Showtime) greeted us at the door. Helped us with our luggage and then escorted us to our room. Turned Lights on, answered any questions and genuinely made us feel right at home. Then when we went to dinner Showtime once again helped us to decide which restaurant in the area would be best for us and even gave us a coupon for a free appetizer. When we returned the lobby bartender Jamie served us our 2 complimentary drinks and was the delight of the evening in conversation. Between the 3 employees my wife and I had the best time at a hotel in years. They will make your stay a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, and that our staff could go above and beyond to make your experience more enjoyable. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We value your business and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#133 of 191 in Chicago
197 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $121 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing