We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #90 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not your average Fairmont”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

As a Fairmont President's Club member, I've stayed at a number of different Fairmont properties in North America, and this one was by far my favourite. Definitely more contemporary than what you'd expect (when I think Fairmont, I think Victorian architecture), but the same level of service you expect with the Fairmont brand.

Had a basic room category which was spacious with a gorgeous bathroom. The lobby area is really nice, with a wine, cheese and chocolate bar alongside a sushi resto and a more traditional restaurant. Location is steps from Millenium Park and just a couple minutes walk from the south end of Magnificent Mile.

The concierge staff are great, and will give you their business cards so you can skip the line at the restaurants they suggest...very helpful if you're there on a busy weekend!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrTToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    922
    388
    157
    90
See reviews for
489
667
108
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have stayed at the Fairmont Hotel in Chicago, Illinois twice now and both times I was very pleased with my experience. The staff was fabulous ... from the front desk, concierge, and inside staff to the doormen and parking garage staff. They treated us very VERY well and always remembered our names, spent time making sure we had whatever we needed. Any calls to the front desk was handled promptly and whatever we requested (more towels, someone to come check something in the room) was done as quickly as possible. The staff went above and beyond in all cases to do with my family and I would totally recommend the hotel to anyone. It is an added bonus that it is close to Michigan Avenue and shopping as well as restaurants and small shops. FABULOUS I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Millenium park Fairmont and were very pleased with the experience. The room was very nice with great views of the city and lake and the room service dining was FANTASTIC, probably the best in-room dinner we have ever had. The bathroom also looked new and nice, but the shower was a big disappointment - it almost felt like I was trying to rinse my hair standing under the rain - no water pressure whatsoever. I wonder if this would be better on lower floors...
The location of the hotel is quite convenient, within walking distance of the magnificent mile, but not quite as busy and also close to the park.
My only real complaint about this place was the price of the parking - it's outrageous. Nobody expects free parking anymore, but what this hotel charges is ridiculous. We ended up parking in a public lot across the street for half the price, and it turned out to be more convenient too, as we didn't have to spend hours standing in front of the hotel waiting for the car....
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, NC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I love this hotel! The location was wonderful- right near the park, central to the city and right off of the river front. The staff were friendly, the spa was amazing, and the beds were divine. I would've liked to have a regular coffee maker in the room, but the espresso machine was a nice change. We ate at Aria as well- it was definitely well run and the cocktail menu was divine. Chicago is a great city and staying at the Fairmont just made it that much more memorable. Just watch out for the cost of valet parking ($50/night- ouch)!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Just spent 2 business stay nights at this hotel, upgrqaded to luxurious suite on Gold Floor, for extra $80, and as a very frequent traveler (100 hotel nights per year), I can understand why the reviews are all over the map. If you are used to a Hyatt or a Westin as the best type of hotels, then you will find this place great. It certainly has many pluses. The lobby is quiet (even tho the Jetson decor is not my thing), the restaurant is excellent (ricotta gnochi delectable), the view from the rooms is FANTASTIC!, the bed is very comfortable, elevator is the fastest, the Gold Floor lounge terrific, the front desk good. But if you are a Four Seasons fan, then this place is merely good. And here is why. No room service before 6am, which means if you want fresh hot coffee with MILK (not the packaged creamer left in your room,) you are out of luck. And the guy who informed of this at 5am, just told me to wait another hour. At the Ritz, someone would have come up to brew it for me! The maid service was mediocre, as evidenced by the empty Starbucks cup, with straw, that sat on the counter for two days. The furnishings are ugly: cheapo looking---1970s crap, as in veener desk, strange chairs. The rooms felt tired, hungry for updating. Also, having just stayed at the superb Fairmont Pac Rim in Vancouver, with its amazing service, I was shocked by the skimpy bathrooms provisions. When is the last time you did not have a box of tissues in the bathroom?! I depend on 24 hour room service as a travelling woman, so it is unlikely that I would stay here again. If you have enjoyed the Sofitel or Four Seasons near Michigan Ave, go back there. However, if you are choosing between a Marriot and here, then this place wil make you happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We visited Chicago for a long weekend in October. The location is excellent - very near Michigan Avenue and within walking distance of the Chicago Art Institute. And all the other major attractions in Chicago, for that matter. But (and this is very important), it was an oasis of quiet and calm in just a block from all the activity that defines this most amazing city. The experience - from arrival to departure - was just great. Check-in quick, doormen efficient and choreograph the comings and goings of cars and taxis beautifully. Fun to watch them. The highlight, staff-wise, was definitely the concierge, Tim; he is the best we have ever encountered. The lobby bar Oenophile, or Eno, has a great selection of wines - by the bottle or by the glass, and we were able to take a bottle to our room to enjoy. The view was great - we were on the 20th floor, looking over Soldier's Field, the stadium and the Field Museum. The room was large and beautifully appointed. Large flat screen TV and an excellent Help Desk when we had a temporary WiFi problem when we first arrived. Vanity outside the bathroom had great lighting and a large closet. Bathroom had separate bath and shower and was quite large. We ate out most of the time in our travels around Chicago but had breakfast in their restaurant one morning. Really v. good. Bountiful buffet. They simply did everything right. Hoping to return soon.
Bed a bit soft for our taste, but that is just personal preference. Suspect most would like it. Bedding luxurious w/ wonderful, cozy duvet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I travel to Chicago frequently on business and have stayed at numerous hotels. However, the Fairmont continues to rise above the rest. The rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and always feel new. The food is great. The beds are incredibly comfortable. Views of the city are wonderful. The location is central to everything. I love to take walks along the Magnificent Mile or wander into the Chicago Art Institute. It's also very family friendly. Indeed, I love Fairmont for family trips since their menus are not a drain on parents traveling with children, i.e., very family friendly prices for kids. That's key for me. The staff are always attentive and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The fitness facilities are always first rate. And while it's in the heart of the city, the hotel is quiet. Love it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloEBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#63 of 190 in Chicago
4,082 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,615 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,021 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing