We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy but pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #89 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Classy but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2006

Stayed at the Fairmont for a conference. It is beautiful and only a few blocks from the Miracle Mile. The corner room had a view of Lake Michigan between other buildings and the bed was excellent.

However, I did miss a refrigerator/microwave for snacking in the room. Because my employer paid I was able to experience what others pay up to $400/night.

However I was not even tempted to touch the minibar or room service because of the expensive prices. The room had a shoe buffing machine, but no coffee maker. Room service coffee will end up costing about $8.00 for two cups.

Myself and coworkers went out for meals because the hotel restaurant was just too expensive.

Great location, clean rooms, beautiful public spaces, attentive staff. But they get you on the little things. Free New York Times every morning though.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Expensive services
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat somewhere else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    883
    362
    149
    85
See reviews for
464
647
102
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Got a last minute rate of $299 a night through Hotels.com. Requested a room with two double beds and wasn't disappointed. Staff was very professional. Food at Aria was delicious. Located right off of Michigan Avenue with prime shopping less than a block away. Cabs always available in front of hotel for longer excursions.
To Park, enter off of Columbus Drive and let valet take care of it for you. All in all, an excellent choice.

  • Liked — Aria, the restaurant...phenomenal breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — The nachos they brought up for room service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Valet your car and forget about it until you leave. Walk everywhere or take a cab. Great Sushi restaurant on site.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

I went to Chicago for a quick weekend getaway and decided to stay at the Fairmont and was completely satisified. ALL the staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was wonderful and I felt like I was living a life of luxury. The bathroom was great with a seperate shower and tub. I wish I had more time because I would have ordered the in room service they offer to draw a bath with goodies. Bathrobes are in the room and there is a seperate vanity area. They have a nice office center with internet access and allow for free printing of boarding passes. The concierge desk was also very helpful. Overall it was a great experience. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank winhangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

The room was more comfortable then we could have imagined...especially the bed! The room was very clean, comfortable, and big! It was larger than I expected, including the washroom. Loads of space to lounge around.

And of course, as per Fairmont standards, the service was excellent.

The location is great -- close to so many attractions and great shopping. We had a room with a city view, which was lovely.

We got an excellent rate, so it really made the stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel-lover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for Labor Day weekend for our first visit to Chicago. We got a ridulously affordable rate including breakfast every day, the only catch it was non refundable. I would suggest joining the Fairmont's presidents club, which is what we did and got free use of the gym, free internet daily and free late 3pm check out. The rooms were large, the beds comfortable. The only complaint we had was the shower, terrible water pressure. The hotel was clean, the staff helpful. Great location, a bit off Michigan Avenue so its quiet. When we go visit chicago again I would not stay anywhere else. Ask for the presidents club rate including breakfast and join the presidents club, its free!

  • Liked — What I got for my money
  • Disliked — shower
  • Tips/Secrets — JOIN PRESIDENTS CLUB!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank StephanieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

My sons and I stayed at the Fairmont for 3 nights Aug 19,20 and 21. The Hotel is located only a block south of the Chicago River and two blocks off Michagan Avenue in a quiet area with just another hotel and some office building with some residential tower towards the lake. A peaceful spot but a brisk 5-7 minute walk to Michigan Avenue. We went to two games at Wrigley Field and the Red Line is only a 10-12 minute walk.

The Fairmont is a very attractive hotel that is just starting to show some wear around the edges, but you have to look for it. Our rooms wer large and comfortable with great bathroom. Beds were very comfortable. The only drawback is the walls are a bit thin and so noise from the hall and from the next room were more easily heard than you would like. Having said that, apart from a couple having a lot of fun in the room next to me for a couple of hours one evening , this did not detract from the stay.

The lobby has a very nice , large , comfortable area in the middle for drinks, reading and relaxing with wirless internet. There is coffee, bagels, juice, croissants, muffins available on a self serve basis each morning and it works very well. Only drawback is it was to be available until noon on Sunday but by 11 a.m. there was only coffee and a couple of muffins left and no attempt was made to supplement the supply.

The staff was efficient and very friendly, particularly the front door staff. There was no turndown service at night but I didn't miss it.

We didn't eat in the Hotel restaurant although it looked very nice .

The overall atmosphere of the Fairmont was very calm, relaxing and comfortable. I have stayed at many Chicago hotels, including the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton , Sheraton and others and I would rank this hotel just slightly below the Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton on amenities but far ahead of the Drake and Sheraton.

Helpful?
5 Thank Nakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

My friends and I travel together quite a lot. We had booked more than a month in advance and had requested two doubles, but despite the fact that we arrived at 11 in the morning, we were told that they were out of doubles, so we had to take a king (lumpy mattress) and a fiendishly uncomfortable rollaway (the good news: they didn't charge us for the rollaway). The room was so small that the rollaway barely fit, so that we had to crawl over the person in it to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The toilet leaked -- they fixed it fairly promptly, but after that, it flushed only with great difficulty. Also, the shower dripped loudly all night, and nothing we did could make it stop. There was no coffeemaker in the room (we were told, after the fact, that we could have "requested" one, but I'm sure they would have charged us for it), but you could buy coffee in the lobby during breakfast for $2.50 a cup! Needless to say, the breakfast wasn't free; there was a minibar in the room, but none of us were interested in paying the ridiculous prices for that. Our advice: get up early and go to Houlihan's a few blocks away for the $10 breakfast buffet.

Internet access was $14.95 per computer per day, the highest price we've ever paid anywhere, and the only time we've had to pay for internet access anywhere in more than two years. There was one dataport in the room; all three of us had laptops and needed to get some work done, so this was very inconvenient. The only wireless access was in the lobby and apparently, there was a charge for that, too.

The staff was nice but fairly indifferent, and I have to say we've been treated better at the cheapest chain hotel off the interstate than we were here, and at less than a third of the price. We were embarrassed to have recommended this place to our friends.

No, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — The view was nice
  • Disliked — Provided very little for the money
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick another hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
#106 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing