We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Not-So-Great Housekeeping...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #88 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Not-So-Great Housekeeping...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is great and its nice being on a street away from the city noise so you can get a good night's rest after a full day of activities. Housekeeping wasn't the greatest; had to wipe down the nightstand (super dusty), grimy tv remote, dirty bathroom door, had to ask for the complimentary coffee service to be replenished (was only stocked once during 4 night stay), had to ask for wash cloths, etc. Rainy day, needed umbrellas...concierge said to ask the Bell Desk. Bell Desk said to go ask the Reception Desk....none available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoknOnAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We’re very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced and are addressing these issues with our team.
Please feel free to contact us at chicago@fairmont.com if you choose to visit Chicago in the future.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    883
    362
    149
    85
See reviews for
464
647
102
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The gold floor experience and staff do an excellent job and well worth it. I find it's location to business and entertainment make it a great choice. Would recommended to all travelers. My room view has always been a topic of discussion. The standards for Fairmont's has been the reason I have participated in the Presidents club for over 15 years. Both for business and family stays. I have to admit it is a very busy conference hotel so the gold floor experience is well worth being requested

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank twilli6372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Ireland to this hotel for 1 week and found it very modern and in a perfect location for walking everywhere. The rooms were a nice size, comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpfully and pleasant. If returning to Chicago this hotel would be our first port of call.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Long walk to elevators from check in to start. Bar scene is weak as off to a side area back by elevators and not more then about 2 tvs- thought Chi-town was a sports town? Good walking location to Michigan Avenue though so 5 min walk to Hard Rock Hotel which has an awesome bar called Chuck's Manufacturing for watching a game. They have an entire wall with vaulted ceilings as one screen in HD and awesome for a game. Back to Fairmont- most annoying thing was the key cards constantly don't work and you have to walk down the LONG lobby to get another card. Note I am a professional traveler and do not put the key card near other credit cards, wallets, phones, etc. had to do the 'trek to the lobby' - usually at 1 am mind u- way too many times! Saw many other guests doing same and front desk told me they do that task more then anything else so Fairmont- get your game up and get a new key card system. Other than that the romos are up to Fairmont style- not chic but classy and very clean lines/decor. Wasn't blown away but not disappointed. Again not much to do in hotel as "scene" is pretty quiet for most part.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We’re very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced and are addressing these issues with our team.
Please feel free to contact us at chicago@fairmont.com if you choose to visit Chicago in the future.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta,British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location of the Fairmont millenium is excellent. Very close to all the sights and restaurants. Check in was slow as it was very busy. Was given my first room and went up to the 9th floor only to realize that my request for a kingsize bed was not met. Was changed to another room after having to persuade the front desk person that I "really" had requested a kingsize. The second room was very odd. It was a pie shape room with the bathroom down a seperate hallway quite far away. I hated the layout. Asked to be moved again as I was staying an entire week. Third room lucky, nice view, nice room. The bed was odd however, the mattress was too small for the frame and there was 3-4 inches of bare space on each end. At the head of the bed there was also a space and it was filthy! covered in hair and a strange looking black substance (looked like bugs) I asked house keeping to take a look and she was suprised and appalled. I asked to have the bed changed and vacuumed! I think the hotel could use an update and a thorough cleaning. For the price that you pay cleanliness is essential and should not be a concern! Went to the Japanese restaurant for a snack, had a vegie roll which was good, but they charged $5.00 for a cup of green tea! Outrageous! I truly enjoyed Chicago and all it had to offer but was disappointed with the Fairmont.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank raingirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We’re very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced.
Please email us at Chicago@fairmont.com if you would kindly allow us the opportunity to discuss this
issue and make this right.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. However, When we arrived at the front desk at 2.30pm on a Saturday afternoon, no staff could be seen and a line of impatient guests rapidly accumulated behind us. One guest was waiting in front of us. After five minutes or so, a young woman sauntered out from the back office, totally ignored the line of waiting guests and mid-chew on a piece of gum said to the man in front of us:
" Yes? " to which he replied "No, that"s unhelpful"
Lets just say things hurtled downhill from there with the unsurprising
"Get me the manager" as a final result!

Still chewing, in the manner of a camel, the young woman continued to ignore the line of guests and attended to us with a display of surliness thats more akin to a hormonal teenager. Meanwhile, the dissatisfied guest in front of us was demanding that the manager find him a room in another hotel! For those of you who are British reading this: Welcome to Fawlty Towers!

We had a deluxe room on The Gold Floor. We also had the hair of the previous guest(s) in the bathtub! The shower and WC were very clean though and the rest of the room was immaculate so we viewed this as an oversight on the part of housekeeping. The furniture in the room was a little tired and the carpets in the corridors looked a little weary too. The water pressure in the shower was very good. Warning: We recommend that prior to booking a room you check whether or not you need to attend a course of weight training at your local gym as we had a sliding door between the WC and bathroom area that even Arnold Schwarzenegger would have struggled to move (and I weight train four times a week! )

The staff in The Gold Lounge were very helpful and courteous. In particular, a young man called Ryan recommended a superb seafood restaurant to us, booked us a table and then provided clear, mapped instructions of how to find the restaurant (Catch 35)

We have stayed at Fairmont hotels 31 times so far this year and are FPC Platinum members. This hotel fell far below Fairmont's usual exceptional standards. However, the room rate was far less than we pay in Canada and perhaps this is reflected in the staff training and attention to detail?

Room Tip: ask for a bathroom that does not have a sliding door between the wc and bath area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We’re very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experiences during check in.
Please email us at Chicago@fairmont.com if you would kindly allow us the opportunity to discuss this issue and make this right.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is located in a very good spot . Steps away from the Bean , River walk, Michigan Avenue,Grand Park .Our room was spacious ,very comfortable bed . The view to Grand Park was amazing, bathroom was very clean . Restaurant Aria is located in the lobby .I would definitely recommend this hotel, service was excellent.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. There’s certainly a lot to see in Chicago. It’s always helpful to get feedback from our travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
#106 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing