We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Visit to Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #89 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick Visit to Chicago!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was great for our very quick visit to Chicago on our drive from Ottawa, ON to Calgary, AB. It also happened to fall on our one year wedding anniversary so we decided to get to Chicago early and make it a celebration!
When we booked the hotel we mentioned in the notes that we were celebrating our anniversary, however the staff did nothing special for us. We asked for a room with a view, none available.
The hotel was close to all the attractions and we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel which was nice. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_J_Phillips44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    894
    374
    153
    91
See reviews for
470
654
103
1,123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The downtown Fairmont Hotel in Chicago is a great location and close to their transit system. We found the lobby dark and dingy but overall the hotel was good value and a pleasant staff. The location allowed for a quick walk over to the Michigan mile shopping area and good restaurants, historic features and a pleasant experience in a busy downtown core. The grounds on the weekend were large but added excitement to the occasion. We found ourselves very comfortable in the hotel and the beds were very relaxing for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Room facing west would give you a good view of the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall good experience with friendly staff, good food options and excellent room service/cleanliness.

The hotel lacks an on-site pool, which is the only negative comment I can make.

Very nice stay; would choose this place again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reb4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Fairmont is a fine hotel -though in some areas starting to show signs of wear. New competition such as the Radisson Blu across the street will most likely stimulate some fixes to this. Service, a hallmark of the entire chain, excels in this facility. Friendly, professional, and helpful. Views from the waterfront rooms still nice, though somewhat blocked by new building; harbor still viewable. Nice touches in the room such as the Nepresso machine and easy access electrical outlets for computers. The charge for WiFi is stiff, but if you are a President's Club member which is free to join, the WiFi is free. Weekdays, if you need it, there is a food court in the AOA Center which is connected to the hotel, where an excellent variety of both fast food and expressly prepared food are available at reasonable prices (much less than the hotel restaurant).

Room Tip: Waterfront is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our first trip to Chicago and after reading a lot of reviews and speaking with friends, the Millennium Park area seemed to be the right choice. Upon arrival, we had mixed emotions. The location was perfect. Close to the Mag Mile, the river, Millennium Park, the beach, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, Chicago Tribune building and too many restaurants to name here (read my restaurant reviews for Chicago).But........so is the Radisson, The Hard Rock, Trump Towers, Hyatt, Westin, W, and several more popular hotels.
Upon arrival we noticed there were a lot of people in the lobby with name tags. Turns out this is a convention hotel and it hosts a lot of conventions. With conventions comes heavy traffic, busy elevators and wear and tear. Unfortunately, all of these were true during our stay.
At this point I want to mention that we are President club members with the Fairmont. Two days prior to our arrival I received an email offer that would allow us to upgrade to a suite on the 15th floor where the Presidents Lounge is located. Free appies, drinks and a quiet area. We called and after speaking with a representative decided to take up the offer. We paid for it, received our confirmation and considered it a done deal. Until we arrived at the hotel. We went to check in and we were told all of the upgraded rooms had been sold out. I replied that may be true, but I have a reservation and a confirmation for 5 nights in one of those suites AND I booked it two days ago while speaking to a Fairmont rep.. I was told that in 2 or 3 days they could maybe move us because the hotel was sold out for the Taste of Chicago. We were offered a different style room. We when to see it and it faced a brick wall, no view what so ever. After we said the room was unacceptable they managed to find a room on the 25th floor that overlooked Millennium Park. Great view, if not the best view of Chicago from this hotel. We
accepted the room and were almost done when we remembered we had paid for 5 nights in an upgraded suite. Back down we go to the front desk. When we got to the front desk, they had already credited our account and the front desk person was very apologetic for the inconvenience and pointed out we were not the first to be disappointed and the not the last. Turns out they had over sold the upgraded offer. Shame on the Fairmont Hotel Chain.
Pros; Location, hotel staff, Nespresso machine in each room
Cons; too busy, restaurant staff, room climate control, bathrooms are too small, small closets, long elevator waiting times during peak hours.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Millennium Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful, modern, great location, chic, friendly staff, nice bathrooms, short walk to Millennium Park and Michigan Ave, great view. Only bad was the extra charge for Wi-Fi - are you kidding me?! We parked off site and saved 50%. $32 vs $64 in the same garage. Reserved parking on spothero.com.

Room Tip: Can request a view of downtown and lake michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location in Chicago than the Fairmont. The staff was friendly and helpful, concierge was great, and the Nespresso machines in the rooms are a wonderful extra. The separate vanity area was really convenient too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more space and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVARedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#58 of 189 in Chicago
3,953 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
990 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing