We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont that is showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #90 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A good hotel in a good location. Its supposed to be a four/five star hotel but its showing its age in the rooms. Very spacious rooms and comfortable but I didn't expect some wood on trim to be cracking and in need of painting. One of the lightbulbs was out when I entered - the main light. Temperature control didn't seem to be working. It was cold and when I turned on the heat - there was that smell of burnt wire when it started.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

State at the fairmont while on a 2 day medical trip to Chicago. Upon arrival, check in was extremely helpful... Going above and beyond to accommodate our special needs. We got a "standard room", nothing presidential or gold. Room was very nice, and very spacious. Not loud as other reviewers were saying. Our view was of "downtown" (as opposed to lake view) but was equally, if not more, breathtaking. Very happy with room! Only complaint was that they stocked the mini fridge with drinks and booze, which left no room for our own left overs or drinks.
Great location... Able to walk to well known and highly regarded deep dish pizza place, drug store across street, and easy 10 min walk to park. Breakfast in hotel restaurant was pricy (expected) but was so good! Waitstaff was perfect!
Overall... Very impressed. Although pricey, Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarriageDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The employees were all great at the Fairmont Chicago. Friendly and willing to help you. The room was nicely furnished, comfortable and clean. The location is fine with close proximity to Michigan Avenue and the River. Everyone that we intereacted with was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Overall, I liked the hotel. It was clean and safe. Check-in was without incident and the rooms were spacious. It was convenient to use the underground walkway to get to the other hotels for a conference. The only problem I had...and primary reason why I did not give the hotel a 4 was that the room walls were paper thin. Definitely ask for a room without a connecting door.

I overheard EVERYTHING that was going on in the room next to me and let's just say that I felt like I needed a cigarette before going to bed! Thank God I had my earphones and was able to play music!

I asked for a high floor, away from the elevator and they were able to accommodate me - Unfortunately, I should have asked for a room without a connecting door!

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room with a connecting door! You will hear everything! :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaptownChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked months ago and were able to get very good rates for a Gold floor room, despite the NRA convention during our stay. A week prior to arrival, the Concierge e-mailed us offering assistance with city information, bookings etc. which was a pleasant surprise.
Separate check-in is provided through the Concierge in the Gold lounge on the 15th floor. Check-in was friendly, quick and efficient even though we arrived earlier than expected.
All of the staff in the Gold lounge were friendly and engaging and went out of their way to accommodate any request. On a couple of occasions, Henry, the steward offered to get special drinks for us from the hotel's main bar when the selection was not available in the lounge. Great service. The lounge facilities were comfortable with a great view of Millennium Park. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were more than adequate for us and well worth the extra cost of Gold floor access.

All of the Concierge's who assisted us were knowledgeable and provided very good recommendations for dining. They even managed to get us four, same day theatre tickets to the sold out musical The Book of Mormon. It was expensive, but I was amazed they were able to get any tickets and good seats to boot.

We occupied two different rooms during our stay, changing because of a maintenance issue. Our first room on the 15th floor appeared to have been recently and creatively renovated with modernistic design and a fresh crisp look that was very pleasing. Our second, identically numbered room on the 16th floor was comfortable but a standard design that did not have the same eye appeal as the renovated room. If you have the option, ask for a renovated/redesigned room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights during NRA. All in all, a nice stay in a lovely hotel. I'm from SF and have spent a lot of time in the Nob Hill Fairmont so was expecting it to be a bit more old-school. This one is actually pretty modern.

The good:
Friendly check-in and no wait
Large room - - I was in ADA room - not sure if the bathroom was larger for that reason
Decently located with plentiful cabs waiting out front
Had room service one night and it was very quick, although predictably room temperature when it got to the room. (Isn't it always?)
Yummy-smelling products in the bathroom
Big, comfy bed
Huge TV

The Bad:
Towels were tattered and old
Connecting room next to me seemed to have an office phone which rang incessantly
I was on floor six and the taxi whistle was really loud and annoying

The Surprising:
Housekeeping seemed a bit off - - Day 1 I had a nice fluffy bath mat. Then it was removed on Day 2 and never came back. Products weren't replaced so I ran out of shampoo but they left 3 shower gels.
Room service, which I know is tricky, wasn't great. Meal, although quick to arrive, was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your loyalty to Fairmont and will address the issues with our management team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Fairmont Millennium Park in a Gold level room. Overall, we were very satisfied with the hotel and its pleasant staff. Check-in was provided on the 15th floor in the Gold level lounge so we did not have to wait in the lobby. We had earlier been informed by text message that our room was ready, so we were in the room within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel. The room was spacious and nicely appointed, with a small sofa, king-size bed, desk, and ample closet space. The bathroom was very nice (only one sink, however) with a separate shower. The towels were plush and the soaps, shampoos, etc., were first rate. There were many outlets for electronic devices and the in-room WiFi was fast and easy to use. A Nespresso machine in the room provided our morning coffee, although it did not work the first morning and had to been repaired, which it promptly was. There was even a small table where my wife could put on her makeup. Unfortunately, the room adjoined another room through a locked door, and we were awakened the first morning at 6 a.m. by a crying baby. Also, our room was near the lounge and the staff started rolling in carts of food to set up breakfast and talked loudly in the hall (something that should be brought to their attention). I solved the noise problem the second morning with ear buds and a white noise app on my iPhone, but in the future I will ask for a room far away from the lounge and preferably on another floor. However, the lounge was very nice and the food offerings throughout the day were excellent, particularly at breakfast. Wine, beer and mixed drinks were available in the late afternoon and at night for a fee, along with more food and desserts. It was a very nice lounge with great views of the city. The hotel has a nice public lounge in its stylish lobby where you can get coffee and pastries in the morning and enjoy drinks and food throughout the day. We also ate breakfast at the Aria restaurant on our last morning and the food and service were excellent. The location, with its proximity to Michigan Avenue and Millennium Park, is great for tourists who want to see the central city.

Room Tip: If you want good views, ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#63 of 192 in Chicago
4,383 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $122 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing