We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, but too loud!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fifty/50

The Fifty/50
Ranked #1,722 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Transit: #70 Division Bus. Get off @ Hoyne
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, but too loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Saturday. Seems like its more of "club" at night so we might have enjoyed the atmosphere better at lunch. The server we had was great and even took some substitutions on our order despite the loud music. We both had The Fifty burger which was great on the pretzel roll! Beers were reasonably priced too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sthughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is predominantly a sports bar. We were here on my husband's Man v Food quest to try the four courser.
This is pulled smoked pork in a gouda bechamel sauce, fried jalapenos, a mac n cheese waffle, sweet potato crisps, barbeque sauce in a pretzel bun with fries. It did not disappoint!
The atmosphere was fantastic, service was good and the wings were excellent too. It is a big place with plenty of seating on three floors. There is outside seating too.
We were there when the Chicago ice hockey team won the Stanley cup and the place went mental, but all good humoured.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexidove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Bar and Best Wings Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we travel we like to ask the locals where the hotspots are. A bartender told us about The Fifty/50 and said it was in her neighborhood and that we must try it out. So of course we did, and very glad we took the CTA and then walked a mile to get to it. Probably a better way to get there but we were out of towners and did the best we could. Once we got there the bartenders were very friendly in welcoming us to their city and their neighborhood. We had an amazing bloody mary, it had bacon, while we talked with the bartender about things she recommended that we try out. She recommended that we try their wings, so we did. We have eaten a lot of amazing wings in several cities and these were hands down the best ever. They weren't too saucy and they had just the right about of heat. Literally everything about them were amazing. We had a couple shots of fireball and tried some more local brews. Everyone was very helpful in answering our questions. They had several tv's for us to watch sports on. Had it not been so far from our hotel we would have gone everyday. I highly recommend you find this place and eat the wings!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLoftins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was looking for a change of pace before the Bulls game. Very glad I came in! The food was outstanding, and the waitress was extremely nice and helpful. I had a burger that was delicious. My friend also enjoyed his smoked half chicken. I'm looking forward to going back to try something else on their huge menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rootbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Sports Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Sports bars are a dime a dozen. So it's very rare that I come across one even worth taking the time to recommend to anyone, but if you're anywhere near West Division St in Chicago, go here. The food was excellent, the beer selection is great, the staff is friendly and fun. Seeing the outdoor seating area, I can assume that this would be a great spot to watch a game on a warm summer night. I had to try the Four Courser sandwich after seeing it on the Travel Channel, but the rest of the menu looked very good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fifty/50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing