We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here, find a better hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Ranked #120 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here, find a better hotel!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I arrived to find 4 -10"x10" pillows for a king sized bed. 2 per person.... If you rolled over your head fell off the pillow. Which rolling over had to be done when both my wife and I were awoken because of the following reasons. 1. Staff knocked on the bottom of the door sliding the receipt into the room. 2. Staff was dropping newspapers outside of the rooms (multiple loud thuds). Hotel bar was overpriced and food was ok at best (if you stay here walk to TGI Fridays). I needed to leave for the airport at 4am. When I checked in I was told the bus comes every 20 minutes, but at that time they could call at it would come right over. We arrived in the lobby at 4 am, no bus. Asked the lady at the front desk if she could kindly call the bus, "sorry we do not call the bus, you have to wait till 4:20." I explained what I was previously told and she replied with "no one would say that." So we waited for the bus, when it arrived I asked the driver if they could have called. The driver responded with "apsolutly!" Thank you holiday inn for a overpriced beer, served with a large amount of head. The food from the freezer section was exquisite. Your throw pillow really made sleeping uncomfortable. And above all thank you for wakening us up twice in the middle of the night. It would be great if you could coordinated that with times people actually need to be up. I will never stay at a holiday inn again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mffire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear mffire,

First and foremost I would like to personally apologize for the experience that you encountered during your stay with us. The lapses in execution that you have described are utterly unacceptable, and I can assure you that this is by no means the norm at our property. I will be looking into the misinformation you received from our team regarding the shuttle, as well as the noise you encountered while the staff was delivering your receipt/ newspaper.

I know from personal experience how important a good pillow is for rest and I would like to thank you for voicing your opinion on the pillow quality. We are in the process of ordering new pillows as the Holiday Inn Brand has changed their pillow standard for 2014 and we will use your feedback in this purchasing process.

Here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway we strive for perfection as well as 100% guest satisfaction, and it is clear that your encounter was anything but the above. I know that in any industry there is room for error, but I want to let you know that when any guest's experience with us is short of excellent I will personally ensure you are taken care of and compensated accordingly. Because this survey does not have your contact information, I would like to provide you with the phone number here at the hotel. Please contact me at your convenience so that we can further discuss the shortcomings you experienced as I would like to ensure you are taken care of for this unacceptalbe stay.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
708-563-6490
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    68
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
36
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A short drive into downtown - quality, clean and comfortable place to stay. You'd think with its proximity to the airport that it would be noisy but NOPE. Didn't hear one plane.
We checked in around 3pm and the young lady (I believe Chantel was her name) at the front desk was very helpful. Given the pressure for daylight, she suggested some great places for sites including the Buckingham fountain and 'The Bean' - picture perfect just as the downtown lights were coming on.

Highlights - extremely friendly folks, from the front desk to the cleaning staff- they made it a point to smile and ask about our stay. Free and ample parking. Close to midway and rental return. Microwave and fridge in the room - great for us eaters!

The only negative- the small pillows.

Side note- although we did not dine there, the sports bar seemed to be popular with all the football games on and food specials.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leecee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Leecee13,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway! I would also like to thank you for taking to the time to mention Chantell's service, I will be sure to personally recognize her for her performance! I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

wonderful location. shuttle takes you to the airport to take the orange line downtown. it takes around 30 min from hotel to get downtown. We drove all the way from Oklahoma and got in at six am.The staff was friendly and let us check in early. to top off on our experience, housekeeping left us a note wishing us a wonderful day. absolutely heartwarming stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jimmy L,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway! I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
1,064 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had to make a last minute reservation here when we missed a flight at Chicago Midway airport due to heavy traffic. There are four Holiday Inn/Holiday Inn Express hotels around the airport so make sure you go to the right one (note: in fact I accidentally wrote a Trip Advisor review for the Holiday Inn Express next door by mistake before the manager advised me of such and now I can write my review here for the correct hotel instead!) Our hotel was very well located and had very nice check in staff and a lovely fresh smell in reception. The rooms were very comfortable with a choice of firm or soft pillows and all the modern amenities you would expect from a hotel. Unlike the Holiday Inn Express hotels, free breakfast is not provided, they do have a restaurant in the hotel that opens early to provide breakfast though if you have an early flight like we did. They also have an airport shuttle but we did not use it as we had a rental car. Very clean and very nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear mwooduk,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway! I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was here for one night on business. The only reason I did not give a 5 was because I did not experience breakfast and the transport vehicle will need to be replaced soon. Personal, atmosphere, comfort, safety all EXCELLENT! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear BigRevB,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway! I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding our shuttle, I have forwarded your comments to our shuttle supervisor so that we can examine our fleet! I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We drove to chicago and to save money decided to stay out at midway and take the L into town, as parking is complimentary (can't get that downtown). HI did not disappoint! Super helpful and friendly service, great location (all hotels at midway are in a gated locale together) and a pretty good restaurant. The airport shuttle runs every 20 mins, and it takes about 10 mins to get to the airport. From there the orange line takes 25 mins to get to the CBOT stop on the loop. Easy and cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear MoHog,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway, and that you found our proximity to public transportation to downtown easy and economical I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nothing false here! The hotel seemed fresh and well maintained. Once I closed the room door it could have been a Hil**n. I needed a good night's sleep for an early flight and that's what I got. Sports' grill on site and Friday's an easy walk away. Would stay again, good job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnMidway1, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mdep,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway! I can not tell you how much we appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future when you travel plans call for Chicago!

Best regards,

Ryan Niketh
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#114 of 190 in Chicago
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Address: 6624 S Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638-5838
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. It is also just a short drive to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Brookfield Zoo, and the Shedd Aquarium. The property features complimentary high-speed Internet Access and morning paper delivered to each guest room, an indoor pool, and fitness room. On-site dining is available including breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Coaches Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing