We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta do it at least once”
Review of Cloud Gate

Cloud Gate
Book In Advance
More Info
$650.00*
and up
Private Guided SUV Tour for up to 4 Guests
Ranked #3 of 650 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You gotta do it at least once”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's now iconic, so just do it, even if it's freezing cold and windy. It's in a good location and the park is nice, even the homeless people are friendly. Make sure you look at it from a distance, from a lot of angles, it reflects with much interest.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,588
    3,059
    594
    41
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Don't miss this on your Chicago visit! We stopped by the park on the way back to the hotel, and then discovered we could see the top of it from our hotel room.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FWDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I've Bean Proven Wrong”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was skeptical when I first heard about Cloud Gate aka "the Bean" but I admit I was wrong. It really has turned into a must-see stop when visiting Chicago. The reflections of the City skyline it offers are fantastic and its undulations can make for some great photo-ops. Great location in Millennium Park adds to its allure. Plenty to do in the park and along Michigan Avenue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChippewaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The bean is great”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This is the ultimate piece of public art- it must be where the selfie was invented and is an ingenious piece of urban design-just watching people's reaction to the bean is entertaining - must be one of the top pieces of interactive sculpture in the world ! Don't miss out on visiting it.

Helpful?
Thank CalgaryScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun to take pictures and see the reflected skyline”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We enjoyed looking at all the reflections and walking under it to see the effects of the mirrored images. Also fun to hear all the tourists speaking so many languages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cloud Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing